• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Inflation hits the poor hardest

NgEjay

http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=573

The government has always claimed that abolishing GST for essential items such as food is unwise because it would benefit the wealthier households more as they spend more money on such items as compared to poorer households.

However, we should be looking in percentage rather than in absolute value terms.

Food, housing and utility bills make up a larger percentage of the household expenditure for poorer families. According to a Department of Statistics report, food expenditure, for example, currently makes up 30 per cent of the budget for a household in the bottom 20 per cent income bracket, but just 17 per cent for a family in the top 20 per cent income bracket (ST, “Poor worry about food”, 26 Aug).

Basic items are also costing more for poorer families than richer ones. Food prices rose 8.1 per cent in the first six months of the year for poor households, higher than the 7.5 per cent experienced by rich families. Similarly, housing costs, which include the electricity bill, for the poor jumped 11.6 per cent, against 9.9 per cent for the rich.

Overall, the consumer price index (CPI) for poor households rose an average of 7.4 per cent in the first six months of the year, above the national mean of 7.1 per cent and the 6.9 per cent faced by richer families.

The government has consistently turned a blind eye to the fact that the poor are hardest hit by inflation, even though their own Department of Statistics lays bare the plain facts for all to see.

One-off Budget handouts are insufficient to help the lower income, especially given that a significant amount goes into Post-Secondary Education Accounts (PSEA) for the children as well as Medisave Accounts, and are thus unavailable for day-to-day use.

Rather, more comprehensive and sustainable plans should be put in place to help the poor and lower income, including putting Singaporeans first in job search, instituting a minimum wage, and abolishing GST for essential items.

one2unite

Every country in the world has their poor !! Be more realistic !!

But nowhere in the world a "despot" who is in power for nearly half a century has said: "....who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what people think."

That was Lee Kuan Yew for you. Since he boasts about deciding everything, he should own up to the problems and the mess that he and his tyrannical regime has created.

BlueCat

this is the same thru the whole world.
not only inflation,any price increases,also hit the poor the hardest.
but we will still carry on with our life and survive it.

The government has always claimed that abolishing GST for essential items such as food is unwise because it would benefit the wealthier households more as they spend more money on such items as compared to poorer households ...
utter rubbish ... cheaper prices mean ze rich wil eat more meh? ... how much more would dey want 2 eat? ...

one2unite

this is the same thru the whole world.
not only inflation,any price increases,also hit the poor the hardest.
but we will still carry on with our life and survive it.

But Singapore is unique where the ministers help themselves to multi-million-dollar salaries, never heard of in the entire universe!! Not only that, they refuse to be accountable and resign even when they are responsible for foul-ups such as escape of the most wanted detainee.

lockeliberal

Dear Ejay

The DOS lumps food to include everything from Restaurants or fine dinning to NTUC and the Kopi Tiam. Please do note the following.

1. 30% of a Monthly household income of 2,400 for a family of four is 720 dollars or 24 dollars a day for a family of four

2. 17% of a Monthly House Hold income of 10,000 for a family of four is 1,700 a month or 56.8 dollars a day for a family of four.

The differences is stark and clear.

Locke

hughgrant

bro,

u are wrong. if gst is abolished, it will benefit everyone except the gahmen.
thats not what they want. rather they will channel other means of help to the poor using the money from gst collected from everyone.

maybe ejay should answer this question:

inflation is worldwide. we observe strikes, protests and rallies in many countries. why is it so quiet here in singapore?

why was the one held by SDP only got barely 20 supporters?

i hope ejay can keep his clones out of this.:smile:

utter rubbish ... cheaper prices mean ze rich wil eat more meh? ... how much more would dey want 2 eat? ...

that's the prejudice, bias and jealousy many of the SDP supporters are using sadly to stir up peasants' emotions. and that is also one of the main reason they fail drastically time and again. :(

old faggot mai jealous lah .... you rejected piece of shit who want to believe you .... kekeke

that's why u love writing and posting about - SHITS!! :biggrin:

your originals won't dare to do that in their honorable nics and hence u ve to appear to do all the shitty works.:rolleyes:

eeoror88

But nowhere in the world a "despot" who is in power for nearly half a century has said: "....who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what people think."

That was Lee Kuan Yew for you. Since he boasts about deciding everything, he should own up to the problems and the mess that he and his tyrannical regime has created.

So what you suggest ?? Communism ??

zack123

bro,

u are wrong. if gst is abolished, it will benefit everyone except the gahmen.
thats not what they want. rather they will channel other means of help to the poor using the money from gst collected from everyone.

GST is effective as direct taxing. The more you spend, the more you will be taxed. This can be complemented by a review of taxable annual income bracket.

However to reduce the burden on the less well off, the prices of basic items can be controlled to ensure that they are within the reach for everyone.

The MilkMan

gst,nothing new,other countries also have it long before us.

everywhere is the same,it is those working class like us that always feel the hardest and heat. those in the top range of the salary's scale and rich people will not feel it.
life still have to go on,just be more careful with our daily expenses and we will get through.

eeoror88

Does that means we should ignore the statistic and live life as normal?
or
racking our elite brains to think of solutions making life better?

:wink: :p :wink:

You stupid idiot !!

No matter how you help the poor, there will always the last % of the poorest !!

popdod

You stupid idiot !!
No matter how you help the poor, there will always the last % of the poorest !!

The question is....shouldn't lower the %?

Just like...no matter how well govern a country is...there will be some % of unemployment rate.

:wink: :o :wink:

eeoror88

The question is....shouldn't lower the %?

Just like...no matter how well govern a country is...there will be some % of unemployment rate.

:wink: :o :wink:

You still don't get it ???

You give free money to the lowest %, yet there will still be that percentage right??

suteerak1099

You still don't get it ???

You give free money to the lowest %, yet there will still be that percentage right??
nicely phrased. the importance shouldnt b about giving charity to the poor... the importance should be focus on sustainability. which in a broader spectrum means.... bringing the poor out of poverty (lowering the %tile of dependancy), ensuring the middle-income promote to become higher income...

in doing so, when everyone becomes financially sound, there's little reason to complain about.