MOE officials made trips to US & Australia to learn how Chinese is taught there

SNAblog

Huh? Go to western countries to pick up ideas on how Chinese is taught there? Haven't our leaders being trumpeting that our bilingual education is the best in the world? World highest salaries would attract the best talents to the civil service like the education ministry - so said the PAP leaders. So now we have to pack our education officers to US and Australia to copy ideas from them about learning Chinese language? :rolleyes:

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_534596.html

MOTHER TONGUE LANGUAGE REVIEW
Panel gets ideas overseas
By Maria Almenoar

MEMBERS of the panel reviewing the way mother tongue is taught and learnt here have gone on study trips to several countries to pick up ideas.

The director-general of education, Madam Ho Peng, making her first remarks on the subject since being named as head of the panel, said her team has been to the United States and Australia.

It has also been examining the Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi, a standardised examination set in China to test non-native speakers' proficiency in Chinese.

These moves will give the team a good idea of what needs to be done in the area of mother tongue instruction, she said.

However, she added that several good initiatives implemented here since a 2007 review are already yielding good results, so the focus going forward is to improve on these.

Madam Ho was speaking on Wednesday at the 14th Global Chinese Conference on Computers in Education. Among the recent effective initiatives she mentioned are the use of handheld tablet PCs in class and the greater emphasis on speaking and listening.

come face it...our Chinese level (politically correct = mother tongue) is cannot make it liao.

I am referring to local singaporeans, not those China imports. How many can claim they are good in Chinese? Majority of these strawberry generation knows nothing more than writing their names...in fact I know someone who don't even know how to write her chinese name. The gahmen has tried in vain to arrest this problem and the huge influx of foreign students into the school does nothing to help the situation.

Parents are thinking, concentrate on England better, families are speaking England more than anything...Chinese takes a backseat. Its okay not to speak Chinese, in any case, you won't die. Hence kids are all speaking English, not that they are good.

If they keep the same standards, more students will fail to go into elite school because of Chinese thats why Edu Minister let loose that they gonna lower the bar for Chinese which unfortunately rubbed the fur the wrong way. They realize they risk losing the Chinese-speaking older generation and thus have to perform damage-control...but its sooner or later they have to lower the bar in order to maintain the passing rate.

Its a good move, I have essentially gotten rid of my Singlish mandarin accent since moving to Australia. I've also acquired enough 北方口音,that most PRC here have no idea I came from Singapore. When they asked what language does Singaporean speak, I said, 新加坡语。Its easier to explain to them later that its just a mixed up language between English and Mandarin. We have a PM that speaks better Mandarin then Pinky, I suppose they would rather learn how he did it, no point asking the Mee siam mai hum guy.

wahlaneh...
last tum my teacher said: "if u want to learn proper english go to england. if u want to learn proper chinese go to china."
why go angmoh country learn chinese language?

Is this a joke? lol. Most Ang Moh Chinese cant even read/write the language. This looks more like a government paid holiday trip!!!!

Yah loh, like this Ang Moh PM that the team is being send to, to find out why he could speak better Mandarin then most Singaporean.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/hcowAI9lk20&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/hcowAI9lk20&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/NHUD10tVgFg&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/NHUD10tVgFg&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/JekEff7-sCg&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/JekEff7-sCg&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/nZmBBbPB4ZU&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/nZmBBbPB4ZU&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

Just 2 words for that:

Jiak Sai! = 吃屎!

1. bingo!
2. getting whites teaching sheep to learn mtl, this is more than joking.
3. mockery to sheep's multi-million dollar salaried structure paid to elites.
4. just wonder what's the impact of such elaborated trip man?
5. another entourage to tour places.

HO relatd to Ho Jinx?

I recalled someone said yes in 1 of the threads.

Thinking out loud, if were to plot a family tree of all the key positions held in the public sectors (assuming , just assuming, private sector is via merit) It shouldn't be a very complicated chart right ? Just thinking out loud only ha.

I recalled someone said yes in 1 of the threads.

Thinking out loud, if were to plot a family tree of all the key positions held in the public sectors (assuming , just assuming, private sector is via merit) It shouldn't be a very complicated chart right ? Just thinking out loud only ha.

one Ho Cheem (good to kiss) one Ho Peng (good to turn) wat u expect?:D

You wanna kiss Ho Cheem???...:D we have already kissed our CPF money good bye ( or was it a good buy?)...

One gamble with your money, the other gamble with your children...we are really screwed!!:p

Cheem first then Peng ha ?

Or Peng first than cheem ?

Two very different facing leh. I am sure you are talking about how to eat prata right ? :confused:

Not that cheem..lah!..kiss..smuck!!!...you wanna try? Ho Cheem??:D who knows you may attain nirvana!

We are learning from the Ozzies how to teach Chinese? Tell me this is not happening please.

Reminds me of TT Durai bringing his NKF team on a holiday visit to Las Vegas to learn how to organize fund raising projects.

wahlaneh...
why cannot cheem n peng together meh?
eh if u got chance to cheem that 1st Lady of Singapore n peng her sister at the same time on the same bed u really dowan meh?:rolleyes:

wahlaneh...
why cannot cheem n peng together meh?
eh if u got chance to cheem that 1st Lady of Singapore n peng her sister at the same time on the same bed u really dowan meh?:rolleyes:

Do that, one have to be commited to St. James Infirmary...:D