MOM studying more ways to help the unemployed

MarrickG

SINGAPORE - The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) is looking into, among other things, using private sector employment agencies to help unemployed Singaporeans - including older workers - find jobs.

Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam, who is also Manpower Minister and Finance Minister, revealed this in an interview which was published yesterday by Lianhe Zaobao.

Mr Tharman said: "One of the things that we are now studying at MOM, is what additional ways we can use both to ensure that no one stays unemployed, including matured workers, as well as to help SMEs (small and medium enterprises)."

Reiterating the need to reshape society's attitudes towards the elderly working, Mr Tharman noted that "there's nothing like a tight labour market to change attitudes as well".

"And I hope that one of the consequences of us having a tight labour market is that over the next decade, attitudes towards older workers change," he said.

On the idea of engaging private sector employment agencies, Mr Tharman said that in Australia and the United Kingdom, the governments give a commission to these agencies to place workers.

But he stressed that any similar move here would have to ensure "there is no quick buck to be achieved" and the agencies "do not merely 'cherry-pick' by choosing workers who can be easily placed".

While there are job placement schemes currently available, Mr Tharman stressed the need to "do more for our mature workers and PMETs - to help them get a good job when they lose the present job".

"For the mid-40s and early 50s Singaporean, they still have a long working life ahead of them. We want to try and help them get a job that suits them, which they can stay with," he said.

Mr Tharman also noted that advanced countries have generally higher labour force participation rates, especially for women.

He reiterated that older workers "must be paid well enough, the workplace must be conducive and they must feel valued".

"It's not just the terms of employment, they must feel valued and whatever job they do, no matter how humble, we must look upon them with some respect," Mr Tharman said.

He added: "We have some ways to go as a society in this regard. And we are doing it not just because of economic reasons, not just because we need more manpower in different industries; it's a social objective - allowing people to have dignity through work and stay active. Bearing in mind that we are living much longer than we used to."

Mr Tharman also said he had told companies during his meetings with them that "we have a shared responsibility of ensuring that the foreign share of the workforce does not balloon up".

He noted that, in particular, the SME sector "has difficulty in attracting Singaporeans".

He said: "Unfortunately there is a bias in the labour market against SMEs, particularly among Singaporeans. It's sad."

Mr Tharman added that choosing a large company or multi-national corporation is "a natural inclination for many people".

He said: "If we upgrade the SMEs, they too can be attractive. Look at Hyflux and others - they become employers of choice. We need many more employers of choice among SMEs and we must help them get there."

Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha!..........we have heard this so often! N.A.T.O.

Means government is willing to help as long as they are not paying for it.

On the idea of engaging private sector employment agencies, Mr Tharman said that in Australia and the United Kingdom, the governments give a commission to these agencies to place workers.

But he stressed that any similar move here would have to ensure "there is no quick buck to be achieved" and the agencies "do not merely 'cherry-pick' by choosing workers who can be easily placed".

So, Tharma is the only speaking MP concerned.
In biz, esp. SME, its low cost n bigger profits.
How to ? Again, its MOM manipulatable policies that favor employers.

1. aiyoh!
2. some lip service, man.
3. sheep has been "helping" "helping" "helping".
4. and yet the issue is unsolved throughout the years.
5. sheep should ask themselves.

tHE EMPLOYMENT CLIMATE AIR IS DAM BAD NOW, OUR BOSSES(pap)
FEAR N WORRY NOW THAT THERE ARE MORE FOREIGNERS EMPLOYED N LOCALS
UNEMPLOYED IN THIS GLOOMY GLOBAL MARKET.

The whoreson is shitting from his mouth again. They set up Contactsingapore to entice foreigners to come take our PMET jobs. They have fucking E2i where Sinkies can get retrained to be cleaners, waiters, security guards, or some other fucked-up lowly paid jobs. Only the 60% (fucktards) would believe that the scum are helping unemployed locals. It's more like helping unemployed foreigners.

The last time the PAPpies wanted to help the poor, GST increased. :D

Sinkies will get the same old reply after a while - many jobs but no takers. Sinkie too choosy.

Sound like a lot of noise from him and yet without any specific again.

Most of us are considered expendables even with a MBA when u hve reached a certain age and pay scale! Depends on this govt? Hahaha...FAT HOPE!

What a total piece of crap coming out from this chow ah neh. As far as I can see if after 50 and you still can't retire you are screwed. Firstly they cut your CPF then tell you that you do not have enough to retire. Then they bring in a lot of outsiders to take over you jobs and made you to take up jobs that are physically tougher and pay less in your old age. In SG u got a better chance of striking TOTO than retire. Fucking hum ka chans tell people pension is bad for the nation and yet each of these hum ka chans draw pensions.

STUDYING MORE?? LOOKING MORE??
After years of obscenely paid salary for doing virtually nothing, suddenly realized need to do something?
Amazing Singapore!

Stupid LEEgime!

All the fucking retard minister needed to do was to raise the salary limits of FT employment pass work permit etc, HIGHER than average Singaporean income level, immediately you will see FTs fired by employers to hire SG citizens. Solved all our citizens unemployment problems. :D:cool:

KNN! Kam- Lan-Gong = 砍滥赣!