• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Insufficient to retire not only in Singapore but in Malaysia : EPF

lifeafter41

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 5 ― Malaysia may be headed for a retirement crisis as tens of thousands of Malaysians depart the workforce for their golden years with less savings than is needed to keep them out of poverty.

According to recent figures from the Employees Provident Fund (EPF), the approximately 70,000 active 54-year-old contributors have an average savings of just under RM167,000 last year. The recommended minimum savings level is RM196,800.

The situation is made more alarming by the revelation that 69 per cent of all EPF contributors of the same age have less than RM50,000 in their accounts, as made known by the fund’s chief executive, Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan, last month.But even RM167,000 is scant consolation. As the average Malaysian expected to live until 75, retiring at 60 with that amount would mean surviving on just RM700 a month for the rest of their days.

With that amount, retirees would technically slip below the RM830 per month threshold that is indicative of poverty conditions in peninsular Malaysia, based on the Statistics Department’s poverty line income (PLI) for 2012.

According to Harveston Wealth Management financial adviser Annie Hor, a nest egg of RM167,000 could be made to last, but only if the retiree is completely free of debt and need not pay for accommodation.

“Otherwise you would be suffering a bit because if you just want a simple life, with three meals a day, maybe just get from point A to point B, petrol, you would need at least RM1,000 to 2,000 per month because, not forgetting when you are older, medical bills are expensive,” she told Malay Mail Online recently.

She added that her 60-year-old mother needs at least RM2,000 to get by in the city, even with her simple lifestyle.

‘It’s quite worrying’

The concern with low retirement savings is compounded by the fact that it is the only significant form of savings for most Malaysians, due to rising cost of living and wage stagnation.

Hor said that currently only about 10 to 20 per cent of Malaysians are considering non-mandatory retirement savings and investments to supplement their EPF contributions.

“It's quite worrying. That's why we are here to educate as much as possible that they have to start planning, be it how small, start it because it's discipline. Once you get it rolling, then you will continue,” she said.

While many target to begin saving when their incomes grow, Hor pointed out that spending invariably expands to match available funds as many get tempted by the latest gadgets, holidays, and other extras.

“My theory is you should have some life and some style also but not to that extent, you need to have a balance,” she said.

How much do you actually need?

To estimate how much one needs for retirement, Hor said it is necessary to determine one’s monthly expenses sans loan instalments ― assuming the individual is debt-free by retirement--and to increase this by 5 per cent annually to factor for inflation.

This sum is then multiplied by 15, based on a retirement age is at 60 and the average life expectancy of 75.

“But what I establish with the client is not worry about the figure but start looking at where your existing resources is and how can you can start planning, because you have 30 years, so it’s easier to plan, rather than at 50, you only have 10 more years, that's tough,” she said.

Meanwhile, Private Pension Administrator (PPA) chief executive officer Datuk Steve Ong said the rule of thumb is to ensure that one has two-thirds of the last drawn salary to maintain one’s lifestyle past the retirement age.

“To put it simply, if a person is drawing a monthly salary of RM6,000 prior to retirement, he or she will need about RM4,000 as his monthly retirement income to enjoy the same quality of life which the person has been accustomed to,” he said.

This requires an individual to put aside the equivalent of at least one third of his salary every month.

As daunting as that sounds, Ong pointed out that most workers already have what amounts to 23 per cent of their salary going into their EPF ― 11 per cent from the individual and 13 per cent from the employers.

“As such, the gap we need to address is 10 per cent, which the public can now contribute to the PRS (Private Retirement Scheme),” he told Malay Mail Online over an e-mail interview.

PPA provides the central administration for the PRS, which was introduced in 2012 as a voluntary long-term investment scheme for retirement savings, which is currently eligible for up to RM3,000 in annual tax relief.

Since the launch of the first PRS fund on October 31, 2012, there are now over 96,000 PRS members with assets under management totalling RM475 million, he added.

The government also rolled out the PRS Youth Incentive to encourage those between the ages of 20 and 30 to set up accounts by depositing a RM500 one-off incentive into each account that amasses a minimum of RM1,000 in a year.

EPF’s initiatives to increase retirement savings

On its part, the EPF has implemented measures to enhance members' retirement savings, such as the mandatory 13 per cent employer's contribution for those earning under RM5,000 monthly, the standard is 12 per cent, and flexible Age 55 Withdrawal that allows members to choose lump-sum withdrawal, partial removal of funds, or a monthly payment.
In July, the EPF also introduced its Retirement Advisory Service (RAS) at the Jalan Raja Laut, Kuala Lumpur and Jalan Gasing, Petaling Jaya branches, which offers free advice and impartial guidance to members on how they can make vital decisions about their EPF savings and make their money last longer throughout their golden years.

Meanwhile, it also has the 1 Malaysia Retirement Savings Scheme for those who are self-employed who can contribute voluntarily based on what they can afford.

‘Once it’s finished, how am I going to get more money?’

Retiree Subramaniam Ramasamy, 66, said he had RM200,000 when he retired at 60. His monthly expenses are about RM1,200.

He told Malay Mail Online that he gets by because his house mortgage was paid off from his EPF funds, he does not own a car and his live-in daughter pays two-thirds of the household expenses.

His wife, who has always been a homemaker, sometimes supplements their income by cooking for other families, while his daughter provides them transportation when she is able, though the couple mostly travel by bus.

“We can spend about RM5,000 a month if we wanted, of course, but once it’s finished, how am I going to get more money?” he said.

At the very least, EPF do allow for lump sum withdrawal. Malaysia boleh!!!

rushifa666

What a stupid study. Expenses are calculated based on a national average. If you make money and you spend in the countryside, of course you can retire. If they based their studies in city expenditure rate, of course they'll say no one can retire. That's the same everywhere. And if you still insist on city life after retirement then you deserve it

It's worst in Spore since you can't even withdraw their CPF.

I wonder what will happen when Sporeans reach 65? Will they find that they have to wait again or find out that there is nothing left of their CPF:confused:

u guys have no idea what countryside in malaysia means.....the whole of malaysia is already a countryside ....let me tell u this,i want to live in australia,australia is paradise....singapore is a ghetto compared to australia,malaysia is a countryside compared to Singapore even the cities.....

let me tell u this,being in malaysia city is like taking a time warp 30 years back to colonial days.....the technology is probably 10 years behind and the infrastructure and buildings is like 30 years behind compared to any australian or singapore city,the malaysia today looks like the same goddam malaysia when u went there as a kid in the 1990s or late 80s.....

now when u talk about the "countryside" in malaysia ur talking about a absolute hellhole,long deserted roads in the middle of nowhere surrounded by miles and miles of plantations and jungles......the only amenities or "retail" shops around is a dilapidated wooden hut which serves as the "kampong" fishing shop and aquarium store,the other sorry ass looking building is a 90 year old shop house kopitiam that sees maybe 3 person a day in this godforsaken kampong.....the only residential buildings around are freaking kampong shacks with corrugated iron roofs.....u can forget about hot water or electricity or running water half the time......the toilet is those old fashioned squatting toilets and cement floors......u bathe with a pail from a well.....fucking hell those kampong houses make ur grandmother's old hdb flat in tiong bahru look like a 5 star hotel.....i rather fucking be homeless in melbourne or perth than live in freaking malaysia countryside.muthafarking hell at least if im homeless in australia i still can get free wifi and enough change for a angus beef burger at mcdonalds.

rushifa666

you must be mad if you think people retire in places where they draw from a well. you are an extremist. then you might as well move into a hut in the forests of sabah

no one said u have to retire in places where they draw from a well,but the article is suggesting u go retire in malaysian "countryside" and thats how countryside mudlaysians live like.....in a shitty ass buttfuck kampong.

Regardless of country, if you don't plan for your retirement, you're going to end up with insufficient funds.

Retirees in NZ where there is a universal superannuation scheme face problems paying their bills too. Many cannot even afford to heat their homes in winter and end up catching winter chills and dying of pneumonia.

If you want a comfortable retirement, you have to start planning for it from the age of 30. If you wait till the twilight of your career, it will be far too late.

kaipoh

Boss Sam, don't worry if you are in the shit state come back to sinkapore, I let you stay free in my maid room (Fully Air-con with attached toilet and separate entrance type) in a porch condo - Ardmore Park. your meals on the house for life but you must recommend good girl for me.

Regardless of country, if you don't plan for your retirement, you're going to end up with insufficient funds.

Retirees in NZ where there is a universal superannuation scheme face problems paying their bills too. Many cannot even afford to heat their homes in winter and end up catching winter chills and dying of pneumonia.

If you want a comfortable retirement, you have to start planning for it from the age of 30. If you wait till the twilight of your career, it will be far too late.

kaipoh

FYI joint my Housing Agency guaranteed 1 year retrenchment benefit $1,000/-, 10 years - $10,000/-. Min. qualification clocked sales of $60K/yr, free accident and medical benefits. Apply thru sammyboy forum.

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 5 ― Malaysia may be headed for a retirement crisis as tens of thousands of Malaysians depart the workforce for their golden years with less savings than is needed to keep them out of poverty.

According to recent figures from the Employees Provident Fund (EPF), the approximately 70,000 active 54-year-old contributors have an average savings of just under RM167,000 last year. The recommended minimum savings level is RM196,800.

The situation is made more alarming by the revelation that 69 per cent of all EPF contributors of the same age have less than RM50,000 in their accounts, as made known by the fund’s chief executive, Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan, last month.But even RM167,000 is scant consolation. As the average Malaysian expected to live until 75, retiring at 60 with that amount would mean surviving on just RM700 a month for the rest of their days.

With that amount, retirees would technically slip below the RM830 per month threshold that is indicative of poverty conditions in peninsular Malaysia, based on the Statistics Department’s poverty line income (PLI) for 2012.

According to Harveston Wealth Management financial adviser Annie Hor, a nest egg of RM167,000 could be made to last, but only if the retiree is completely free of debt and need not pay for accommodation.

“Otherwise you would be suffering a bit because if you just want a simple life, with three meals a day, maybe just get from point A to point B, petrol, you would need at least RM1,000 to 2,000 per month because, not forgetting when you are older, medical bills are expensive,” she told Malay Mail Online recently.

She added that her 60-year-old mother needs at least RM2,000 to get by in the city, even with her simple lifestyle.

‘It’s quite worrying’

The concern with low retirement savings is compounded by the fact that it is the only significant form of savings for most Malaysians, due to rising cost of living and wage stagnation.

Hor said that currently only about 10 to 20 per cent of Malaysians are considering non-mandatory retirement savings and investments to supplement their EPF contributions.

“It's quite worrying. That's why we are here to educate as much as possible that they have to start planning, be it how small, start it because it's discipline. Once you get it rolling, then you will continue,” she said.

While many target to begin saving when their incomes grow, Hor pointed out that spending invariably expands to match available funds as many get tempted by the latest gadgets, holidays, and other extras.

“My theory is you should have some life and some style also but not to that extent, you need to have a balance,” she said.

How much do you actually need?

To estimate how much one needs for retirement, Hor said it is necessary to determine one’s monthly expenses sans loan instalments ― assuming the individual is debt-free by retirement--and to increase this by 5 per cent annually to factor for inflation.

This sum is then multiplied by 15, based on a retirement age is at 60 and the average life expectancy of 75.

“But what I establish with the client is not worry about the figure but start looking at where your existing resources is and how can you can start planning, because you have 30 years, so it’s easier to plan, rather than at 50, you only have 10 more years, that's tough,” she said.

Meanwhile, Private Pension Administrator (PPA) chief executive officer Datuk Steve Ong said the rule of thumb is to ensure that one has two-thirds of the last drawn salary to maintain one’s lifestyle past the retirement age.

“To put it simply, if a person is drawing a monthly salary of RM6,000 prior to retirement, he or she will need about RM4,000 as his monthly retirement income to enjoy the same quality of life which the person has been accustomed to,” he said.

This requires an individual to put aside the equivalent of at least one third of his salary every month.

As daunting as that sounds, Ong pointed out that most workers already have what amounts to 23 per cent of their salary going into their EPF ― 11 per cent from the individual and 13 per cent from the employers.

“As such, the gap we need to address is 10 per cent, which the public can now contribute to the PRS (Private Retirement Scheme),” he told Malay Mail Online over an e-mail interview.

PPA provides the central administration for the PRS, which was introduced in 2012 as a voluntary long-term investment scheme for retirement savings, which is currently eligible for up to RM3,000 in annual tax relief.

Since the launch of the first PRS fund on October 31, 2012, there are now over 96,000 PRS members with assets under management totalling RM475 million, he added.

The government also rolled out the PRS Youth Incentive to encourage those between the ages of 20 and 30 to set up accounts by depositing a RM500 one-off incentive into each account that amasses a minimum of RM1,000 in a year.

EPF’s initiatives to increase retirement savings

On its part, the EPF has implemented measures to enhance members' retirement savings, such as the mandatory 13 per cent employer's contribution for those earning under RM5,000 monthly, the standard is 12 per cent, and flexible Age 55 Withdrawal that allows members to choose lump-sum withdrawal, partial removal of funds, or a monthly payment.
In July, the EPF also introduced its Retirement Advisory Service (RAS) at the Jalan Raja Laut, Kuala Lumpur and Jalan Gasing, Petaling Jaya branches, which offers free advice and impartial guidance to members on how they can make vital decisions about their EPF savings and make their money last longer throughout their golden years.

Meanwhile, it also has the 1 Malaysia Retirement Savings Scheme for those who are self-employed who can contribute voluntarily based on what they can afford.

‘Once it’s finished, how am I going to get more money?’

Retiree Subramaniam Ramasamy, 66, said he had RM200,000 when he retired at 60. His monthly expenses are about RM1,200.

He told Malay Mail Online that he gets by because his house mortgage was paid off from his EPF funds, he does not own a car and his live-in daughter pays two-thirds of the household expenses.

His wife, who has always been a homemaker, sometimes supplements their income by cooking for other families, while his daughter provides them transportation when she is able, though the couple mostly travel by bus.

“We can spend about RM5,000 a month if we wanted, of course, but once it’s finished, how am I going to get more money?” he said.

At the very least, EPF do allow for lump sum withdrawal. Malaysia boleh!!!

Boss Sam, don't worry if you are in the shit state come back to sinkapore, I let you stay free in my maid room (Fully Air-con with attached toilet and separate entrance type) in a porch condo - Ardmore Park. your meals on the house for life but you must recommend good girl for me.

Does he get to sleep with your maid?

rushifa666

These stupid sinkies have only one "asset". Their house. Now we are in the worst housing slum period. HDB is holding their price. Private are sinking like crazy. How long can you hold an artificially inflated price?

sinkies are stupid,they fail to realise if HDB prices fall close to their construction cost,they wouldnt have to tap into their cpf to pay for the roof over their heads,then they would actually have more than adequate fund in their CPF to retire,hundreds of thousands earning 2.5% interest.....of course CPF is another rip off unlike other countries' pension funds but thats another story for another day.so now not only is all their cpf funds tied up in their hdb flat,they do not have enough cpf funds to sustain them,so they are forced to sell their already overpriced and overpaid hdb flat and forced to move to a smaller shoebox.....

u guys have no idea what countryside in malaysia means.....the whole of malaysia is already a countryside ....let me tell u this,i want to live in australia,australia is paradise....singapore is a ghetto compared to australia,malaysia is a countryside compared to Singapore even the cities.....

let me tell u this,being in malaysia city is like taking a time warp 30 years back to colonial days.....the technology is probably 10 years behind and the infrastructure and buildings is like 30 years behind compared to any australian or singapore city,the malaysia today looks like the same goddam malaysia when u went there as a kid in the 1990s or late 80s.....

now when u talk about the "countryside" in malaysia ur talking about a absolute hellhole,long deserted roads in the middle of nowhere surrounded by miles and miles of plantations and jungles......the only amenities or "retail" shops around is a dilapidated wooden hut which serves as the "kampong" fishing shop and aquarium store,the other sorry ass looking building is a 90 year old shop house kopitiam that sees maybe 3 person a day in this godforsaken kampong.....the only residential buildings around are freaking kampong shacks with corrugated iron roofs.....u can forget about hot water or electricity or running water half the time......the toilet is those old fashioned squatting toilets and cement floors......u bathe with a pail from a well.....fucking hell those kampong houses make ur grandmother's old hdb flat in tiong bahru look like a 5 star hotel.....i rather fucking be homeless in melbourne or perth than live in freaking malaysia countryside.muthafarking hell at least if im homeless in australia i still can get free wifi and enough change for a angus beef burger at mcdonalds.

Tonychat when did you start eating meat again? Angus beef? I though the bayi fuck your anus and not Angus.

You want to migrate to Australia, but whether Australia wants a piece of worthless shit like you is questionable.

You are a Malaysian, but you talk as if the whole Malaysia is one big kampong! Come on, the smaller towns in Malaysia are comfortable for retirement and they are not a ulu as you claimed. They have enought shops, transport sysyems, internet cafe, McDonalds, Pizza hut etc, reasonably big supermarkets ...

First you bitch about Singapore (we allow you to seek refuge here) and then you bitch about your own country. What is fucking loser.

danielsim

Cost of living is increasing by the day. Resources are wasted due to societal self-fulfilling need for luxuries and contentment. Malaysia is well affected by us which boasts of high consumerism, which is affecting our daily lives as a whole because we simply cannot afford for daily necessities to keep rising while our pay and financial security remains stagnant.