• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

how true is SDP's claim?

they posted:
We've never been this excited about the future
Friday, 29 August 2008

Singapore Democrats

Something is happening at the Singapore Democratic Party. We haven't been this active or excited about the future in years. It's strange if you think about it. The party is facing a humongous damages claim from the Lees and our leaders and friends are being charged in court. Things should look bleak and spirits down.

And yet, the opposite seems to be happening. Something is stirring. We have never been so committed in our cause and the sense of purpose has never been stronger. In fact, the number in our ranks as well as the number of our friends have grown and continue to grow.

Without these new members and supporters we would never have been able to do so many things all at once: visit universities, organise our annual dinner, go for the Tak Boleh Tahan! walkabouts, maintain our Internet presence, conduct nonviolent actions, etc all while going to court and attending police investigations. It's hard work, there's no doubt about it, but no one is complaining.

If anything, everyone's raring to go even faster and further. Only our limited resources, financial and otherwise, are holding us back. But that's okay because prudence, like discretion, is the better part of valour. We're building up systematically by laying a solid foundation with every forward step that we take.

In a way, we have the PAP to thank for this. We're not being facetious. Without the kind of absurd punitive action from the Government, we would not have a cause to rally around. One thing that you don't want when you're fighting for freedom and democracy is to be ignored by the powers-that-be, or worse, praised by them.

There is a sense that the time for democracy has come and we know that we need to move purposefully to consolidate what we have achieved and to break new ground.

Our dinner on Sunday will commemorate another year of gains. It will be an opportunity for us to renew and strengthen the bond of solidarity with our friends and supporters as well as to bring in more people into our growing family.

Our vision for Singapore is clear: we want not only a prosperous society but also a just and compassionate one where the people come first. Our mission is to persuade our fellow citizens to join in and support the cause. Our actions must be grounded in the values of democracy and tolerance.

So if you haven't already got a dinner ticket, call Jaslyn at 9239-3133 or email us at [email protected]his e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it and get one. It'll be an evening of fun and food, not to mention first rate company.

There'll also be a more serious side to the evening's programme. Dr Chee Soon Juan will launch his new book A Nation Cheated and deliver the evening's address which will include a discussion on the Singapore Democrats' plans for the future.

So come and join us. It'll be more than a dinner that you'll be attending, it'll be part of the exciting future that you'll be witnessing.

Event: SDP Annual Dinner
Date: 31 Aug 08, Sunday
Time: 6:00 pm
Tickets: $25 per person
Dinner: Luau buffet
Dress: Something Hawaiian

now the q & a part:
1. why held back the venue? i would like to attend if it's convenient located.
2. so flowery makan.... what's in the menu? ignuana meat?
3. more seriously. is this some kind of ploy to gather people to make chee's new book launch looks like it's a runaway success?
4. how much is chee selling his book now? will the value of the makan be substituted cos "free chee's new book giveaway" for all participants?
5. so it's the book, the makan or just a simple joyous SDP's celebration??

SDP has never come clear in their agenda. this so-called buffet is another fine example.

to tell people when there is poor response as "overwhelming" is a very shrewd reversed pyschology to turn a poor response into a good response.
by the way, if response is really that good as reported, someone would have posted here and revealed where the location.

mysterious location....dubious dunno what makan and the probably apprehensive disturbance from matas would surely make this gathering very exciting.

important note: traffic into chinatown closed from 2pm to 11pm for MID AUTUMN FESTIVAL opening.[/I]:
rolleyes:

as we can witness, the respondents are always the same bunch of troublemakers. they do not take on the topic. they only gang up to flame. it's up to u to see what really are the motive behind all this.

their origins are watching but they are keeping silent. that again show u how "democratic" they are.

if this thread is all about criticising WP or their members, they would surely be very keen to support it.

guavatree

if u r SDP - which i doubt - u should clarify unless u have some really "hidden agenda".

shit stirrer are you seriously concern whether there is positive response?

to bad lah a hypocrite pondan kena gagged from certain information.= hahahaha

Nomad

flame or opposite for the sake of opposing all that the government is doing without offering some good,workable and alternate plans/policies.

A

Alu862

flame or opposite for the sake of opposing all that the government is doing without offering some good,workable and alternate plans/policies.

Agree. All the energy in protesting w/o providing a proper alternative plan for voter support. For eg, they only criticise the freedom of speech part in the ND rally. Not criticism on birth rates, economy, social status, foreign policies....