• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Learn from the Thais how to fix the PAP Govt

UMNO Terrorist

http://rt.com/op-edge/protests-in-ukraine-revolution-567/

Revolution template: Ukrainian protests follow Serbian, Georgian paths
Get short URL
Published time: December 02, 2013 09:54

Protesters participating in pro-EU rallies stand near the entrance to Ukraine's Cabinet building in Kiev on December 2, 2013 (RIA Novosti / Andrey Stenin)
Download video (36.67 MB)

Tags
Clashes, Conflict, EU, Economy, Globalization, Opposition, Politics, Protest, Ukraine, Violence, Yanukovich

It looks as if protesters in Ukraine can topple the government, and it's not clear whether the president has the stomach or the intellect to control the situation there, Mark Almond, an Oxford University historian, told RT.

Almond believes that these protests are part of Ukraine's economic difficulties. But association with Europe "would stimulate an economic downturn and more mass migration, rather than reform process, which would improve life," he believes.

RT: It does look like protesters would like to topple the government. Do you think it is likely to happen?

Mark Almond: It is possible. There is a template that they are following, which happened in Belgrade in Serbia in 2000 and in Georgia in 2003: storm public buildings, hope to face a demoralized government. And it has to be said that the president of Ukraine zigzagged so much not just over Europe, but over the question of policing and it is not quite clear whether he has the stomach or the intellect to control the situation there.

RT: It’s not the first time we are seeing a revolution there. What difference would a second one make?

MA: This seems to be a great tragedy of Ukraine. It would seem that Ukrainians can’t learn from their own experience. After all, we had in 2004-05 the so-called Orange Revolution, and it actually gave way to in-fighting, to terrible corruption, to economic disaster – that’s what actually enabled Yanukovich to win the election and come back to power. We have to be careful with attributing what is going to the majority of people in Ukraine. I suspect the tragedy of the Ukrainians is that the great majority of people are rather passive and certainly rather disillusioned about politics on both sides of the equation.

Protesters participating in pro-EU rallies stand near Ukraine's Cabinet building in Kiev on December 2, 2013 (RIA Novosti / Andrey Stenin)

The risk now is that we have politics of two minorities. It may be that group on the streets, the group with paramilitary nationalist support from the West (including several European countries) may feel they’ve got the strength to stage a kind of coup and this could change the government, it could lead to a very violent situation and it could even question whether Ukraine is viable as a state.
'Big country at bad starting point'

RT: And what about Europe’s motives? It is based out of purely economic reasons, or is it a challenge to Russia?

MA: For Ukraine this is part of its economic difficulties. There is very little to attract it to Europe. In fact, what do they produce what European don’t already have. We have a huge agricultural sector, we have a heavy industrial sector and so on. It is really a geo-strategic issue I think to push Russia further and further back into Asia. And this is why Ukraine is important.

Whether it is a good thing for Europe that Ukraine might yet become and economically associated with Europe is another question. If we think about countries like Romania, Poland, Bulgaria and Lithuania, we see massive migrations of their ordinary people into Western Europe, pushing down wages, making social problems that exist in Britain, Germany and France and Spain and Italy.

Ukraine is a big country in an even worse starting point. From an economic point of view, more association with Europe will actually be a stimulus to more economic downturn and more mass migration, rather than a starting point for some reform process, which will improve life, despite the rhetoric about it.

RT: Yanukovich said that he may review this early next year. Do you think perhaps there could be a deal in the future?

MA: In addition to protesters on the street, there are also some economic interests in Ukraine who think they could benefit from this. I think if we look at the society as a whole and the economy as a whole, it’s an open question. So Yanukovich may be trying to calm the situation by saying this. He may also think that it is to his advantage. After all, he faces the problem that the most politically organized group, the decisive group, may be the pro-European lobby who offer very generous amounts of financial assistance. So he may be hoping to calm them.

In a sense if he doesn’t listen to what they say, he should. Because essentially they are saying that he is already toast - that they protest about Mrs. Tymoshenko being in prison, but they intend to put him and his supporters in prison. This is part of a problem of the heightened tensions in Ukraine. Once you begin to have one group saying that the other side of the equation is traitors, enemies of people, the danger is that those people have nowhere to go. You begin to create the atmosphere of a civil war, rather than of a civil debate.

RT: Brussels was very surprised when Ukraine made a U-turn over this. Are they afraid of losing face over this?

MA: Brussels and West in general would prefer to be winners out of this and they hope that Mr. Yanukovich will shoot himself in the other foot, having not handled this crisis very well so far, but he will try to curry favor back in Brussels, but I don’t think this would rescue him. Maybe sadly there is nothing that can rescue the Ukrainian situation easily or simply.

The statements, views and opinions expressed in this column are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of RT.
Comments

UMNO Terrorist

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news...-clashes-continue-in-capital/article15711804/

Thai leader says protesters’ demands impossible to meet, clashes continue in capital

Thanyarat Doksone And Jocelyn Gecker

BANGKOK, Thailand — The Associated Press

Published Monday, Dec. 02 2013, 4:29 AM EST

Last updated Monday, Dec. 02 2013, 4:31 AM EST
Comments

AA

Thailand’s prime minister said Monday she is willing to do anything it takes to end violent protests against her government and restore peace, but cannot accept the opposition’s “unconstitutional” demand to hand power to an unelected council.

Yingluck Shinawatra’s comments, broadcast in a televised news conference, were the clearest indication yet that negotiations are unlikely to solve the country’s increasingly violent political standoff.
More Related to this Story

Thai protest leader meets with PM after day of violent clashes

Thai political protests kill at least one, wound five others

Anti-government protesters break into Thai army compound

Asia

Video: Instability the new normal in Thailand

Asia

Video: Protesters occupy Thai Ministry

Video

Video: Thai protesters target government offices

As Yingluck spoke from the country’s heavily fortified national police headquarters, stone-throwing protesters battled through clouds of police tear gas in a renewed attempt to seize her office, the Government House, and other key government buildings. As the day progressed, the protesters got hold of a garbage truck and a police truck, using them to break through parts of concrete barricades.

The protests aimed at toppling Yingluck’s government have renewed fears of prolonged instability in one of Southeast Asia’s biggest economies and comes just ahead of the peak holiday tourist season.

“If there’s anything I can do to bring peace back to the Thai people I am happy to do it,” Yingluck said, striking a conciliatory but firm tone. “The government is more than willing to have talks, but I myself cannot see a way out of this problem that is within the law and in the constitution.”

Protest leader Suthep Thaugsuban, who met with Yingluck on Sunday night, has said he will not be satisfied with Yingluck’s resignation or new elections. Instead, he wants an unelected “people’s council” to pick a new prime minister who would replace Yingluck, even though she was elected with an overwhelming majority. His demand has been criticized by many as undemocratic.

“I don’t know how we can proceed” with Suthep’s demand, she said. “We don’t know how to make it happen. Right now we don’t see any way to resolve the problem under the constitution,” she said in the brief 12-minute news conference.

The protesters, who are mostly middle-class Bangkok supporters of the opposition Democrat Party, accuse Yingluck of being a proxy for her brother, former Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra. He was deposed in a 2006 military coup but remains central to Thailand’s political crisis, and is a focal point for the protester’s hatred.

The protesters, who call themselves the People’s Democratic Reform Committee, say their goal is to uproot the political machine of Thaksin, who is accused of widespread corruption and abuse of power.

Monday’s violence took place around key institutions -- the Government House, the Parliament and Metropolitan Police Headquarters in the historic quarter of the capital. The area has some of Bangkok’s main tourist attractions such as the Grand Palace, Wat Pho temple, the Bangkok zoo, and the backpacker area of Khao San Road. Most of Bangkok, a city of 10 million, has been unaffected.

The protesters’ numbers have dwindled from a peak of 100,000-plus a week ago but a small groups of a few hundreds youths have remained at the frontline, fighting running battles with the police. They threw bottles, rocks and smoke bombs Monday over concrete and razor-wire barricades that they tried to rip down. They were repeatedly repelled by volleys of tear gas, bursts of water cannon and rubber bullets.

Many schools and offices, including the United Nations’ regional headquarters located near the Government House, were closed.

The French Embassy issued one of the strongest warnings of dozens of foreign governments, urging citizens to “stay inside” to avoid the conflict on Bangkok’s streets.

The French School was one of at least 60 schools closed in Bangkok on Monday. It is located in a northeastern Bangkok neighbourhood where gunshots rang out over the weekend during clashes between Yingluck’s supporters and opponents.

Suthep’s meeting with Yingluck on Sunday took place in the presence of top military leaders, even though he has an arrest warrant against him. His sustained campaign has raised suggestions that he may have the backing of the military, which has long had a powerful influence over Thai politics. The army has often stepped in during times of crisis, carrying out 18 successful or attempted coups since the 1930s.

Political instability has plagued Thailand since the military ousted Thaksin, who remains hugely popular among rural voters, in 2006. Two years later, anti-Thaksin protesters occupied Bangkok’s two airports for a week after taking over the prime minister’s office for three months, and in 2010 pro-Thaksin protesters occupied downtown Bangkok for weeks in a standoff that ended with parts of the city in flames and more than 90 dead.

“I believe that no one wants to see a repeat of history, where we saw the people suffer and lose their lives,” Yingluck said.

UMNO Terrorist

Only a small price to be paid. The effects and achievements are so great. It is nothing if just a few dozens needs to die.:rolleyes::wink:

Why fix the PAP when there is nothing to fix.

They are doing a fantastic job of keeping the country healthy and prosperous.

Exactly, the mantra "If it ain't broken, don't fix it" holds very true in this situation.

Another appropriate phrase is "Be careful what you wish for".

People who clamor for the demise of the PAP may well find themselves in a far worse situation if it were to actually happen.

Imagine a Singapore run by the current bunch of opposition clowns. It's the stuff of nightmares.

yah agree with you. Want to see my CPF money at 62, keep voting them for 2 more elections.

healthy? I don't know. Prosperous maybe.

Why fix the PAP when there is nothing to fix.

They are doing a fantastic job of keeping the country healthy and prosperous.

Fishypie

Why shouLd i be bothered about who Fixes what; when i stiLL can Chiong wheneVer & whereVer i wish..:cool::wink:

da dick

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news...-clashes-continue-in-capital/article15711804/

Thai leader says protesters’ demands impossible to meet, clashes continue in capital

Thanyarat Doksone And Jocelyn Gecker

BANGKOK, Thailand — The Associated Press

Published Monday, Dec. 02 2013, 4:29 AM EST

Last updated Monday, Dec. 02 2013, 4:31 AM EST
Comments

AA

Thailand’s prime minister said Monday she is willing to do anything it takes to end violent protests against her government and restore peace, but cannot accept the opposition’s “unconstitutional” demand to hand power to an unelected council.

Yingluck Shinawatra’s comments, broadcast in a televised news conference, were the clearest indication yet that negotiations are unlikely to solve the country’s increasingly violent political standoff.
More Related to this Story

Thai protest leader meets with PM after day of violent clashes

Thai political protests kill at least one, wound five others

Anti-government protesters break into Thai army compound

Asia

Video: Instability the new normal in Thailand

Asia

Video: Protesters occupy Thai Ministry

Video

Video: Thai protesters target government offices

As Yingluck spoke from the country’s heavily fortified national police headquarters, stone-throwing protesters battled through clouds of police tear gas in a renewed attempt to seize her office, the Government House, and other key government buildings. As the day progressed, the protesters got hold of a garbage truck and a police truck, using them to break through parts of concrete barricades.

The protests aimed at toppling Yingluck’s government have renewed fears of prolonged instability in one of Southeast Asia’s biggest economies and comes just ahead of the peak holiday tourist season.

“If there’s anything I can do to bring peace back to the Thai people I am happy to do it,” Yingluck said, striking a conciliatory but firm tone. “The government is more than willing to have talks, but I myself cannot see a way out of this problem that is within the law and in the constitution.”

Protest leader Suthep Thaugsuban, who met with Yingluck on Sunday night, has said he will not be satisfied with Yingluck’s resignation or new elections. Instead, he wants an unelected “people’s council” to pick a new prime minister who would replace Yingluck, even though she was elected with an overwhelming majority. His demand has been criticized by many as undemocratic.

“I don’t know how we can proceed” with Suthep’s demand, she said. “We don’t know how to make it happen. Right now we don’t see any way to resolve the problem under the constitution,” she said in the brief 12-minute news conference.

The protesters, who are mostly middle-class Bangkok supporters of the opposition Democrat Party, accuse Yingluck of being a proxy for her brother, former Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra. He was deposed in a 2006 military coup but remains central to Thailand’s political crisis, and is a focal point for the protester’s hatred.

The protesters, who call themselves the People’s Democratic Reform Committee, say their goal is to uproot the political machine of Thaksin, who is accused of widespread corruption and abuse of power.

Monday’s violence took place around key institutions -- the Government House, the Parliament and Metropolitan Police Headquarters in the historic quarter of the capital. The area has some of Bangkok’s main tourist attractions such as the Grand Palace, Wat Pho temple, the Bangkok zoo, and the backpacker area of Khao San Road. Most of Bangkok, a city of 10 million, has been unaffected.

The protesters’ numbers have dwindled from a peak of 100,000-plus a week ago but a small groups of a few hundreds youths have remained at the frontline, fighting running battles with the police. They threw bottles, rocks and smoke bombs Monday over concrete and razor-wire barricades that they tried to rip down. They were repeatedly repelled by volleys of tear gas, bursts of water cannon and rubber bullets.

Many schools and offices, including the United Nations’ regional headquarters located near the Government House, were closed.

The French Embassy issued one of the strongest warnings of dozens of foreign governments, urging citizens to “stay inside” to avoid the conflict on Bangkok’s streets.

The French School was one of at least 60 schools closed in Bangkok on Monday. It is located in a northeastern Bangkok neighbourhood where gunshots rang out over the weekend during clashes between Yingluck’s supporters and opponents.

Suthep’s meeting with Yingluck on Sunday took place in the presence of top military leaders, even though he has an arrest warrant against him. His sustained campaign has raised suggestions that he may have the backing of the military, which has long had a powerful influence over Thai politics. The army has often stepped in during times of crisis, carrying out 18 successful or attempted coups since the 1930s.

Political instability has plagued Thailand since the military ousted Thaksin, who remains hugely popular among rural voters, in 2006. Two years later, anti-Thaksin protesters occupied Bangkok’s two airports for a week after taking over the prime minister’s office for three months, and in 2010 pro-Thaksin protesters occupied downtown Bangkok for weeks in a standoff that ended with parts of the city in flames and more than 90 dead.

“I believe that no one wants to see a repeat of history, where we saw the people suffer and lose their lives,” Yingluck said.

you very funny leh. you want us to copy what from thais? you want us to support royals like tony tan and famiLEE? u want us to destroy democracy so PAP elitist/royalist can rule forever without any chance to vote them out? siao boh? go back kampong, pls mat! and learn to read

SgGoneWrong

Another appropriate phrase is "Be careful what you wish for".

People who clamor for the demise of the PAP may well find themselves in a far worse situation if it were to actually happen.

Imagine a Singapore run by the current bunch of opposition clowns. It's the stuff of nightmares.

These people who want the downfall of PAP hasn't been exposed to the real world. They should talk to Thais who lost their all their wealth due to the economic disturbances caused by the riots years ago.