Live alone, die alone....are you one of them?

The number of elderly people living alone is likely to increase to 83,000 by 2030 - up from 35,000 now.

This number does not include seniors who are left alone at home when their children head out for work in the day.

The rising number of isolated seniors is a cause for concern, said Madam Halimah Yacob, Minister of State for Community Development, Youth and Sports, at an ageing forum on Wednesday.

'It is important that when their sons or daughters go to work and the elderly are living alone, there's someone to pop in and say 'how are you',' she said.

This is getting worse everyday...elderly just die and rot in the room, in the kitchen or in the bathroom....sad hor?

The new old, with more awareness and affluence comes independent. Not that bad imo.

This is getting worse everyday...elderly just die and rot in the room, in the kitchen or in the bathroom....sad hor?

Hoi... please get Leongsam to remove your moderator status off Equalisation since you don't like it so that you can use your super star nick.

lookong similah....! waht moderator status...what equalisation?

i old already why cannot post here meh.

What's wrong. Everyone come to this world alone and so must go alone. Unless you belong to thie faith that promise you virgins when you bring down some infidels to go with you.

There seem to be an increase in number of these old folks left to fend for themselves. Just in my office building alone, there are quite a few oldies who are still doing the cleaner's job. Their age are easily at least 65 years old. This country is unique. Does not care for its elderly. My PRC FB told me that both her parents are retired and have some sort of pension.

China elderly you see so happy.Morning taichi.Relax with grandchildren or with fellow comrades in so many places.Special concessions for everything.The elderly are respected. Even in Korea. Look Singapore,.YOu old you die better.FaSTER BETTER!If can't die, work yourself to death.Go clean the toilet and clean the floor. You see so many of these elderly in food courts and hawker centres.,Just look at their long faces, all their chins touching the grounds.,And they are all very bad tempered.Throwing things anyhow!!! Spoil your appetite! Singapore gone liao!