Key Element Missing in Salary Review Terms of Reference

THERE IS SILENCE ON THE NEED TO COMPARE OUR MINISTERS' SALARIES WITH THE REST OF THE WORLD, which is the main grouse of Singaporeans. So, let's not get too excited about the review yet.

It is also well and good to hear from Gerald Ee that certain expenses (like security detail) are paid for by the respective ministers. Precisely the reason why we have been asking for transparency.

Also, I think it is time for Gerald and Committee to ensure that we should not be making inferences that countries which pay their ministers less are more likely to be corrupted. It is not very diplomatic nor polite, apart from the fact that the statement is not quite true nor all en-compassing.

Review of their pay package is a good time to make potential ministers realize that if they want to earn big $$$, they shouldn't have join politics...

LKY is currently in china, who is paying for his security and docs traveling with him also who else is on the free trip. We need answers, you believe that the security is paid by them, the security is govt employee.

the perimeter should include

1. minimum wage for ministers that will keep them clean
2. minimum wage for ministers to maintain a presentable image
3. minimum wage for minsters to serve the people

I don't think we want a market subsidised salaried minister but a compassionate minister who is willing to serve the public without the million dollars salary.

If LHL stil cannot understand this and Gerard Ee is trying to justify the high salary like Price Waterhouse did in the past, the next election will reflect the consequences.

This is not a threat to LHL, it is a promise

I think strange that sinkies kpkb say rich poor divide too much. Then the ministar salary you all want tp peg here peg there but no peg to this divide? Use the gini coefficient lah!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gini_coefficient

I thinking can use this gini thing. And maybe also peg to Singapore gini ranking. The higher our ranking, the less pay they get also. Very simple right?