• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MBT's Policy Of High Property Price Makes Weak Heart Khaw Worry

PhuaTeKor

Do they know that it is not good to stress a person who had a heart bypassed surgery?

Khaw Boon Wan is a 'worried' man

cartoon+bubble+image.jpg

Minister for National Development Khaw Boon Wan spoke honestly about his fears and worries over the feverish property market.
In his blog, Housing Matters, he warns that prices cannot go up forever and we should all prepare for the worst should anything go downhill. He's keeping an eye out for possible stumbling blocks along the way.
He mentions certain factors that could drive the market down:
  • There is a large supply of units (53,000) coming in the years ahead, could point to an oversupply.
  • Globally there are a lot of factors that could cause another global recession - the Middle East crisis than could raise oil prices further, the fragile European and US economy.
  • If another global recession hits at the same time as the oversupply, we could be looking at a serious situation
  • Low interest rates will not remain low forever.

Basically, he's asking for more caution from you before you sign on the dotted line. Do your financial homework and don't go in blindly.
That said, I think Singaporeans are more careful with their money than Mr Khaw thinks. What's more, most of the foreign buyers still are Indonesian, Malaysians, Indians and Chinese. The latter two nations are powering growth in this region and are one of the reasons behind the excess liquidity in the markets. Oil prices are already higher than they should be, and the weak Western economies don't seem to be dampening the exuberance in Asia. So unless something really nasty happens in China or India (Spratly Islands, North Korea, Taiwan, Kashmir), I think our property market will still be going on strong.

Khaw worried about private property market
By Fann Sim | SingaporeScene_–_15 hours ago

blog_khawboonwan.jpg

National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan is worried about the private property market. (AFP)

National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan has urged investors and upgraders to think about the uncertainties before purchasing a new private home.

In a blog entry titled "My Worries", Minister Khaw wrote about the development of property prices in Singapore and advised buyers to beware of sudden changes in the property market.

He gave the example of the US property market crashing two years ago where housing prices peaked and declined rapidly, causing a huge drop in property prices.

"Sharp property prices increases cannot go on forever," Minister Khaw wrote.
Calling it his "duty" to alert property buyers, he listed several reasons why things can go very wrong suddenly.

He shared that 35,000 private condominiums and landed properties have already been sold, though still in construction and there are an additional 45,000 private units waiting to be built and sold.

He also pointed out that due to a strong demand from developers and property buyers, the Urban Redevelopment Authority announced a Government Land Sale Programme where a further 8,000 private residential units will be introduced into the market. In total, there will be some 53,000 private residential units on sale over the next couple of years.

In response to this, netizen Melvin Lee commented that "53,000 private apartments in the pipeline looking to rent out would not be easy. Most expatriates are finding Singapore to be expensive to work here."

However, Minister Khaw added that the "external situation is not very bullish".
"Europe sovereign debt will take a long time to clear. The Middle East crisis can still go ugly. If that leads to a spike in oil prices and halts the fragile global economic recovery, the impact on Asia and Singapore will be direct and immediate," he said.

He understands that some 16 per cent of private properties are bought_by foreigners and a significant amount of private units bought by Singaporeans are rented to foreigners who are here in Singapore to live or work.

Minister Khaw felt that "in the event of any external shock, both foreign demand and rental demand can fall quite quickly."

He explained that when a drop in demand happens at a time when there is a substantial increase in supply, the impact of such a scenario is serious.

Real estate analyst from PropertyGuru, Tejaswi Chunduri told_Yahoo! Singapore that she agrees with Minister Khaw's views.

"With such abundance in the supply of residential units, there are chances of a potential downturn waiting to happen in the coming years."

"Despite the January measures (touted as the harshest among the recent rounds) announced by the government, the private property market has not had much cooling effect," she added.

Minister Khaw emphasised that a market correction or crash is not a given. The economy will continue to grow and property investors can enjoy good returns but no one is immune to mishaps, he said.

Do they know that it is not good to stress a person who had a heart bypassed surgery? ...
y shud u wen ze burger himself not? ... :confused:

anyway, 4 him, $8 can gao dim! ... y worry? ... :rolleyes:

These people are really despicable.
The predescessor used to threaten people that prices will not go higher; now the incumbent threatens people that prices may go lower.

Can these clowns for once stop using threats and just do things that will help the majority of ordinary Singaporeans for once! :mad: :rolleyes:

The predescessor used to threaten people that prices will not go higher; now the incumbent threatens people that prices may go lower.

Can these clowns for once stop using threats and just do things that will help the majority of ordinary Singaporeans for once! :mad: :rolleyes:

They will blame everything in the world first before they blame themselves (as in Khaw's case). When it comes to credit grabbing, rest assured, they will be the first in line pushing everything behind the queue (as in Mah's case). That is PAP well mastered art of policy and strategy. Unfortunately 60% of the voters just love the way it was.

all this is a charade to fool the people into thinking Mah Bow Lan actually has some power...............

and he's being made the scapegoat for PAP's stupid mistakes...................

These are 2 evil brotherhood from hades, Cow head and horse face (牛头马面).
If there's any case, he...he.. the buck stops at..........

Have your ever been to the backlanes, in the past, where they have the makeshift 'casinoes'?? where you can place bets, wether the number is higher or lower???....MBT says "higher"....Cow says "lower"...place your bets gentlemen!!:D

den, sum1 shouted ... mata cummin! mata cummin! ... evry1 scrambled away ... moni all gone! ... :eek:

If you drink pussy juice every night you will not get heart attack

But you must take precautions not to get something else so make sure the pussy smells fresh

den, sum1 shouted ... mata cummin! mata cummin! ... evry1 scrambled away ... moni all gone! ... :eek:

They never tell you, mata on their side...one is 'ali' , the other 'baba'...later they regroup & "lai, lai, lai!....":rolleyes:

i think he would be the most worried over his chio daughter :D

KBW%20daughter.jpg

LOL
Sinkie local trash (Rogue Trader) spotted :D:D:D
I bet you never went to a local university
I bet you never ever had a classy and above average looking friend like this
I have tonnes of Sinkie female friends from sg local universities who look like this

Aiyo Chao loser
Your few hundred dollars can only buy you whores and low-class bitches
Stick to your Thai prostitutes and PRC whores lah!!:D:D:D

Paisei to reveal your trashy peasant roots
Want to zap me do it quick I won't be here for long
:D:D:D

This fellow is very smart. Quickly push the blame to MBT and pre-warn the public. Not enough HDB, he quickly show he provide. But then he add one big warning which we all saw when FTs started dominating the market. Correction is inevitable just a matter of when and how much remains to be seen.

The 66.6 now the 60.00% voted for such people to manage their lives, either they are doing repentance now or suffering in hell on earth!!