Jamban finally say something good in Parliament

Lee Bee Wah on foreign labour and transport

SINGAPORE: MP for Nee Soon GRC, Lee Bee Wah said in Parliament that the budget's call to improve productivity is a step in the right direction, but also asked the government to re-examine its policies.

She cited the building of the rail network and tenders for HDB, as examples of how Singapore has relied heavily on foreign labour.

She added that this would have an adverse long-term effect on the construction industry.

Dr Lee also touched on Singapore's public transportation system.

She called on the government to ask public transport operators hold bus fares for the next 10 years or more, and for concession fares for polytechnic students.

She also called for better salaries and working conditions for bus drivers.

"We have been building MRT projects for the last 20 to 30 years. Besides spending money on building the infrastructure, did we put in deliberate efforts to build up the local expertise? How many local constructors have gained experience and is there anyone who can go out to compete for jobs overseas? I would say there's none," she said.

- CNA/cc

Lee Bee Wah on foreign labour and transport

SINGAPORE: MP for Nee Soon GRC, Lee Bee Wah said in Parliament that the budget's call to improve productivity is a step in the right direction, but also asked the government to re-examine its policies.

She cited the building of the rail network and tenders for HDB, as examples of how Singapore has relied heavily on foreign labour.

She added that this would have an adverse long-term effect on the construction industry.

Dr Lee also touched on Singapore's public transportation system.

She called on the government to ask public transport operators hold bus fares for the next 10 years or more, and for concession fares for polytechnic students.

She also called for better salaries and working conditions for bus drivers.

"We have been building MRT projects for the last 20 to 30 years. Besides spending money on building the infrastructure, did we put in deliberate efforts to build up the local expertise? How many local constructors have gained experience and is there anyone who can go out to compete for jobs overseas? I would say there's none," she said.

- CNA/cc

This one I have to agree. Singaporean learn nothing. Always Ah Moh, Japan,Korea and now China come and build big project. See the Staidum , MRT, Airport. ........................

1. tsk tsk tsk!
2. when did the big mouther turn doc leh?
3. honest, it is just some plain wayang!
4. sheep from the same herd playing, acting or poking at each other at no cost.
5. no impact, biz as usual the very next day!
6. blah, blah and more blah.
7. if it is so into it for its people, it could have raised the topic anytime too!
8. not only on the tv or budget time.

Sinkies so used to MPs talking rubbish that when once in a blue moon see see someone talking some sense already happy like fuck.

It's just wayang, nothing out of ordinary she's supposed to be doing her job

Sinkies so used to MPs talking rubbish that when once in a blue moon see see someone talking some sense already happy like fuck.

It's just wayang, nothing out of ordinary she's supposed to be doing her job

Sigh..... I have to agree............. :(

1. such topics & items raised are so well rehearsed & positioned.
2. likewise, the shitty media is equally useless & non-confrontational.
3. accepts & printed every damn items from sheep's mouth!

OMG... now she's Er Dr Lee ... how many titles does she want?

http://www.parliament.gov.sg/mp/lee-bee-wah?viewcv=Er Dr Lee Bee Wah

Educational Qualifications
1967-1972 PSLE (Kiow Min Chinese Primary) (Malaysia)
1973-1973 (Sekolah Dato' Dol Said) (Malaysia)
1974-1978 'O' Level (Notre Dame Convent) (Malacca)
1979-1980 'A' Level (Gajah Berang) (Malacca)
1981-1982 National University of Singapore
1982-1985 Bachelor of Engineering (Civil), Nanyang Technological University of Singapore
1989-1990 Master of Science (Engineering), University of Liverpool (United Kingdom)
2011 Honorary Degree of Doctor of Engineering, University of Liverpool (United Kingdom)

... "We have been building MRT projects for the last 20 to 30 years. Besides spending money on building the infrastructure, did we put in deliberate efforts to build up the local expertise? How many local constructors have gained experience and is there anyone who can go out to compete for jobs overseas? I would say there's none," she said ...
u small fries, kucing-kurap, private constructor tok about wat compete jobs overseas? ... u shud b happy wif ze crumbs dat fall thru ze finger cracks of glcs ... leave big jobs 2 glcs manned by gahmen elites ...