SBFNews

www.theedgemarkets.com

Most workers in Singapore want a four-day week, survey finds​

/
August 01, 2022 15:02 pm +08

Most workers in Singapore want a four-day week, survey finds

(Aug 1): Seven in 10 Singapore employees want a four-day work week to help them achieve better balance in their lives, the Straits Times reported Monday (Aug 1), citing a July poll conducted by Milieu Insight.
Some companies in Singapore are already experimenting with a shorter working week, according to the report. New York-listed PropertyGuru Group Ltd is giving staff more rest days, as are smaller businesses including barbershop chain Sultans of Shave and dental practice DP Dental.

Flexible employment arrangements have been in the spotlight in recent years, after the Covid-19 pandemic forced millions of people to work from home. In a six-month experiment that is the largest of its kind in the world, 70 companies in the United Kingdom are currently allowing staff to work a four-day week without a reduction in wages.

The Singapore National Employers Federation will be watching the outcomes of the UK trial but will not endorse it, the Straits Times quoted SNEF executive director Sim Gim Guan as saying, adding “There is no one-size-fits-all type of work arrangement that can apply to all workplaces.”

Imuho if need to specify how many work week by any parties be it the worker or the company or the gov or any union it simplee means and clearer that most workers are cho bo lans. And My uncle already said about 90% of workers are cbl.

after deducting breakfast, lunch, tea makan sessions plus browsing the web and eyeballing social media apps, sinkies only work 6.9 hours in 6.9 days.

Correct. It's a you know I know thing just that the other 10% hard working ones might not know or pretend not to know.

There's nothing stopping you from working an additional job during those three off days, if you choose to. Some workaholics, especially entrepreneurs, get orgasmic from voluntarily working seven days a week.

Better still why donch you just reduce the number of days per week ?

Better still why not get a thick rope and a stool so that u can go on a 0 workday arrangement? Lol

There's nothing stopping you from working an additional job during those three off days, if you choose to. Some workaholics, especially entrepreneurs, get orgasmic from voluntarily working seven days a week.

got a close businessman relative, in his 60s worked like a horse all life probably 5 million worth 5 years ago......
continued working like a horse and lost 80% of his net worth in risky ventures, dont this people have brains? 5 million can shake legs and balls till he dies, knn

Given a choice, most of us would like to have shorter work week and shorter work hours. Also given a choice, most of us will readily accept money with minimum effort in return.

However, can we afford such luxurious terms? Bear in mind we are competing with the world. There are always people who are willing to work harder and longer hours with lesser pay. You will be digging our own graves if this happen. I am not advocating working harder than other countries but at least put a substantial effort to make yourself competitive. 44 hours work week is the bare minimum.

Race and IQ
national-iq-scores.jpg

get same pay but work less hours ... who dunwan ...

if work less hours n pay get lesser ... u tink sinkies wan anot ...