• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It is tough to be an old person in Singapore.

SNAblog

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/5/5/nation/8609851&sec=nation

Thursday May 5, 2011
An old problem for Singapore
SHAHANAAZ HABIB reporting from Singapore

Aging citizens find life harder as foreigners and youths take over.

It is tough to be an old person in Singapore. Leong (not his real name) found this out when he turned 63 and retired.

He has an MBA, a CPA and had worked most of his adult life as a finance manager in a huge organisation in Singapore, but after retirement, he could not find another job.

“I am actually someone that some people might call a millionaire because I stay in a landed property, drive a big car and have quite a bit of savings.

“But when I try to apply for a job at my age, nobody wants to employ me because they say I am too qualified,” said Leong, who speaks three languages - English, Malay and Mandarin - fluently and also has a certificate in education.

n_pg32chukang.jpg

He feels that it is such a waste that the Government encourages foreign talent from other countries, but does not make use of local talent and expertise after they have passed the retirement age.

“I feel unwanted. It's as if my experience doesn't count,” he confessed.

Leong said he has kept the minimum of $70,000 (RM169,623) in the Central Provident Fund (CPF) which gives him $400 (RM970) each month but that is not enough to live on in Singapore.

“Prices keep going up.

“My wife and I stopped going to fancy restaurants once I retired. But even with just the basics, we need $2,000 (RM4,850) each month for food, bills and transport and I have to keep drawing from my savings.

“I am lucky in the sense that I have savings but there are many in my age-group who are really suffering because they have little or none.

The (PAP) Government has failed totally to plan, on this part, for my generation.

“They started advising the people on financial planning really late, so people of my generation are actually in trouble,” Leong said.

He insisted that he was not anti-PAP but was worried about what would happen if he and his wife lived to 83 or more and used up all of their savings.

Foreign workers, rising prices and cost of living, CPF, increasing the age of retirement and a lack of solid support system for the elderly are among the issues in the run-up to Saturday's general election.

Leong and his wife Angie were so concerned about these issues that they showed up at the National Solidarity Party (NSP) rally at Chua Chu Kang on Tuesday night.

Angie (not her real name) used to be a teacher but she retired on medical grounds before the age of 50 because she had bone problems.

Now at the age of 64, she feels fit and physically better than she ever did.

But the Ministry of Education (MOE) refused to employ her because she had quit 15 years earlier for medical reasons.

“I can do much better than many of the young teachers but they only want to employ these young teachers.

“The MOE is bringing in a lot of teachers from China and many are using Singapore as a springboard to get their PR and then leave for the US or Australia.

“I met some of these foreign talent' teachers and they can't handle the students in Singapore,” said Angie, who does some relief teaching in schools.

For Angie and Leong, working is important to keep their minds active and for some “pocket money.”

While retired professionals like Leong and Angie face problems securing employment, older people in Singapore who are less educated seem to be able to find blue collar jobs.

It is not uncommon to see Singaporeans in their 60s, 70s and 80s sweeping streets, working in fast food restaurants and as cleaners.

Although Singapore is a young country, its low birth rates means that by 2030, one of five residents would be over 65.

And despite the 14.5% growth in the economy last year, CPF only paid an interest rate of 2.5% to contributors, which had people grumbling about the low returns, especially when the inflation rate was at 5%.

They worry that they won't have enough left for their retirement.

At a recent rally, corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao, who spent 30 years abroad and is the Workers Party candidate for the Aljunied group constituency, said the Government should be more sensible about bringing in foreign talent.

Chen said the huge numbers of foreign workers depressed the wages of Singaporeans and even displaced locals from their jobs.

He took to task the Government for constantly upping the retirement age and making it difficult for Singaporeans to benefit from its economic success and “live a dignified life.”

“The goal post keeps moving back and back and you keep dribbling, but young foreign players keep tackling the ball away,” he said.

... And despite the 14.5% growth in the economy last year, CPF only paid an interest rate of 2.5% to contributors, which had people grumbling about the low returns, especially when the inflation rate was at 5%.

They worry that they won't have enough left for their retirement ...
dat loon burger juz gave himself n his jin gang 8 mths bonus woh! ...

u tink dat loon burger is interested in putting moni in ur pocket or his own pocket? ... :confused:

u die ur biz! ... :rolleyes:

These are the same people that used to have an undying support for the PAP, now find themselves, abandoned, marginalized, neglected & left to die. But, their "icon" had said sorry!:rolleyes:

What else can they(these Old People that supported PAP) expect? They let the Genie out of the Bottle, but now that they are old, poor and weak and of no further use to the Genie, the Genie just kick them aside to let them fend for themselves, let them pick cardboard and collect discarded newspapers off the street. :(

their icon had said 'solly if ... ' ...

but their probs remain ... abandoned, marginalized, neglected & left 2 die ... :(

Many, many years ago I remember warning people, they would regrets supporting the millionaires in the PAP. Way back then there were already abuses:(

What to do some people must learn the hard way that you don't deal with the devil:rolleyes:

1. probably, the old couple could try wait at the local coffeeshops to pass time.
2. yes, being old and retired in sheepishland is a death sentence, lost and forgotten!
3. this is our world-crass!

Many, many years ago I remember warning people, they would regrets supporting the millionaires in the PAP. Way back then there were already abuses:(

What to do some people must learn the hard way that you don't deal with the devil:rolleyes:

The old couple, whose wife was a former teacher is not telling the truth also, calling a spade a spade. She would be entitled to pension, even she is medically boarded out, unless STU played her out. ( Singapore Teacher's Union).

1. probably, the old couple could try wait at the local coffeeshops to pass time.
2. yes, being old and retired in sheepishland is a death sentence, lost and forgotten!
3. this is our world-crass!

The upgrade for them would be ,sweeping the floors, clearing the tables, helping out at the food stalls. One relative of mine around that age (60 +) was offered a job helping out in a food stall for $500 working 12 hours...and that stall owners run two stalls in the same place...these are the stall owners complain to the MIW's that SINgaporean's shun work...even the older folks!!!

Leong said he has kept the minimum of $70,000 (RM169,623) in the Central Provident Fund (CPF) which gives him $400 (RM970) each month but that is not enough to live on in Singapore.

cpf minimum sum is $70,000 ? and the payout is $400 ?

i thought the min sum is $123,000.

I can relate to your story Sir. My Late Dad who just passed on has been a Loyal PAP Supporter and even knowing he is dying due to stage 4 Cancer insisted I bring him to the AMK RC to renew his membership, can you imagine his loyalty. He used to be a staunch party representative when serving NTUC Union whilst working for PSA. But his only regret was he is unable to move around freely as there is no feeder service near my place which is near Deyi Sec School. To make matters worst my Mum who has been wheelchaired bound for the past 20 years have diffiuclty manouvering out of our estate with the wheel chair or sufficient support for my aged dad to hold onto when we go for their frequent Medical Checkups. He wrote to the MPs but all fell on deaf ears. My question is why can't will use the Technology we have to built a sensor system at a centralised place on minor roads or a tel number to call for Bus Services to ply the abandoned estate for a quick or free transport. Is this really to much to ask for Singaporeans who faithfully and undyingly gave their support in building Singapore. Then I fear for my time when we retire which is not far off or the future of our Children or grand children...What have we done to deserve this. Why give us empty promises and cannot reply. Why? why? Anyway my Dad died a sad and disappointed Man. LKY knows my Dad sadly...:(

These are the stubbon ass holes that die die must stay in Sg even if they are treated like crap. If he really is that rich just rent out/ sell out his house, draw out whatever savings he so called claimed he got and move up north as adviced by that cow of a MP and just die lah!

At 60, he can start his own account firm. Plus management consultancy. No need to hire clerk unless lots of work. Most jobs will be easy peasy one that gets just a few hundred but should keep you going. Once in a while some big firm may hire as they dowan big banks to know their problems.

He has an MBA, a CPA and had worked most of his adult life as a finance manager in a huge organisation in Singapore, but after retirement, he could not find another job.
KNN are all these ex finance mgr sick in their mind ? KNN after leetirement still need to find a job and stay in big house with big car KNN only $70k in cpf after working most of his adult life as finance mgr KNN where all his money goes to ? KNN keep and keep stingy to use ah KNN

Children's education mostly. Plus their upbringing.

The old person who started this thread almost a decade ago may already have been relieved of his suffering by the grim reaper.

SNAblog
Joined Mar 9, 2009
Last seen Jul 19, 2015

At 60, he can start his own account firm. Plus management consultancy. No need to hire clerk unless lots of work. Most jobs will be easy peasy one that gets just a few hundred but should keep you going. Once in a while some big firm may hire as they dowan big banks to know their problems.

Finance manager = old clerk

:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown: