Kuala Lumpur - One of the least Courteous Cities in the world

I though Malays are suppose to be nice?

PETALING JAYA - Some things do not seem to change in Malaysia and foremost among them are rudeness and inconsiderate behaviour.

Six years ago, Reader's Digest placed Malaysia's rudeness level at 33 out of the 35 countries ranked.

The latest appraisal by the magazine shows Kuala Lumpur almost at the bottom of a list of Least Courteous Cities at number 34 out of 36 major cities in the world.

Police records show that more than 20 per cent of the 1.3 million accidents yearly result from aggressive driving behaviour but inconsiderate and risky conduct on the roads remain the main complaints, according to findings in The Star Online's Facebook page (www.facebook/thestaronline) survey.

Other selfish acts like ignoring signs against smoking, eating and littering, and rushing in to lifts, trains and buses before allowing people to exit are also high on the list.

Poor toilet etiquette, talking loudly on phones even in cinemas, being late for appointments, not saying "thank you" and leaving trolleys in parking lots are the other bad habits that Malaysians continue to practise shamelessly.

Academic counsellor Joshua Johnson, 31, said the most common examples of bad drivers were those who did not use indicator lights when switching lanes and tailgating road bullies.

Christopher Oh, 25, a research assistant, said he was peeved by smokers who disregarded no-smoking signs in enclosed areas.

Describing them as rude public hazards, he said: "Smoking in a non-smoking area is thoughtless and irresponsible because second-hand smoke is harmful, especially to non-smokers," he said.

Kevin Mcintyre, a Scottish expatriate working in Kuala Lumpur, said he missed his stop on the train because people were rushing into it as he was trying to get out.

"It was rude and caused me a great inconvenience," he said.

A Keretapi Tanah Melayu Berhad spokesman confirmed that such uncaring attitude was common, especially during rush hours.

"Passengers also do not readily offer their seats to pregnant, handicapped or elderly passengers," he added.

He said that during off-peak periods, there were also male passengers who indiscriminately boarded coaches reserved for women, ate on board, smoked and also littered.

In George Town, Penang Senior Citizens Association president Lawrence Cheah noted that young Malaysians were not as polite as their Singaporean counterparts.

"In Singapore, they willingly give up their seats on public transport," he said.

He said that despite the higher level of literacy, people seemed to have adopted a less caring attitude.

"In the old days, people were more civic-minded, although they were not as highly educated as today," he added.

Eden Handicap Service Centre assistant unit head S.K. Lee said it was meaningless to be highly educated if one behaved rudely.

"Parking in lots for the disabled and using public toilets meant for such people is very bad and rude behaviour," he said.

Because of the ah nehs, they very notorious there..... wah lau ehh, sibe garang 1, especially the taxi drivers

In George Town, Penang Senior Citizens Association president Lawrence Cheah noted that young Malaysians were not as polite as their Singaporean counterparts.

"In Singapore, they willingly give up their seats on public transport," he said.
Sitting at the seats reserved for needy and pretending to be sleeping is call polite?!

Becos they don't have a "Fined" system & National Courtesy Campaign like ours...

... In George Town, Penang Senior Citizens Association president Lawrence Cheah noted that young Malaysians were not as polite as their Singaporean counterparts.

"In Singapore, they willingly give up their seats on public transport," he said ...
dat fella obviously has not been 2 sinkielan 4 decades ...

all he's having r fine images of sinkielan of yesteryears ... all oredi gone wif ze wind ...

He must be talking about the time when I was still taking MRT.

dat fella obviously has not been 2 sinkielan 4 decades ...

all he's having r fine images of sinkielan of yesteryears ... all oredi gone wif ze wind ...

U should count your lucky stars if those KL duds did not stab u in an armed robbery. Don't even think about courtesy.

you talk about all the shit about KL, then this comes in:

In Singapore, they willingly give up their seats on public transport," he said.

What the fuck is this?

Malaysian got the balls to protest, what about you sinkie motherfuckers?

Wot a load of rubbish. Commuters normally give seats to those who requires it and young guys don't even bother seating if the train is packed.
That Scottish guy was obviously too slow to get out as during peak hours, Keretapi tanah Melayu trains are not so frequent and if you miss one, it's could be a long wait for the next.
But I have to say, these Foreign workers are just too much as they put their feet on the seats etc.

Do you know it's racism to say mudland is not courteous. Only chinese countries deserve this distinction and anyone ygat disagrees is stupid look at how syed putra gives excuses for how tgat ang moh writes but if he was saying that about taiwan he eoukd agree with the ang moh dude.

The ranking is bullshit. Singapore should be the most discourteous. Even Pyongyang is friendly.

nkorea_1369400c.jpg

Been to KL and a number of MY cities. Must say I am fortunate to meet only the kind and polite people. But that was at least 6-7 years ago. Me used to be a regular cheongster in JB and never have any bad experience. Only bad experience was the immigration staff Face Smelly Smelly.

The ranking is bullshit. Singapore should be the most discourteous. Even Pyongyang is friendly.

View attachment 5805

How true indeed.

Yesterday I was at the Macquarie seminar at the NTUC Auditorium. After the seminar, there were some refreshments served. A fucking bitch just couldn't care less and butted in instead of joining the proper queue. And she took a full plate of the egg tarts with her leaving those after her with none left. This fucking bitch was being courteous and considerate you say?

Today, whilst pumping petrol at JB. Another fucking Singaporean couple driving a Mercedes was ahead of me. The nozzle had already triggered and yet the wife still wants to squeeze that little bit more petrol into its tank by CONTINUOUSLY taking in and out the pump nozzle from the fuel lid to check, just exactly like her husband's cock taking in and out of her pussy when fucking. I was thinking: What the fuck? Driving a Mercedes and yet want to save a litre or 2 more for yourself and causing those behind you to wait for another 10 minutes or longer, all because of your bloody selfish action. If there's no queue behind, I don't give a damned even if she takes a whole day to pump her Mercedes. But she needs to be considerate and not to cause unnecessary delays to others behind her in this case. Fucking bastard typical Singaporean selfish and inconsiderate attitude. Finally, I can't stand them anymore and horned and shouted at them to move off fast. Bloody fucking pussy looked very discontented after that. I don't give a fuck to all pussies.

I though Malays are suppose to be nice?

Bro you should know how it is like with some of these ppl. No matter how many nice chinese there are chinese are always stereotyped as rude and inconsiderate. No matter how many rude and violent malays there are malays are always called nice and considerate.

West Coast Highway, Jalan Buruh and Road To Jurong Island - One Of The Most Dangerous In The World.

I have this misfortune of sometimes having to drive to Jalan Buruh.

Rows of empty prime-movers with empty trailers attached wait along these stretch of road to enter into Penjuru Drive.

Honestly, I don't have any objection to this...provided it is orderly in nature.

But no, it is very disorderly and dangerous.

Drivers of such local and Malaysian-registered long vehicles have no respect for "BOX" junctions.

They would always spill into the "BOX" whilst trying to overtake thereby preventing others from turning left into Penjuru Lane, etc..

The journey back towards Keppel Road is even worse.

Prime-movers laden with large containers will zoom up closest to you even if you are in the fast lane.

They disregard the 70 Kmph speed limit on the flyover above Pasir Panjang Road towards Brani Container Terminal.

Their dangerous and "too close for comfort" frightens the wits out of any sane driver.

Our police should get tough on these people by booking them continuously for IRRESPONSIBLE DRIVING.

Punitive action against these drivers Should preferably be Taken By officers In Plainclothes with cameras fitted at the back of their un-marked police vehicle.

Please don't wait for accidents to occur, especially when some careless and dangerous container driver may one day ram into another vehicle and sent both hurtling down onto Pasir Panjang Road leading to disasters.

Act Now Before Its Too Late. Show these people that there is Law In Singapore and the Police Mean Business.

goldsmith robbery up north yesterday at carrefour.

very discourteous.

484620_471056132919237_59411220_n.jpg

msia got lots of 4einers oso ...

now got indons, iranese, pakistanis ...

u noe la ...

Malaysia is gonna regret AGAIN for pursuing such open-door policies for certain nationalities.

They did not seem to learn from the tragic attack on Batu Pahat Police Station in Jalan Pegawai in 1970s, when hordes of Cambodians armed with swords attacked the cops and even wounded a pregnant lady. There were quite a few deaths until this group was defeated.

Mahathir and his Group let in so many Bosnians at the height of the Balkans War.

These Bosnians openly eat and partake alcohol in public even during the Ramadhan month.

The Indonesians are in millions in Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak.

Only when local maidens marry these men and follow them back to Kalimantan or Sumatra, they realise actually who they truly are.

Pakistanis, Iranians, Nigerians and others have their own agenda.

From Malaysia, these people are spilling into South Thailand and instigating the once peaceful people of the Kingdom of Pattani.

Phillippines is having her own problems and dealing with those people.

It will sooner or later happen to other countries too. They better learn from their neighbours.

The phrase "Enrich Thy neighbours" used wrongly.

Malaysia is gonna regret AGAIN for pursuing such open-door policies for certain nationalities.

They did not seem to learn from the tragic attack on Batu Pahat Police Station in Jalan Pegawai in 1970s, when hordes of Cambodians armed with swords attacked the cops and even wounded a pregnant lady. There were quite a few deaths until this group was defeated.

Mahathir and his Group let in so many Bosnians at the height of the Balkans War.

These Bosnians openly eat and partake alcohol in public even during the Ramadhan month.

The Indonesians are in millions in Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak.

Only when local maidens marry these men and follow them back to Kalimantan or Sumatra, they realise actually who they truly are.

Pakistanis, Iranians, Nigerians and others have their own agenda.

From Malaysia, these people are spilling into South Thailand and instigating the once peaceful people of the Kingdom of Pattani.

Phillippines is having her own problems and dealing with those people.

It will sooner or later happen to other countries too. They better learn from their neighbours.

The phrase "Enrich Thy neighbours" used wrongly.

Want to know what is common among all of these nationalities they let in?

They are all muslims.