Instead of returning our CPF money, govt. think of how much more we must put in

• Thread starter Thread starter suicidalpap
  • Start date Start date
S

suicidalpap

Govt to consult stakeholders on CPF for older workers: Tharman

Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said the government will consult stakeholders and understand the ground feel when it looks into the labour movement's decision to review the Central Provident Fund (CPF) contribution rate of older workers.

He said the government will monitor how the wage system changes over time and whether it will move away from a seniority-based structure to one that's more performance-based.

For Singaporean workers over 50, the CPF contribution rate is cut by six percentage points to 30 per cent.

And it drops further to 11.5 per cent once you turn 65, due to a lower contribution from both worker and employer.

With unionists suggesting a review of this policy, Mr Tharman said careful consideration is needed, to ensure older workers are able to find work and stay in the job.

Mr Tharman said: "This is something we have to study over time, but let's not make changes in haste. Let's study this carefully, consult employers, consult the unions, find out the realities on the ground. And do the right thing for our older workers. That's what we're concerned about."

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a school event, Mr Tharman said there are other forms of support for older low wage workers, like the Special Employment Credit.

"It is a temporary scheme because we're trying it out, where the government pays for a part of the CPF contribution of the employer. Still see what we can do going forward, beyond that initial experiment."

Costing the government about S$100 million, the one-off credit was introduced as part of the 2011 Budget and is paid out over three years till 2013.

Turning to Singapore's economic growth, Mr Tharman said the slowdown in the second quarter reflects financial woes in the European Union and the United States.

He said a repeat of the Lehman Brothers crisis is unlikely, but some mini-shocks can be expected that will affect investor confidence.

Mr Tharman said: "Fortunately our fundamentals are strong, in the labour market, in terms of investment flow into Singapore. But we cannot be unaffected by what's going on in the rest of the world and we'll see some sluggishness in the external environment for some time to come."

Mr Tharman added that strong domestic demand in Asia will continue to be a major driver of growth.

Last edited by a moderator:
one very vital question the gov really is ignorant about:

IF WE CAN'T SURVIVE TODAY, HOW COULD WE GET TO SURVIVE AND SEE OUR MEAGRE CPF when we r 50 yrs, 55, 60, 62 or 100 yrs old?

obviously, the gov wants as much of our life savings as possible locked up in their tight purse. delaying to refund us is back up by ridiculous and with the most imaginative creative reasonings where the citizens cannot retaliate to have it back LEEgally.

one very vital question the gov really is ignorant about:

IF WE CAN'T SURVIVE TODAY, HOW COULD WE GET TO SURVIVE AND SEE OUR MEAGRE CPF when we r 50 yrs, 55, 60, 62 or 100 yrs old?

obviously, the gov wants as much of our life savings as possible locked up in their tight purse. delaying to refund us is back up by ridiculous and with the most imaginative creative reasonings where the citizens cannot retaliate to have it back LEEgally.

I heard the Malaysia govt. is true to their words. Once the people reach 55, all their EPF will be returned to them. No payment by instalment like this fucking PAP govt.

Malaysian govt is run by Mats... lazy... corrupted... especially their police force
One thing worth commending is they are not driven by a desire to enrich the national coffers at the expense of people.

why the govt behaves like this , is because sinkies only post in the forum and complain instead of going out to the streets to fight for their rights.

Being ball-less, screws you hard. pain or not ... whine whine and whine. sinkie sinkie sinkie...

yes, @ 55, u can take out all ... or, u can dun take out oso can ...

b4 55, u can oso use ze epf moni 2 buy haus, etc. ...

... One thing worth commending is they are not driven by a desire to enrich the national coffers at the expense of people.
in sg, there;s oso no desire 2 enrich ze national coffers ... :rolleyes: ... @ ze expense of peasants or otherwise ...

Malaysian govt is run by Mats... lazy... corrupted... especially their police force
One thing worth commending is they are not driven by a desire to enrich the national coffers at the expense of people.

At least their govt,, however corrupt, never cheated its own people life savings. In Singapore, it's not that there's no corruption in the govt. It's just that most of the corruptions are legalised.

This is totally unacceptable to say the least. We want all our cpf back at age 55 !!!

basically, I see CPF as a form of bondange.

It's so well designed, and crafted that everyone who have CPF believed that what they see in the figures of their CPF statement is their money...

If you see it as tax, you're also correct. Everyone is basically taxed 20% for your own good, and your employers will give you another 10%... please note that Singaporeans pay is one of the lowest 1st world countries on earth...

You go ask any finance guys, and they can calculate for you that the guaranteed 2.5% CPF ordinary account returns p.a. is not as good as what they are all getting with your hard earned money.

Next, although there is a 4.5% special account returns p.a., this part you can never withdraw. (but can be used to buy medical insurance, if not mistaken)

then there is a medisave portion, which you can only withdraw for any hospitalization cases... KNN...

oh yes, you can surely use your CPF ordinary account to pay for your expensive pigeon holes... and you end up being in debts, and become a slave to your pigeon hole, and your cars if you asshole itchy, as if you don't have enough debts already.

now adays, when you reached 55, you are being forced to buy annuity plans with your own CPF money... CCB...

at the end, there is no way you can take your CPF money back... unless you decide to revoke your citizenship...

from the way i see it, the CPF is designed in a way to bind Singaporeans to Singapore, and not make them mobile... because if you are mobile, and you see the world for yourself, you will know you are short changed!