• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Desmond shutting down escalators in MRT stations to save costs?

Last Monday, I made one of my irregular trips on the MRT. I entered Eunos Stn in the late morning and one of the escaltors was closed “for maintenance”. I returned home via another route partly to avoid walking down the stairs on the return journey

Last Friday, I again took the MRT from Eunos Stn. Guess what? The escalator was still closed for “for maintenance”. When I made the return trip (wanted to eat at a great but expensive Malay food stall at Eunos Hawkers’ centre: stall always asking why I don’t eat more regularly and I explain to them I don’t use the MRT that often), several hours later, the escalator was still not working.

Err how to expect train services not to be disrupted (five already this yr according to TRE*) if cannot even repair or service escalator within five days? But to be fair, maybe engineers too busy repairing tracks etc to bother about escalator. Got to prioritise everything, according to jnr tpt minister Jos Teo.

I will have to again use the MRT from Eunos this Wednesday and then the following Monday (yah lot of travelling these few weeks: pushing my luck leh), and I’ll keep readers informed.

Meanwhile, avoid the stock. It’s going to take huge fare rises to make it a gd dividend yielding stock again because it needs to spend more, a lot more to get (and then keep) the trains running on time. With an election likely in 2015, these fare increases are unlikely http://atans1.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/why-a-2015-ge-is-now-more-probable/

Meanwhile, I wish MRT users a disruption free day, though the odds are rising against this probability.

Thinking about it, SMRT may have closed one of the Eunos escalators to save money as per this story about the London MRT (tube) system.....

- http://atans1.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/another-reason-why-smrt-sucks/

They shutdown the escalator to prevent people from falling down escalator my niece said.

Maybe all the maintenance staff are foreigners & have balek kampong for the CNY:confused:

I heard they ran out of cable ties.

No, he is shutting down the escalators because he read what laksaboy suggested in this forum, that we should all use the concrete staircase to enhance our fitness. Next step (no pun intended) is to try guessing his internet moniker. :p

Desmond *thinks* it might have something about allowing kids to plug intothe socket when charging their phones......

fuck you la SMRT if you dont want people to use it then lock it up ccb!!!

is that all you are good for? fucking around with kids and cant even do your fucking job such as getting the trains moving,....right?????

Yes it's quite common nowadays to see escalators not working at various stations. There was one at circle line paya lebar stn down for almost a week.

I was at the Tanjong Pagar Stn the other day. I entered from the peck seah st entrance and there were only up escalators. To get to the train platform, I had to descend a long flight of steps. Outside there was a sign that pointed to elevators, but because the station seems to be undergoing renovations for already God knows how long, if you follow the direction, you will end up against a blank plaster wall. You follow another sign and you walk thru the mall, you again come up against another wall and nowhere are the elevators to be seen. Imagine if you or your family has a wheelchair bound person, on walking stick, or has knee problems, how do you get home?

And this is the GRC of that great septagenarian and his sycophants! Nothing works.

Shutting down trains not enuff must shut down escalators too oh no , PTC din raise fares enuff to cover costs

The main issue here is:In the first place,Desmond should be allotted to the
Army/SAF.What the fark is he doing in SMRT ???
SMRT a dumping ground for dispensable like tissue paper n good for nothing
chob Boh lan jobless ex-generals ???
KNNCCB to the MIW !!!!!!!!!

They shutdown the escalator to prevent people from falling down escalator my niece said.

Do they need to put on mandatory, safety helmet, safety boots, safety goggles, & safety belt, before they use the escalators??

I was at the Tanjong Pagar Stn the other day. I entered from the peck seah st entrance and there were only up escalators. To get to the train platform, I had to descend a long flight of steps. Outside there was a sign that pointed to elevators, but because the station seems to be undergoing renovations for already God knows how long, if you follow the direction, you will end up against a blank plaster wall. You follow another sign and you walk thru the mall, you again come up against another wall and nowhere are the elevators to be seen. Imagine if you or your family has a wheelchair bound person, on walking stick, or has knee problems, how do you get home?

And this is the GRC of that great septagenarian and his sycophants! Nothing works.

Why couldn't you afford that Porsche?? or else you would be smelling like roses!! ha ha ha

Yes correct. Is very dangeroud to take old line MRT escalator. Just ride on it can easily feel vibration and noise. Accident waiting to happen.
Last year alone at least 10 case incident have some with minor injury some very serious injury.

Maintenance to escalator and MRT track differrent group so not related. Unless cutting cost manpower not enough.
Already more than 20 year old escalator. Is time to replace it with new one.
If not just pray when ever taking escalator.

Yes correct. Is very dangeroud to take old line MRT escalator. Just ride on it can easily feel vibration and noise. Accident waiting to happen.
Last year alone at least 10 case incident have some with minor injury some very serious injury.

Maintenance to escalator and MRT track differrent group so not related. Unless cutting cost manpower not enough.
Already more than 20 year old escalator. Is time to replace it with new one.
If not just pray when ever taking escalator.

Obese people should be encouraged to use the lift instead of the escalator. ;)

Des Desmond is an amazing fella. He loves mazes - so he wants his passengers to have a pleasant experience. At the same time, this ensures that not all the passengers to get onto the train at the same time and causing breakdowns. Speaking of mazes, Blur Jo Teo is also amazing - coming up with this brilliant concept of incompetence by justifying it on the fact that no train system can take the load if all the passengers decide to take the train at the same time.

Sounds like my nephew in Primary 3.

Saved his lanjiao. He worried escalators broke down or shut them down first is it?

Do they need to put on mandatory, safety helmet, safety boots, safety goggles, & safety belt, before they use the escalators??

This is indeed necessary for the escalator at buona vista interchange. The escalator is super high, once fell probably cannot survive

I better put this in writing before they use it.

"The power supply to the escalator was tripped by irresponsible individuals using the electrical socket in the station to charge their phone. The frequency of "withdrawal" of the escalators shows the severity of the problem caused by illegal usage of electrical sockets..

Yet no one kpkb to the smrt staff?No wonder its down for sometime:D