• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

KNN I think we should start charging $500 for each set of nomination forms

Extremist

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/dLfVRf_6_ds" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

SINGAPORE: In growing signs of a possible multi-cornered fight for Punggol East, more political parties and individuals turned up on Friday at the Elections Department.

Hougang MP Png Eng Huat from the Workers' Party (WP) was accompanied by WP's organising secretary Ng Swee Bee.

They collected one set of nomination forms, and said the candidate would be unveiled in a few days.

Former Singapore People's Party member Mohamad Hamim Aliyas collected one set of nomination forms for another former member of the party, Benjamin Pwee.

Mr Hamim said Mr Pwee is now in Hong Kong, and he will be back soon to decide if he's running as an independent candidate.

The SPP later made it clear that the party does not intend to contest in the Punggol East by-election.

"The Singapore People's Party wishes to state, for the last time, that we do not intend to contest in the Punggol East By-Election, nor have we ever intended to do so" said the statement from SPP's Secretary General, Mr Chiam See Tong.

"We have been consistent on this issue, through statements made since the day the parliamentary seat was vacated on 12 December 2012" said the statement which the SPP pointed out was made "in view of erroneous reports in the mainstream media".

Reporters who have been staking out the Elections Department at Prinsep Street also spotted some familiar faces who dropped by to submit application forms for a Political Donation Certificate.

Among them was Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam, Secretary-General of The Reform Party, and the People's Action Party's (PAP) Alex Yam, MP for Chua Chu Kang.

Mr Jeyaretnam said he collected the nomination forms on Thursday, and told reporters that he will be the candidate if The Reform Party decides to contest.

Mr Jeyaretnam said: "Our only consideration, really, is the welfare of the residents and whether we can do a good job as serving the residents of Punggol East."

PAP's Mr Yam said: "I think the choice is for the voters to decide. It doesn't matter how many people are contesting, as long as all of them are out to provide an alternative platform that voters are attracted to."

Singapore Democratic Alliance (SDA) member, Mr Jamal, submitted the political donation forms on behalf of Mr Desmond Lim and Mr Harminder Singh.

He added that the chosen candidate will be revealed "on Nomination Day itself".

sounds like a good idea but jokers wouldn't be deterred :p:p:p

I can't believe so many parties are actually interested in the "welfare" of a bunch of obnoxious sinkie losers.

Sinkies deserve the PAP and the PAP deserves them. The party and the electorate are alike as two peas in a pod. It's a match made in heaven.

I can't believe so many parties are actually interested in the "welfare" of a bunch of obnoxious sinkie losers.

Sinkies deserve the PAP and the PAP deserves them. The party and the electorate are alike as two peas in a pod. It's a match made in heaven.

match made in heaven between two losers

good point _ upp youu

For a moment I mistaken the above as Tony's post.

WP = Teochew Clan Association

You mean that he should get into the foray for nothing ? Having so many oppo parties will confuse the voters as well as dividing the total number of votes for anti-PAP votes.

There's nothing to gain but more to lose - bad reputation for being a sabo king. SDP is different as it targets the younger voters and the educated lot. WP ? Punggol East is no Teochew village ?

I think the fee is for the purchase of the electoral register. the nomination forms are available on the Election Dept's website.
These people just want some airtime.

It is good to know that many parties collected the nomination forms, have a look at all the information that is required there and be ready for it even though it could be needed only 3 years further down the road.

Folks can collect as many forms as they wish.

When they submit their forms, they will need to put in a hefty 5 figure $ deposit. If they don't get sufficient votes, their deposits will be confiscated.

Why charge $500 for each set of nomination forms? This will only make the government richer.

You sure they even actually care?