How to trust ST when it’s ranked 149 out of 179, Tessa Wong?

ST is evidently desperate. It has launched a campaign called “Wherever you are” in which readers submit photographs of wherever they are and telling the story behind the picture.

Guess what sort of picture won?

A picture of a retiree reading a copy of the Straits Times in his HDB flat was the winning entry. The caption says he’s enjoying his ST with his coffee.

When I related this to a friend during lunch, he roared with laughter and showered me with food fragments at the same time.

“So obvious. ST thinks we are brain-dead?,” he snorted.

Tessa Wong implies we can trust MSM since the social media is unreliable. Trust ST when it’s ranked 149 out of 179 by Reporters Without Borders?

I asked a friend if he subscribes to Straits Times.

He replied, “You mean Shitty Times?”

- http://rogerpoh.wordpress.com/2013/...cast-doubt-on-social-media-is-she-a-dinosaur/

When I related this to a friend during lunch, he roared with laughter and showered me with food fragments at the same time.

danke goodness he didn't charge for the lunch... :o:o:o

How to trust anything from those PAP maggots cockroaches or from any organisation created and monopolised by them?

It is a fucking known fact that the PAP will lie and lie and will lie and lie again.

He probably caught the retiree the moment just before he laughed out loud sarcastically....i refuse to let these bastards spoil my day so i only read yahoo.com for news and refuse to pay for the bastard propaganda eve again...even Today gets used to wrap fish in my freezer....nsize is just nice

you believe reporters who don't bother?
aiyah please lah, ST is number one in reporting news and telling the truth
i rely sole on ST for authentic news - the truth and nothing but the truth
the rest of the newspapers have an agenda - proven without any doubt
even their magazines have an agenda - proven without any doubt
singapore is on the right path....we are truthful to ourselves
reporters who don't bother can just fly kite....well done singapore!!!
majulah singapura!!!

Ok kopi.... There you go....no wonder everyone says you are kinana.......

Anyways maybe you are right...ST is reporting exactly what they are told.... But as to whether that's the truth for the pap or the actual truth, the transparency index where the world's best newspapers are being benchmarked will show the world......

Just ask yourself kopi, if you were to tell everyone during lunch that your ST is more truthful than the Washington Post, the New York Times, or the Guardian......i cant wait for the splatter of food on your face (which came through their noses).......

So tell me ....when do you think your favourite Chua sisters are gonna win a pullitzer prize for their incisive journalism?

Flush the fucking rubbish that this piece of turd just squirted out from his backside

Fuck you and your mother for not aborting you

GO STICK YOUR FUCKING HEAD BELOW WATERLINE OF UNFLUSHED PUBLIC TOILET BOWL WITH TURDS AND TISSUE AND RECITE THE MAKCULAR STINKAPURA 10 TIMES FRONT AND TEN TIMES BACK. THE TURDS AND USED TISSUE PAPER IN THE BOWL WILL CLEANSE THAT MAKCULAR STINKAPURA OF THE VENOM OF LKY AND HIS BUNCH OF TURD HEADS

VOTE THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES ALL OUT IN 2016
DO NOT EVEN LET ONE OF THEM TO STAY AND CORRUPT THE PARLIAMENT

my dear Tuayapeh,

all newspapers and all magazines and social media are controlled and safety items

and these include all the american and british newspapers - they all have an agenda

if they want to bring a country down, they can

if they want a change of government, they can

if they want a revolution, they can

so with respect to you, no newspaper is independent.....more so in a multi-racial,multi-religious and multi-cultural singapore. if i am put in charge of our ST, i will do exactly the same. control the media. control the news.be sensitive. be fair. avoid all conflicts on race and religion. avoid confrontational and adversarial issues. dampen potential provocative articles. we do not enjoy the freedom and laxity of other countries.

all we need is just a piece of spark on race, religion and colour. this place will be burnt down overnight to ashes. we are a very vulnerable country with very sensitive people surrounded by potentially explosive events. we are too small to be arrogant. we are too small to be granted complete freedom with utter abandon.

we are singaporeans. and we have to live like singaporeans. we cannot enjoy the freedom and laxity of our people living in other more fortunate countries. even in first world country with the highest standard of living and democracy, political freedom, social benefits and welfare handouts, we can still have problems.the Utoya massacre is a good example how the world's most peaceful and fortunate country can turn catastrophically violent and tragic.

ST is doing things which are good for Singaporeans,generally. Thank you sir.

my dear Tuayapeh,

all newspapers and all magazines and social media are controlled and safety items

and these include all the american and british newspapers - they all have an agenda

if they want to bring a country down, they can

if they want a change of government, they can

if they want a revolution, they can

so with respect to you, no newspaper is independent.....more so in a multi-racial,multi-religious and multi-cultural singapore. if i am put in charge of our ST, i will do exactly the same. control the media. control the news.be sensitive. be fair. avoid all conflicts on race and religion. avoid confrontational and adversarial issues. dampen potential provocative articles. we do not enjoy the freedom and laxity of other countries.

all we need is just a piece of spark on race, religion and colour. this place will be burnt down overnight to ashes. we are a very vulnerable country with very sensitive people surrounded by potentially explosive events. we are too small to be arrogant. we are too small to be granted complete freedom with utter abandon.

we are singaporeans. and we have to live like singaporeans. we cannot enjoy the freedom and laxity of our people living in other more fortunate countries. even in first world country with the highest standard of living and democracy, political freedom, social benefits and welfare handouts, we can still have problems.the Utoya massacre is a good example how the world's most peaceful and fortunate country can turn catastrophically violent and tragic.

ST is doing things which are good for Singaporeans,generally. Thank you sir.

Kopi its fine if we hve to bear in mind some national exigenciesbut dont you even feel that the total and unbrindled manipulation of the news is just turning the whole reporting of news into a farcical bullshittery?

Its one thing to try to maintain the fine equilibrium in a volatile and pluralistic society....but its another to report the news asif the citizenry is blind and stupid......and try to advance ones own political ends by feeding a constant stream of crafted stories and injecting bullshit into the brains of smart people of singapore?

Its one thing to do for national interests and another when the news are clearly manipulating impressions of a less than buoyant property market..... Keep this up and there will be such a total collapse that only bloodshed will cure its past evils........

Everybody loves this country but there is a defenite feeling that this country is being run fr the benefit of the very few who have power and wealth at the top and not for the people....so maybe its time for all this to change and for the traitorious plunder to fucking stop!!!

ST is evidently desperate. It has launched a campaign called “Wherever you are” in which readers submit photographs of wherever they are and telling the story behind the picture.

Guess what sort of picture won?

A picture of a retiree reading a copy of the Straits Times in his HDB flat was the winning entry. The caption says he’s enjoying his ST with his coffee.

“So obvious. ST thinks we are brain-dead?,” he snorted.

Tessa Wong implies we can trust MSM since the social media is unreliable. Trust ST when it’s ranked 149 out of 179 by Reporters Without Borders?

I asked a friend if he subscribes to Straits Times.

He replied, “You mean Shitty Times?”

- http://rogerpoh.wordpress.com/2013/...cast-doubt-on-social-media-is-she-a-dinosaur/

I can bet to my last dollar that most entries were from staffs of sph and their friends.

#10 Tuayapeh,

I respect your views and I agree with you. Running a newspaper is no easy task. Yes, I agree there must be a balance . How balanced it can be depend on the political climate of the day. We are a very very small country and there is no room for complacency. Yes, all it needs is just a spark and this place will turn into ashes. SARS nearly finished us all. Our airports and malls were like cemetery...But we were lucky. And we will not be lucky always. Thanks for the input.Greatly appreciate your views.

The mainstream media in the United States is owned and controlled by a few corporate conglomerates. This pattern of ownership and its resulting control leaves very little room for critical and challenging journalism of the kind that exposes the hypocrisies and duplicities of the ruling moneyed interests. These moneyed interests claim to bring us prosperity when in fact they bring us poverty. They claim a dedication to democracy when in fact they propagate oligarchic dominance in this country and in many others. They profess a dedication to peace while bombing and invading various countries that dare to step out of line.

They talk about a “family of nations” while pursuing a policy of global imperialism. This constant disparity between what reality at home and abroad is like and what the corporate media claim it to be is one of the great propaganda achievements of modern history.

Kopisai don't baydey. You are a tax bandit PAP IB shithead. The laws in Singapore allow the editor to be fired in 24 hours no questions asked by the President. The Straits Times is loaded with ISD shits like you. Your shit times buy news from all the evil agencies that you claim are bad. Your shit surveys fail basic academic rigor. Do not even bother massage., Why don't you balek kampung? Your photo shows you cannot be trusted and are a Japanese cock sucking imperialist. While there may seem to be little room for critical and challenging journalism. There is none in Singapore. At least, Clinton cocking sucking, Watergate, declassified war documents, dirt on large corporations do get to be aired and written? Your fuck GIC and Temasek? Fucking lie. If you think USA so bad, do not send your people there to study or use any of their benchmarks hypocrite. Establish your own like North Korea and say everyone else is shit and you are the benchmark. PAP is and Singapore is but a bunch of dogs controlled by the Lee family who are puppet to USA and UK. So what talking you shithead? You are but a puppet of a puppet of the puppeter of USA. You old simple man? Arh fuck off IB of PAP being paid tax payer monies fromt the Lees.

#14 BigFuck, you live up to you onerous name. good morning!
good post. good...very good indeed....please keep it up PHUAcb Eschercb LAUcb CHONcb.....IB your BigFuckcb head lah!!! Bodoh!!! So senior and yet so stupid. Can't even handle a simple old uncle from the wet market.

Talk so big.Write so big. Yet come to a BigFuck wrong conclusion.No use. Useless BigFuck head!!!

Hey, don't get angry okay. I am not from any brigade. I drive a taxi and I sell fish at the wet market. You want fresh fish or not? So big and so senior, still act so silly...you really live up to your name!!!

his verbal diarrhea flushed

!

Fuck you and your mother for not aborting you

GO STICK YOUR FUCKING HEAD BELOW WATERLINE OF UNFLUSHED PUBLIC TOILET BOWL WITH TURDS AND TISSUE AND RECITE THE MAKCULAR STINKAPURA 10 TIMES FRONT AND TEN TIMES BACK. THE TURDS AND USED TISSUE PAPER IN THE BOWL WILL CLEANSE THAT MAKCULAR STINKAPURA OF THE VENOM OF LKY AND HIS BUNCH OF TURD HEADS

VOTE THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES ALL OUT IN 2016
DO NOT EVEN LET ONE OF THEM TO STAY AND CORRUPT THE PARLIAMENT

majulah singapura!!!

kopiuncle, yes ST is numero uno in Singapore. Only because its the only main local newspaper here. It tells the truth according to one party. I rely solely on ST for authentic news too, from one party. And I read elsewhere for alternative views from others. Do you not think the authorities ought to have the confidence that readers are matured enough to distill what they read? Stop the censorship and self-censorship, let the people decide. Since they are so deeply entrenched in every fabric of Singaporean society, they should not fear or censor opposing views. Thus far, our democratic system is just a hollow concept.