• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jollibee attracts long lines in SG despite boycott threat

[h=2]Jollibee attracts long lines in SG despite boycott threat[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
March 13th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Online Press

031213_Jollibee2-300x199.jpg
Jollibee opened its first branch in Singapore on Tuesday (March 12). / Photo by Dudi Aureus

(12 Mar) – Popular fast food chain Jollibee has opened a branch in Singapore on Tuesday despite the threat of boycott by some Singaporeans who assailed the restaurant’s alleged preference for Filipino workers.
Jollibee’s newest branch is located on the 6th floor of Lucky Plaza along Orchard Road in Singapore.
Some Filipinos decided to line up early before the store opened just to be the very first customers to eat at the branch.
But while the opening seemed successful, a campaign to boycott the restaurant was already online in the past few weeks.
In the website of The Real Singapore (Voices of average Singaporeans), a post urged Singaporeans to boycott the Jollibee there “to send a message that foreign businesses which hire foreigners first are not welcome in Singapore”.
The issue started when Jollibee Singapore posted a message on its Facebook wall urging all “Jollibee fans” looking for careers at Jollibee Singapore to send their detailed resume. However, there is no mention on Jollibee Singapore’s Facebook page that it was only hiring Filipinos for its store.
“Unlike other multi-national fastfood restaurants like Macdonalds (sic) and KFC which hire mainly Singaporeans and even the disabled and elderly, Jollibee Singapore intends to hire their fellow Pinoys to fill up jobs in their latest Singapore venture,” the post on The Real Singapore said.
More in: http://www.abs-cbnnews.com/global-f...s-long-lines-singapore-despite-boycott-threat

Read more at http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/03/1...s-in-sg-despite-boycott-threat/#ixzz2NQgLMqNf
Under Creative Commons License: Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives
Follow us: TREmeritus on Facebook

u have a big pinoy population here to support their national brand, no big deal even if the queue stretches to the causeway

When it comes to food, Sinkies will always be in the queue..

I rather spend my $10 on my favorite fishball noodle..

Sorry, really I dunno huh.

Simi LJ food si Jollibee?

u have a big pinoy population here to support their national brand, no big deal even if the queue stretches to the causeway

if only pinoys makan here, it's ok if they hire only pinoys.................end up Sinkie boss make money mah.............

Spore is a food paradise:D

In a few months time after the novelty has worn out Jollibee will be old news. Then the real competition with MacD, KFC,..plus high rentals will begin.

Not sure if they will have many branches but the Indonesian have their Ayam Penyet, the Bumese the restaurants at Peninsula Plaza, ... There are many filippinos in Spore that aren't too fussy about taste & they need to congregate somewhere so why not at Jollibee.

The stark reality is that people can say anything online, and exhort people to do this and that, but offline things happen at a 180 degree variance.

It's pretty obvious that the majority of sinkies have no problems with Pinoys and the hiring policies of companies that prefer FT.

Only the loonies in this forum seem to take issue with every trivial issue no matter how insignificant it may be in the grand scheme of things.

Boycotted only by 40% of the nationalistic population! The other 60% plus flippers still make up well over 70% of the total population!

sinkies are responsible for majority of lines on this planet. :D

The stark reality is that people can say anything online, and exhort people to do this and that, but offline things happen at a 180 degree variance.

That is why I'm confident that the PAP will be returned with a huge majority in 2016.

I think many Sporeans will be ready for change in the next GE. Many baby boomers desperately need their CPF because of the rising costs. For many younger Sporeans it's become a rice bowl issue. I use to hear about the mythical social contract that the PAP supposedly had with Sporeans, votes for jobs. Nowadays I doubt anybody believes that the PAP really cares.

Boycotted only by 40% of the nationalistic population! The other 60% plus flippers still make up well over 70% of the total population!

Yes sinkies are 'apolitical' and 'pragmatic' as pap puts it.
To outsiders sinkies are dumbfucks sheep.