• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Kuan Yew is not Singapore's founding father

dr.wailing

I apologize if this article had been posted previously in this forum.

I refer to the 24 Mar 2015 Straits Times report “Singapore mourns: Thousands pay tribute to founding father Mr Lee Kuan Yew”.

ST quoted PM Lee:

“The first of our founding fathers is no more. He inspired us, gave us courage, kept us together, and brought us here. He fought for our independence, built a nation where there was none, and made us proud to be Singaporeans. We won’t see another man like him,” he said.

Lee Kuan Yew is not our founding father let alone the first because he never fought for our independence like George Washington or Gandhi did for their respective countries. Instead, Lee was the recipient of our independence and was on record to say that it was a moment of anguish for him. Isn’t it contradictory that Lee fought for our independence yet felt anguished when we became independent? Lee’s anguish at our independence confirms that he never wanted Singapore to be independent which in turn means that he never would have fought for our independence let alone be considered our founding father.

The inspiration Singaporeans have for Lee is misplaced for it wasn’t Lee but Dr Winsemius who was the true architect of our industrialization and whose plans brought us here. Lee’s courage was starkly absent when the Japanese invaded Singapore. He divided the country with his factious politics. He not so much built a nation than inherited one. Singaporeans were already proud before Lee came to power.

ST quoted PM Lee:

To many here and abroad, he said, “Lee Kuan Yew was Singapore. Singapore was his abiding passion. He gave of himself, in full measure, to Singapore. As he himself put it towards the end of his life and I quote, ‘I have spent my life, so much of it, building up this country. There’s nothing more that I need to do. At the end of the day, what have I got? A successful Singapore. What have I given up? My life.’”

Too many here and abroad equate Lee Kuan Yew with Singapore because they have no better information than state propaganda.

Lee didn’t give of himself to defending Singapore during Singapore’s hour of need but gave of himself to working for the Japanese enemy instead which would normally have been seen as treachery in other countries like France. Lee clearly would not give up his life for Singapore. Whatever Lee gave was in return for his own survival and benefit that had little to do with Singapore becoming successful for without Lee, Singapore would most likely have ended up like Hong Kong – different but prosperous just the same.

ST quoted PM Lee:

PM Lee called on Singaporeans to honour Mr Lee’s spirit, even as they mourned his loss, and work together to “build on his foundations, strive for his ideals, and keep Singapore exceptional and successful for many years to come”.

Singapore’s foundations weren’t Lee’s for much of what Singapore is today can be traced back to priceless British colonial inheritances as explained by Dr Goh Keng Swee.

ST wrote:

Over at Tanjong Pagar, which Mr Lee represented for 60 years since 1955, thousands more turned out to pay tribute to the man some called the “father of the nation”, bowing respectfully before a large portrait of him.
Retired calligrapher Seow Cheong Choon, 80, wept as he recounted how he had once railed against Mr Lee, doubting he would deliver on his promises to house Singapore’s slum dwellers and squatters.

“He said he would give us all a house. Not just one or two people, but the thousands living in attap houses,” he said in Mandarin. “I was angry with his promises of false hope. Who could believe him? Singapore was chaotic, muddy, full of gangsters.”

He was referring to the time Mr Lee had declared at a 1965 grassroots event: “This country belongs to all of us. We made this country from nothing, from mudflats… Today, this is a modern city. Ten years from now, this will be a metropolis. Never fear!”

This is another example of Lee’s habit of exaggerating his own accomplishments. Surely the turning of mudflat to city was achieved by the British, not Lee Kuan Yew? Singapore certainly did not transform from mudflat to city in the 6 short years that Lee was in charge. Lee also boasted to Chicago businessmen in 1968 that Singapore was already a metropolis. Again, Singapore did not turn from city to metropolis in 3 short years. Unfortunately much of Lee’s boasting has been uncritically accepted by the people. Mr Seow should take note of the numerous government advertisements asking the people to sell their flats back to the government and realize that for these people, Lee’s promises had, in the end, come to nothing.

ST wrote:

Little wonder then that he came to be regarded as the man most instrumental in shaping this country, from the time he and his People’s Action Party colleagues pushed for self-government in the 1950s to their quest for merger with the Federation of Malaya, Sabah and Sarawak to form the new nation Malaysia in the early 1960s, and their efforts to secure the Republic’s survival after independence was thrust on it on Aug 9, 1965.

The man most instrumental in shaping post independence Singapore has to be Dr Winsemius, for it was his economic plan that our industrialization was based on for which Lee himself expressed indebtedness.

The biggest push for self government came from the Leftists who were subsequently expelled by the PAP. It would be most shameless for the PAP to claim the credit of those whom it subsequently expelled.

Lee’s push for merger with Malaya was a mere substitution of British monarchy for a Malaysian one without any improvement to our state of independence.

ST wrote:

He famously wept on TV announcing the “moment of anguish”, when Singapore was “severed” from Malaysia. Not only had he believed deeply in a unified Malaysia as a multiracial society, but he must also have sensed the enormity of the task for the new city-state to make a living in an inhospitable world.

That moment of anguish is proof that Lee Kuan Yew never wanted Singapore to be independent and so could never have fought for our independence let alone be regarded as our founding father.

Lee’s so-called belief in a multiracial Malaysia was hypocritical at best. He had already sold Singapore out to Malaysia knowing full well he was subjecting all Singaporeans to the Bumiputra policy that was already enshrined in the Malaysian constitution.

ST wrote:

… Having survived life-and-death battles with the communists and communalists in Singapore’s troubled early years, he made plain that he was not averse to donning “knuckledusters” to take on and “demolish” his political adversaries. He refused to be swayed by popular sentiment or opinion polls, believing that voters would come round when they eventually saw the benefits of policies he had pushed through.

Lee’s so-called survival of battles with communists and communalists were figments of his imagination. The communists had largely been hunted down and eradicated by the British long before the State of Emergency ended in 1960. The Leftists that remained didn’t so much as do battle with Lee as were persecuted by him.

Lee was the key player in the entire communalist saga. It was his good comrades Lim Kim San and Dr Toh Chin Chye who pointed to Lee as being the one who made racist and incendiary speeches that contributed to racial riots (https://trulysingapore.wordpress.com/2015/06/05/lee-kuan-yew-contributed-to-racial-riots/). Before Lee came to power, the Malays and Chinese had been living together peacefully for more than a hundred years (https://trulysingapore.wordpress.com/2015/06/05/singapore-racial-harmony-during-colonial-times/).

Lee need not be swayed by popular sentiment because he controlled the press and could therefore shape popular sentiment instead.

ST wrote:

He was both a visionary and a radical thinker, and was instrumental in a host of major policies that have shaped almost every aspect of Singaporeans’ lives, from promoting public housing, home ownership, racial integration in public estates and, later, estate upgrading, to adopting English as a common language for the disparate races in Singapore.

Lee was no visionary; his vision was borrowed from Dr Winsemius. Lee may have been instrumental in disastrous policies like Stop-At-Two or Graduates’ Mothers Scheme but the key policy of export industrialization went strictly according to Dr Winsemius’ plan.

Despite not having Lee Kuan Yew, Malaysia ended up besting Singapore in the English Proficiency Index (http://www.ef.sg/epi/#asia).

ST wrote:

He made multiracialism and meritocracy as well as economically sound and corruption-free government hallmarks of the Singapore way. He carried over his own frugal ways to the business of government and was relentless in his fight against the “cancer of corruption”, making plain no one was beyond being investigated and ejected from office if they strayed.

Multiracialism, meritocracy and economically sound government were already well entrenched during colonial times. Singapore’s racial harmony was already an inspiration to all during colonial times (https://trulysingapore.wordpress.com/2015/06/05/singapore-racial-harmony-during-colonial-times). Lee Kuan Yew, his wife Kwa Gek Choo and Dr Goh Keng Swee all won scholarships given by the British colonial government. Dr Goh Keng Swee attributed the second of four reasons why Singapore succeeded to the lean, mean British colonial government:

In the modern idiom, the Victorians who governed Singapore established and maintained an infrastructure at minimum cost with maximum efficiency.

[Goh Keng Swee, The Practice of Economic Growth, Chapter 1: Why Singapore succeeds, pages 6-7]

ST wrote:

He pushed for ministers and senior civil servants to be paid salaries pegged to private sector rates, despite that being controversial, believing it was necessary if Singapore was to continue to enjoy good, clean government.

It’s silly to pay thieves high salaries to discourage them from stealing. Why employ a thief to begin with?

The notion that public service should be associated with exorbitantly high pay had already been rejected by the public during the NKF-TT Durai saga.

ST wrote:

And if this city gained a reputation worldwide for also being one of the cleanest and greenest, it was because the Prime Minister himself took a personal interest in enhancing the island’s greenery, parks and waterways, long before such environmental consciousness became fashionable.

Surely Singapore’s greenery didn’t begin with Lee Kuan Yew when Singapore’s best hope of a UNESCO listing – our Botanical Gardens was established by the British colonial government in 1859, 100 years before Lee came to power?

ST wrote:

… Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi hailed him as a “far-sighted statesman and a lion among leaders”.
United States President Barack Obama said in a statement: “He was a true giant of history who will be remembered for generations to come as the father of modern Singapore and as one of the great strategists of Asian affairs.”

Both Modi and Obama hardly knew Lee Kuan Yew so their appraisal of Lee couldn’t have been anything more than the regurgitation of popular reports or hearsays that mostly originate from Singapore’s state controlled media. Does Modi or Obama even know who Dr Winsemius is? Obama was probably misinformed because no one would be so stupid as to hail someone who felt anguished at a nation’s independence as its father.

ST wrote:

He had soldiered on with his public duties after retirement, and even after the loss of his wife of 63 years …

Lee’s remaining in office despite supposedly retiring suggests the falseness of his retirement. That he held on to his MP title while hardly performing any constituency work suggests the futility of his so-called soldiering on. Whether he soldiered on for the nation or for his own party is also questionable.

ST wrote:

Summing up his life’s work in his two-part memoirs, The Singapore Story, Mr Lee once revealed how he and his colleagues believed that Malaysian leaders anticipated the day when an independent Singapore would fail and be forced to appeal for readmission to the Federation, on Malaysia’s terms.

“No, not if I could help it,” he once declared … I did not know I was to spend the rest of my life getting Singapore not just to work, but to prosper and flourish.”

That’s another one of Lee Kuan Yew’s self-praise. Just because Lee was in charge doesn’t mean Singapore prospered and flourished because of him. Hong Kong is the best reflection of how Singapore would have turned out without Lee – different but prosperous just the same.

Moreover, our prospering and flourishing was in accordance to the economic plan written by Dr Winsemius whom Lee expressed indebtedness to. Whatever was Lee’s role, he certainly wasn’t the brains behind our prosperity. Unfortunately for many of our lowly educated pioneer generation, the only face they know that they will forever associate our prosperity with is Lee Kuan Yew’s.

Thank you

Ng Kok Lim

Source: http://www.tremeritus.com/2015/06/08/lee-kuan-yew-is-not-singapores-founding-father/

Give it a rest lah... Ah Gong is seen by nearly all sinkies as our founding father. Sinkies, including those around in the 1950s, have no idea and don't really care about names like 'Lim Yew Hock', 'David Marshall' or 'Albert Whats-his-name'.

You are wrong on this...Lim Yew Hock, David Marshall, Dr. Lee Siew Chow, Devan Nair, Toh Chin Chye, Ong Pang Boon etc..was well known by the people in the 50's...who was he? just a budding lawyer defending the trade unions from the colonial masters & making noises...

Ok!...he has done us good, he is now gone..leave it as it is, as we remember his name LEE KUAN YEW....& move on!

LKY was just a cunning politician... that was all. Nothing benevolent about him.

Some insights from a knowledgeable Ah Tiong history buff.

[video=youtube;oYNqxCUDKqE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYNqxCUDKqE[/video]

13:09: ISA created to destroy political opponents.

15:00: Split in the PAP and formation of the Barisan Socialis.

16:13: PAP u-turn, switch to right wing, suppressing Chinese society and labour unions, wooing Malay votes.

16:42: LKY promotes merger with Malaysia.

20:35: LKY rethinking the merger with Malaysia, so starts stirring shit to get Tunku to kick him out.

----

The two things you can take away from this are:

1) When it comes to racial politics, no one did it better than LKY. Even the PAP of today does it, albeit in a more subtle way.
2) That infamous 'moment of anguish' was probably faked... but don't tell the 60% grateful gongkias, lest you break their hearts. :wink:

Singapore history is fun when it isn't from MOE-approved textbooks, right?
LKY isn't the knight in shining armour, and we aren't 'living happily ever after' post-independence. :cool:

yellowarse

2) That infamous 'moment of anguish' was probably faked... but don't tell the 60% grateful gongkias, lest you break their hearts. :wink:

It was an Oscar-deserving performance, one of the greatest demonstrations of crocodile tears in history. Toh Chin Chye said as much, albeit diplomatically.:wink:

Toh Chin Chye – “He was crying. I don’t understand him at all.”

MARCH 20, 2015 BY ONLINECITIZEN IN SG HISTORY · 6 COMMENTS

toh-chin-chye-2.jpg

Excerpt of an interview with Dr Toh Chin Chye, published in ‘Leaders of Singapore’ by Melanie Chew, 1996

August 9, 1965

I remember that morning very clearly. In the morning, I wrote a letter to Tengku. He promptly replied in the afternoon.

I stayed behind (in Kuala Lumpur) and Lee came back to announce to the public in Singapore that Singapore had become independent. I stayed behind to clear up the mess. The Malaysian Parliament was meeting the next day. Lee Kuan Yew told me to go to the Parliament. Can you imagine the uproar? I had no chance to face the members of the Malaysian Solidarity Convention to break the news. Their support for Singapore came to nothing.

When Lee Kuan Yew got back to Singapore, he invited the members of the Convention to attend his press conference. He was crying. I don’t understand him at all. On one hand, he worked so hard for merger. Having gotten the cupful, he shattered it. And then cried over it.

He held two successive press conferences, and in which both he cried. On the third morning I went to work, and saw the press boys again. I asked Lee Wei Ching, his press secretary, “Why are they hanging around here?” Another press conference! I told Lee Wei Ching, “You ought to tell the Prime Minister to go to Changi and take a rest. Call the press conference off! Another crying bout, and the people of Singapore will think the government is on its knees. So he went to Changi, staying at the government bungalow for six weeks.

One smart reporter noted this by going through Hansard. There was a big time gap in Hansard between our last parliamentary meeting and the next meeting. More than five months. One would have thought with such a big event, Parliament should be immediately summoned and the announcement made to Parliament. The opposition came at me. Why is there no Parliament sitting? So I had to hold the fort.

I was not appointed to act for him while he was away. When he went off to Changi, Parliament did not meet. So Singapore had a Parliament in suspended animation. Keng Swee and Lim Kim San saw me and asked me what was the constitutional position. Has he recovered? What if he does not recover? So what happens? I said I thought he was getting better, although I could not see him and telephone calls were not put through.

Q: So after the separation, you did not have Parliamentary meetings until December?
Parliament last met on June 16th, 1965 when Singapore was still in Malaysia, and recommenced only on December 8th, 1965 after we had left Malaysia.

Q: But the appearance of government was normal. The government was still carrying on. It seemed like business as usual.
Your point is taken. In a crisis there will be public spirited figures who will rise to the occasion, for better or worse.

Only the constitutional position was unclear, because according to the constitution it was the Yang di Pertuan Negara who appoints the Prime Minister, who in turn appoints the Cabinet. The constitutional position was not clear about an absent or an incapacitated Prime Minister, and Goh Keng Swee and Lim Kim San were both anxious.

Q: Mr Lee at that time was in a very emotional state?
Yes, he was. I knew he was. And was very worried for him. That is why I told Lee Wei Ching to call the press conference off.

Q: Was he in a very emotional state because he felt he had made a blunder?
You have to interview him on that. I cannot answer for him.

Q: Could his provocative speeches have been part of a deliberate strategy?

I do not know why he did that. But he was influenced by Alex Josey, who came from the Middle East where he had been a reporter. Josey fed him ideas about the Muslims. The “Mad Mullahs.” The “Ultras.” Lee used the term, “Mad Mullahs.” This was Alex Josey’s phrase. Alex Josey was his close friend, golfing friend and biographer.

Alex used to play golf with me. He was an operator. He used to pick me up as early as five a.m., because I had no one to play golf with at that time. He was an operator, feeding me stories of his experiences with the Arabs. I had suspicions about him. Now he’s dead.

Q: Lee Kuan Yew asked the Tengku to write to you to explain that it was Tengku’s decision to separate.
Yes, I think that was the purpose. To tell me that it was a decision made by the Tengku.

Q: Was it because he was afraid?
So the blame would be on the Tengku’s shoulder. Not on our shoulders. The Tengku was far sighted. However desirable it was to continue as one country, we could not do so. He wrote, “We cannot avoid a bloodshed if we remain.”

Tengku had been in charge of multi racial Malaya since 1957. He knew, better than any of us, what was possible and impossible. The 1969 riots in Kuala Lumpur proved him right.”

methink

LEE CON YOU was the FOUNDING FATHER OF SINKIEPOOR.

Yes Lee Con You was the conman who conned sinkies into thinking they would be rich. His useless son is now making the same claim...making fools of us by making us poor!

Both are founding fathers of deception. The Swiss Standard of Living is a mirage. Apparently it is only for the clown prince and his cronies!

Agoraphobic

LKY was a politician. He can be viewed as different things to different people, everyone has a choice to see him as they prefer. It will be beneficial for people to grow out of this past and move on with the future. Whatever he did, has already taken place. It is history.

yellowarse

LKY was a politician. He can be viewed as different things to different people, everyone has a choice to see him as they prefer. It will be beneficial for people to grow out of this past and move on with the future. Whatever he did, has already taken place. It is history.

Rubbish. It is history, but we can't ignore it for 2 important reasons:

1. We can draw important lessons from history, not least not repeating some of the horrendous mistakes made in the past. That's why all German students have to study the Holocaust.

2. It was LKY who bequeathed us today's legacy of a tyrannical one-party system which still continues to deny S'poreans many of their fundamental rights and implement policies that make life difficult for the average Singaporean. How are we going to 'move on with the future' and make things better if we don't even have an inkling about how this dismal state of affairs have come about since the early days of our Independence?

Agoraphobic

Fren, I see Singapore's progress as part of the progress the entire region has gone through, but many ppl attribute it to your "emperor!" I am not going to argue with them - it is their opinion.

1. The Germans (or more accurately, the Nazis) wreaked havoc in Europe, but today, Germany plays soccer with the world, trades with them, exchanges talent (eg. musicians) with previous enemies. The past is remembered, but old wounds are not reopened. Yes, there will be extremist skinheads who relish in their past "glory" but their mainstream society goes on with life.

2. No matter what one can say about "dictatorship", "press control" and all that - there were (and still are) free elections in Singapore. Citizens can vote anyone they wished. Just happened that most selected Papa-Anak Party! The chose More Good Years! The people selected the path the country walked.

As for how the nation interpretes their history, it is the choice of the citizens. I see the point you are making, but this is because Lee Kuan Yew was an adroit and efficient politician - he galvanized the foundations of society, the business circles, the media, the legislative body, the unions, the police, the military, the judiciary, even the artistic circles (your SBC actors, DJs), the educators to support him. Politically, he was thorough and complete. No one in Singapore even comes a close second to him in the field of politics.

Now, Singapore's "emperor" is gone. The political arena has a more level playing field. The non-PAP parties should be leveraging on this, but it looks all quiet.

Rubbish. It is history, but we can't ignore it for 2 important reasons:

1. We can draw important lessons from history, not least not repeating some of the horrendous mistakes made in the past. That's why all German students have to study the Holocaust.

2. It was LKY who bequeathed us today's legacy of a tyrannical one-party system which still continues to deny S'poreans many of their fundamental rights and implement policies that make life difficult for the average Singaporean. How are we going to 'move on with the future' and make things better if we don't even have an inkling about how this dismal state of affairs have come about since the early days of our Independence?