Man fined for lying on FB about riot, but Penang Khaw not fined for lying about HDB?

So, a man got fined for putting a false claim on his FB. I mean how many people actually read his FB? But Penang Cow lie to 5 million people, by claiming we own our flats, but he is not fined? Very strange.
Man fined $5,000 for false Little India Riot posting on Facebook

A 28-year-old man was fined $5,000 on Thursday for a post on Facebook that falsely claimed three police officers and two civil defence officers died in last year’s Little India riot.

According to court documents, Desmond Lum Mun Hui posted a text status to his Facebook page on the morning after 8 December, the night the riot happened, that read, “Yesterday riot cause 3 spf and 2 cd dead.. all nsf.. haiz.. Sg..”, knowing that it was false. Here, “spf” refers to the Singapore Police Force and “cd” refers to Civil Defence, short for the Singapore Civil Defence Force. The term “nsf” is also short for full-time National Servicemen.

When his post attracted comments expressing disbelief, Lum continued to substantiate what he said by posting in follow-up comments, “Yup..not publish news [sic]” and “My fren [sic] on duty that night”. These comments, said Deputy Public Prosecutor Jason Nim, indicated that Lum had heard the news from his friend who was on duty on the night of the riot, and that the news was yet unpublished.

A day later, another Facebook user came across Lum’s fabricated post and lodged a police report against him. Lum was then charged in court for transmitting a false message under the Telecommunications Act.

In seeking a high fine for Lum’s act, DPP Nim said the former acted “out of a misguided and immature desire to attract attention on a social media platform”. “The offender was at most reckless as to the potential mischievous consequences,” he added.

In sentencing, District Judge Hamidah Ibrahim reportedly noted the fact that Lum is a first-time offender who pleaded guilty at the first possible opportunity. In a report from The Straits Times, she added that the fine imposed cannot be a mere slap on the wrist.

For his misleading Facebook status, Lum could have been fined a maximum of $10,000 or jailed for up to three years or both.

From Penang Cow:

We enabled this transformation through several important housing policy changes over the decades. I thought it useful to recount the key milestones. In 1971, we allowed HDB flats to be resold for a profit. Before that, flats could only be sold back to HDB at very low pre-determined prices. In 1989, we allowed flat owners to retain their HDB flats even when they buy a private property. Before that, they would have to sell off their HDB flats. In 1993, we allowed buyers to take loans based on the prevailing market value of the flat, which allowed sellers to maximise the value of their assets. Before that, housing loans were based on HDB’s historical selling prices. In 2003, we allowed flat owners to sublet their flats. Before that, the underlying principle was strict owner-occupation. These policy changes have benefitted many Singaporeans. Many were able to upgrade their homes, and dramatically improved their quality of life. It has also allowed many to accumulate large nest eggs, to fund their retirement needs.

Re: Man fined for lying on FB about riot, but Penang Khaw not fined for lying about H

There you go with your rubbish again.

The guy who lied about people dying could have potentially caused many more deaths in what was already an emotionally charged situation.

On the issue of Khaw's choice of words, it is absolutely acceptable for the term "own" to be used when purchasing a lease. You're doing nothing more than playing with semantics in an attempt to discredit one of the best public housing systems in the world and smear the good reputation of the minister in charge.

You are far more deserving of a law suit than that Roy character. :oIo:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leasehold_estate

A leasehold estate is an ownership of a temporary right to hold land or property in which a lessee or a tenant holds rights of real property by some form of title from a lessor or landlord. Although a tenant does hold rights to real property, a leasehold estate is typically considered personal property.

Re: Man fined for lying on FB about riot, but Penang Khaw not fined for lying about H

The guy who lied about people dying could have potentially caused many more deaths in what was already an emotionally charged situation.

On the issue of Khaw's choice of words, it is absolutely acceptable for the term "own" to be used when purchasing a lease. You're doing nothing more than playing with semantics in an attempt to discredit one of the best public housing system in the world and smear the good reputation of the minister in charge.

A leasehold estate is an ownership of a temporary right to hold land or property in which a lessee or a tenant holds rights of real property by some form of title from a lessor or landlord. Although a tenant does hold rights to real property, a leasehold estate is typically considered personal property.

Whatever u say, u PAP lacky sorry excuse for a human.

Thank goodness I am around to correct your lies, distortions, falsehoods and expose your devious nature.

No stupid, all you do is bump up my thread so that more people can read it, thank you.

Yes more people can see what an idiot you are. :oIo:

i agree with leongsam, Papsmearer you sure talk load of bollocks
Your risible allegation is just another poor attempt to take a dig at the PAP.
i really dont see how you could even link these 2 case together.

on your point of what minister cow said..it was actually very true..
i am one of the many who have benefited from the policy change. i started off with a HDB flat then upgrade to become owner of a few private properties allowing me to plan for retirement.
this was made possible because of change in policy.

you are left behind because you simply didnt adapt. if you do not change, you will be a loser whatever you go.

From Penang Cow:

We enabled this transformation through several important housing policy changes over the decades. I thought it useful to recount the key milestones. In 1971, we allowed HDB flats to be resold for a profit. Before that, flats could only be sold back to HDB at very low pre-determined prices. In 1989, we allowed flat owners to retain their HDB flats even when they buy a private property. Before that, they would have to sell off their HDB flats. In 1993, we allowed buyers to take loans based on the prevailing market value of the flat, which allowed sellers to maximise the value of their assets. Before that, housing loans were based on HDB’s historical selling prices. In 2003, we allowed flat owners to sublet their flats. Before that, the underlying principle was strict owner-occupation. These policy changes have benefitted many Singaporeans. Many were able to upgrade their homes, and dramatically improved their quality of life. It has also allowed many to accumulate large nest eggs, to fund their retirement needs.

I am really confused about the lj sg law. When he post about poodle being dead, it is up to people who choose to believe it or not, he did not harmed anyone. That means, if someone post on fb and say pinky is a bloody ah gua, he can also charge people say is a lie ? If the reason is causing fear, then if someone post on fb say if you eat e.g. to much soursoup can cause cancer, this is also creating fear, then also can charge ? :confused::*:

There is no comparison between the two. Even in the USA, the land of the free, there are laws against inciting and inflaming a riot. Refer to [h=1]18 U.S. Code § 2102.[/h]

u are such a fucking retard. Posting on FB saying that 3 policemen died is inciting a riot? How is that possible? Riot already happening.

i agree with leongsam, Papsmearer you sure talk load of bollocks
Your risible allegation is just another poor attempt to take a dig at the PAP.
i really dont see how you could even link these 2 case together.

on your point of what minister cow said..it was actually very true..
i am one of the many who have benefited from the policy change. i started off with a HDB flat then upgrade to become owner of a few private properties allowing me to plan for retirement.
this was made possible because of change in policy.

you are left behind because you simply didnt adapt. if you do not change, you will be a loser whatever you go.

U manager of what? U couldn't manage a jamban if your asshole depended on it. Don't talk so much shit. Just answer one question. Did you own your HDB flat or not? Its a simple yes or no answer. Penang Khawshit says you own your flat. I say he is a fucking bullshit liar, like you. I say you are tenant and the HDB is your landlord, how can that be owning your flat? Understand or not, stupid?

On the issue of Khaw's choice of words, it is absolutely acceptable for the term "own" to be used when purchasing a lease. You're doing nothing more than playing with semantics in an attempt to discredit one of the best public housing systems in the world and smear the good reputation of the minister in charge.

U can't "purchase a lease" u piece of shit mental retard. A lease is not a form of ownership. A lease is a long term rent. Look it up in the dictionary. Unless that is beyond your mental ability.

u are such a fucking retard. Posting on FB saying that 3 policemen died is inciting a riot? How is that possible? Riot already happening.

It would make things worse if the news spread by SMS and mobs descended upon the scene for revenge.

It would also cause untold stress for the families of policemen who happen to be on duty. How would you like if a kid of yours was at school and someone spread false rumors that the school had caught fire and 50 kids had died. You'd be beside yourself with worry.

Can't you figure these sorts of things out for yourself? Do I constantly have to spoon feed you? :rolleyes:

U can't "purchase a lease" u piece of shit mental retard. A lease is not a form of ownership. A lease is a long term rent. Look it up in the dictionary. Unless that is beyond your mental ability.

Of course you can just as you can purchase a time share arrangement. Just because you don't own in it perpetuity doesn't mean you cannot use the term "own".

You're clutching at straws and you're just making yourself look even dumber than you already are.

If you just admitted you're wrong and thank me for the clarification, it would do you a world of good.

You claim to be a PAP smearer but you're behaving just like they are in so many ways.

That fella was not inciting riot le. He only leeported fake news that mata mati. Also he didn't state any name.
I remember another case, someone spread the news of some place having children kidnappers, that made parents panic and that guy was arrested also. he didn't hurt anyone also. If scaring people constitute a fine, then many people would have fallen into this legal course.

Can I ask you 2 serious question not trying to be funny :
1) if someone on fb say pinky is a ah gua, can he sue or fine that person ?
2) if someone spread a news e.g. Bank ABC going to crash, can the bank sue the person ?

That fella was not inciting riot le. He only leeported fake news that mata mati. Also he didn't state any name.
I remember another case, someone spread the news of some place having children kidnappers, that made parents panic and that guy was arrested also. he didn't hurt anyone also. If scaring people constitute a fine, then many people would have fallen into this legal course.

Can I ask you 2 serious question not trying to be funny :
1) if someone on fb say pinky is a ah gua, can he sue or fine that person ?
2) if someone spread a news e.g. Bank ABC going to crash, can the bank sue the person ?

The answer is yes to both. There is case to be made and it would be up to the courts to decide the merit of each.

If you call Loong an ah qua, you sure get sued and lose the case.

Why?

Because you have to prove that he indeed have the genitals of both sexes. It is very easy for him to drop his pants and prove all his critics wrong, but the court will say he is not obliged to. How you gonna prove it then?

Only in sinkieland such boliao cases are heard by our highly paid judges and damages awarded.

If you call Loong an ah qua, you sure get sued and lose the case.

Why?

Because you have to prove that he indeed have the genitals of both sexes. It is very easy for him to drop his pants and prove all his critics wrong, but the court will say he is not obliged to. How you gonna prove it then?

Only in sinkieland such boliao cases are heard by our highly paid judges and damages awarded.

having genitals of both sexes? that's not an "ah qua"; the correct terminology for that is hermaphrodite.

the following is an example of a hermaphrodite...

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/a...rs-parents-didnt-tell-shes-hermaphrodite.html

Ah qua and hermes is same same no?

ah qua is a broad sinkie slang that covers transsexual, transgender, and homosexual variants of the gay parade. hermaphroditism refers to an unusual physical disorder or birth defect where a person is born with both sets of female and male genitals. a hermaphrodite can easily "go fuck shimself." :p