Look at the poverty in UK, they have min pay, free health care, social welfare and..

Look at the poverty in UK, they have min pay, free health care, social welfare and social housing, so this is basically the dream land of our opposition, then why are UK in poverty? They have what the opposition said that will solve all the social problems in singapore?

Money for social welfare and free health care does not fall from the trees, it have to come the taxes and borrowing.

You just shift a problem from one place to another. In the end, you make everything worse for the poor.

Due to high taxes, food, living cost and transportation are very high and the poor in UK struggle to survive, and not everyone are entitle to social welfare.

Can any of the opposition come and explain how social welfare failed in UK and if it fail there, how is it going to work in singapore.
Or you guys just buying votes from the poor. If that is the case, which i think it is, stay silent, i understand. Vote buying is good way to
win power.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

https://witness.theguardian.com/assignment/524ecfefe4b0f459d922d1cb#contribute

Poverty in Britain: share your stories
The rich may be getting richer again, but the poor are getting poorer too. We'd like to explore the ways life is getting harder for people across the UK.

Research from the London School of Economics has shown that poverty increased sharply in parts of London and Outer London over the past decade. Inequality also grew, which is in part because the rich got richer – but it's also because the income and earnings of the poorest Londoners became markedly worse. The report only covers the period up to 2010 but researchers anticipate that benefit reforms since then could "markedly accentuate" these changes. This will be the next phase of their research.

Though the report focused on London, the kind of hardship that forces people to rely on food banks appears to have increased across the UK. The Red Cross is about to launch a campaign to help families in Britain, for the first time in 70 years. Volunteers will ask supermarket shoppers to donate food, to be distributed to the most needy, through the charity FareShare. Comment is free would like you to help document how poverty is making itself felt where you live. Perhaps the price of living has gone up and your income hasn't or you are out of work and struggling to make ends meet. You may have had to move out of your home to find cheaper accommodation. We would like you to share your stories.

Re: Look at the poverty in UK, they have min pay, free health care, social welfare an

Look at the poverty in UK, they have min pay, free health care, social welfare and social housing, so this is basically the dream land of our opposition, then why are UK in poverty? They have what the opposition said that will solve all the social problems in singapore?

What lah? You suka suka humtum. Do you know that UK has the worst social safety net in Western Europe?
Find me a country that has eradicated poverty totally.
The opposition has NOT claimed that social problems can be totally eradicate by a social safety net. Alamak, don't spew junk here lah. Let's debate on facts, not lies.

Money for social welfare and free health care does not fall from the trees, it have to come the taxes and borrowing.
This is call sharing the wealth. Why should only 20 percent of the population deserve to have the right to live decently?

You just shift a problem from one place to another. In the end, you make everything worse for the poor.
80 percent of the population are indebted till they retire. And major health care issues will impoverish most of them. Isn't 80 percent the majority?

Due to high taxes, food, living cost and transportation are very high and the poor in UK struggle to survive, and not everyone are entitle to social welfare.
Are you not contradicting yourself?

Can any of the opposition come and explain how social welfare failed in UK and if it fail there, how is it going to work in singapore.
Or you guys just buying votes from the poor. If that is the case, which i think it is, stay silent, i understand. Vote buying is good way to
win power.
Why don't you look at Northern Europe for successful social programmes?

Re: Look at the poverty in UK, they have min pay, free health care, social welfare an

typical opposition tactic, stay away from the important question about social welfare, talk about fairness and claim they never said this and that, promising social welfare, is an attempt to eradicate poverty, why else would you introduce it? If you know it will never work.

i contradict myself, high taxes is cause by high social welfare, where did i contradict myself?

North europe, pls lah, you never even been to scandinavia , i have been there, there is a lot of land, a lot of natural resource vs a tiny bit of people. Of course it will work there. Is singapore a lot of land with tiny little bit of people?
No , so stop using scandinavia . You opposition are plain stupid if you cannot see the difference.

buy vote, say buy votes lah, you can fool the dumb dumb in singapore, but you dun fool me.
I can respect people who admit buying vote, it is the way of the politic, but tell me you going to solve the poverty problem by social welfare, just plain and simple nonsense.

First and foremost, there is no evidence that opposition supporters here are in favour of a welfare system. In fact, it will likely be the PAP who will implement it in future as an attempt to hold on to power.

If you look at Asian governments, social welfare is practically non-existent. It is safe to say Asians in general have a different culture, values and social norms from the westerners.

If we look at the Western Europe and the States, it is a combination of many factors that have caused their governments to go heavily into debt. History of overspending and pushing current problems to the future generations, an open door immigration policy - which add to the stress on the welfare system when you allow in loads of lowly educated immigrants fleeing civil war and what not.

typical opposition tactic, stay away from the important question about social welfare, talk about fairness and claim they never said this and that, promising social welfare, is an attempt to eradicate poverty, why else would you introduce it? If you know it will never work.
Helping the less fortunate or those who are in temporary setback is bad, letting them die is the right way? I would like to live in a society with rules and compassion, not in the jungle. We have lived in the PAP jungle for decades, enough is enough.

i contradict myself, high taxes is cause by high social welfare, where did i contradict myself?
What is wrong with high taxes? What is high? I rather have a society where 80 percent of the people earn middle class wages than a society where 20 percent are living good lives and the 80 percent fighting to eke out a living. Everyone deserves to have a roof over their, earn living wages, affordable access to education and health care.

North europe, pls lah, you never even been to scandinavia , i have been there, there is a lot of land, a lot of natural resource vs a tiny bit of people. Of course it will work there. Is singapore a lot of land with tiny little bit of people?
Wow, you think everyone who doesn't agree with the PAP are frogs-in-well? The reality is that PAP supporters are country bumpkins ...all they know is the bs fed to them.
The same old excuse given decades ago to justify totalitarian control. If geography is such a big impediment to our economic well-being, then the government should seek to overcome that by seeking to be part of a larger country.
No , so stop using scandinavia . You opposition are plain stupid if you cannot see the difference.
You use the comparison ...so we are first world country and you want to compare us to Zimbabwe?

buy vote, say buy votes lah, you can fool the dumb dumb in singapore, but you dun fool me.
I can respect people who admit buying vote, it is the way of the politic, but tell me you going to solve the poverty problem by social welfare, just plain and simple nonsense.
Then you should be heaping scorn at the PAP. They have been buying votes using our money.

There is no poverty in the UK. The welfare net more than takes care of the needs of everyone. Many lead very comfortable lives all paid for by hardworking members of the community.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...400k-taxpayer-funded-house-built-says-in.html

'I didn't put a gun to anybody's head': Mother of 11 defends her new £400,000 council house as daughter says SHE pays £200-a-month for a horse (but not how)

• Heather Frost, 36, lives in two houses which have been knocked together
  • Has seven children in one house, while the rest live with her in the other
  • Now Tewkesbury council has agreed to build her six-bedroom eco-home
  • Family own a horse and spend £200-a-month on stable fees
  • But daughter Angel, 16, insists she pays for horse which was given to her but doesn't explain how she pays for it
By LUKE SALKELD and MARK DUELL

PUBLISHED: 16:41 GMT, 19 February 2013 | UPDATED: 08:09 GMT, 21 February 2013

A jobless mother appeared on national television yesterday and insisted that she 'didn't beg' for a £400,000 council home built for her and her 11 children and paid for by the taxpayers.

Unemployed Heather Frost, 37, of Churchdown, Gloucestershire, was on ITV's Daybreak where she defended the purpose-built eco-home but said she was only '50/50 whether I’m going to take it'.

MailOnline had earlier revealed that the family own a horse, despite Ms Frost claiming benefits for her 11 children. Yesterday 16-year-old Angel defended her mother saying that it is she who pays for the upkeep of the £200-a-month horse named Annie, but failed to explain where she gets the money.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...funded-house-built-says-in.html#ixzz2jKluTeot
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

We are moving towards minimum pay without social welfare. You really think we are in a better position? Madness. Thats what they call voting against your own interest

UK is poor and going to burn because the stock they import from third world countries never do any work, live on welfare, and keep on procreating like rats.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/gvcS-Op3dMg?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

UK = Another Pundeknadu

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/FoBAg5oPS0Y?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

UK student pass immigration problems.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/65OeC_YCUcs?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

UK Indian sham marriages

Don't really care what happens in the UK. More interested in what goes on in Spore.
If the PAP want to make million dollar salaries than they should go out & work like everyone else. Instead they have formed monopolies called GLCs.

First and foremost, there is no evidence that opposition supporters here are in favour of a welfare system. In fact, it will likely be the PAP who will implement it in future as an attempt to hold on to power.

If you look at Asian governments, social welfare is practically non-existent. It is safe to say Asians in general have a different culture, values and social norms from the westerners.

If we look at the Western Europe and the States, it is a combination of many factors that have caused their governments to go heavily into debt. History of overspending and pushing current problems to the future generations, an open door immigration policy - which add to the stress on the welfare system when you allow in loads of lowly educated immigrants fleeing civil war and what not.

I keep hearing from opposition supporters here asking for social welfare because they want to compare with scandinavia. Even though one of them claim that he has been to scandinavia. he still insists that it is a good comparsion.

total different situation in scandinavia and singapore. But they just took out of context something from them and dangle in front of the poor in singapore and promise them this is what should happen.

comparing us to zimbabwe is the same as comparing us to scandinavia. it is the same, totally different, apples and oranges.

PAP as i know it, is helping the less fortunate and those who are in temporary setback. They are doing it with strict control and without writing social welfare into law. I think they are doing the right thing. Once we follow the path of the european, we will not be helping the poor, we will cause hardship to spread to the middle class. Their social welfare is sucking in all the refugee around them. It will reach a point where things will get very ugly like the start of ww2.

social welfare taken 50 years in an democracy which turn from your idea of helping the poor and people in temporary setback. They wrote it into law and now unemployed parent with 20 children earning more than most working parents. Many family trap by welfare, if they start to work, they end up worse off. People keep claiming welfare from dead parents. people who claim divorce, but actually living together so to get more welfare.

Helping the less fortunate or those who are in temporary setback is bad, letting them die is the right way? I would like to live in a society with rules and compassion, not in the jungle. We have lived in the PAP jungle for decades, enough is enough.

What is wrong with high taxes? What is high? I rather have a society where 80 percent of the people earn middle class wages than a society where 20 percent are living good lives and the 80 percent fighting to eke out a living. Everyone deserves to have a roof over their, earn living wages, affordable access to education and health care.

Wow, you think everyone who doesn't agree with the PAP are frogs-in-well? The reality is that PAP supporters are country bumpkins ...all they know is the bs fed to them.
The same old excuse given decades ago to justify totalitarian control. If geography is such a big impediment to our economic well-being, then the government should seek to overcome that by seeking to be part of a larger country.

You use the comparison ...so we are first world country and you want to compare us to Zimbabwe?

Then you should be heaping scorn at the PAP. They have been buying votes using our money.

Don't really care what happens in the UK. More interested in what goes on in Spore.
If the PAP want to make million dollar salaries than they should go out & work like everyone else. Instead they have formed monopolies called GLCs.

so you prefer malaysian system, their politican earn peanuts, but their family amass massive wealth through corruption?

Why you worry for the Ang Moh? IMF will help them zhong money when they run out of them. Guess where the money comes from? :rolleyes:

Stupid Singveld, talking nonsense.

Ang mohs and their policies are the best. I just love ang moh and that is why I stay in Aussie land.