How many of you are interested ?

SINGAPORE: Singapore will need some 1,600 to 1,700 healthcare employees to cater to the 10 new nursing homes which will be set up in different parts of Singapore from now till 2016.

Speaking to the media at the end of his community visit to Potong Pasir, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said his ministry will step up efforts to recruit these workers.

Among the avenues being looked at are educational institutions like the institutes of technical education (ITEs) and polytechnics.

The ministry will also encourage the conversion of mid-career healthcare workers to fill the vacancies in these nursing homes.

Another area being tapped is the pool of retirees who can come back to work part-time to fill up these careers.

A major part of the dialogue during Mr Gan's ministerial visit on Sunday focused on healthcare and ageing issues.

Mr Gan, who is also the chairman of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Ageing, emphasised that at the end of the day, the best way for Singaporeans to keep their medical costs down is to remain healthy and fit.

- CNA/ir

i am interested....to check myself in.

SINGAPORE: Singapore will need some 1,600 to 1,700 healthcare employees to cater to the 10 new nursing homes which will be set up in different parts of Singapore from now till 2016.

Speaking to the media at the end of his community visit to Potong Pasir, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said his ministry will step up efforts to recruit these workers.

- CNA/ir

There are so many complaints about employing too many foreigners in our healtcare service, so will Singaporeans respond to the call by the Minister to join the Healthcare Service? Will the pay be good? Competitive? Will Singaporeans be interested enough to answer the call??? Treat and care for your own citizens in hospitals and in nursing homes?

How many brothers here are keen to help ?

masak can la....the curry you makaned the other day looks good .

I am also interested to check in. But I will faint at the sight of blood !!! How to help. Maybe push trolleys and wheel chairs can lah...

According to the Myers-Briggs test, a career in nursing is not for me.
And the test's assessment is quite accurate.

A career is more than just money, or whatever the govt tells you the 'next big thing' is going to be (remember the hype regarding 'life sciences' in the early 2000s?).

masak can la....the curry you makaned the other day looks good .

haha bang, masak masak ...membuat kopi....tolong sedikit sedikit boleh lah....tetapi kerja nursing home sangat terok lah....makan anging di sini lagi bail.....kena bokok banyat kali di sini...

tak apa la....forum untok hiboran sahaja. Mata sudah naik banyak lor. Satu ratus lebih sudah.

haha bang, masak masak ...membuat kopi....tolong sedikit sedikit boleh lah....tetapi kerja nursing home sangat terok lah....makan anging di sini lagi bail.....kena bokok banyat kali di sini...

According to the Myers-Briggs test, a career in nursing is not for me.
And the test's assessment is quite accurate.

A career is more than just money, or whatever the govt tells you the 'next big thing' is going to be (remember the hype regarding 'life sciences' in the early 2000s?).

i totally agreed. life sciences and research etc etc ...all upside down. now go to healthcare. i really don't know what will be the outcome. if sars 2 or 3 come along, the hospitals and nursing homes will be badly hit....we really don't know...

but healthcare is one big big multi-billion industry...just look at the number of medical centres sprouting here and there...novena medical centre....damned costly to see any doctor now....damned costly !....and many doctors are practising defensive medicine to cover themselves because patients' expections are now sky high and patients are getting more knowledgeable....so it's not easy to enter into this healthcare service....you have plenty of complaint kings and queens here....and medico-legal suits is the in thing now!!!

SINGAPORE:

Mr Gan, who is also the chairman of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Ageing, emphasised that at the end of the day, the best way for Singaporeans to keep their medical costs down is to remain healthy and fit.

- CNA/ir

lianbeng noted PAPaya Gan selling koyok to ChiamST?! :D

tak apa la....forum untok hiboran sahaja. Mata sudah naik banyak lor. Satu ratus lebih sudah.

sekarang ada satu abang disini ada banyat ratus mata2....dia kaulau zap, mesti mati serta-merta.....macham nuclear bomb!!!

tak zap la....dia hati baik. Tak suka gadoh.
saya pun sangat takut abang itu...

ok...do you think the government will be successful in recruiting singaporeans ? i think it will be very very difficult. in the end, the posts will be mostly filled by foreigners. many singaporeans are too old and too weak to do this type of healthcare job.the young would not like this type of job.

the hospitals and nursing homes are not places to work in unless you are really keen to be in the healthcare service. doctors and nurses are the biggest carriers of diseases and germs!!!...sangat kotor kotor lah!!!

when i go to the hospital to visit someone, i get sick easily myself!

its difficult to like this job unless you have some kind of calling or have a healthy amount of compassion.

Most sinkies dont even want to take up eldercare courses even though it would help them migrate to places like Oz.

So really i think the take up rate for this will be very low from among the locals.

To be very honest i dont think i could do this job too.

saya pun sangat takut abang itu...

ok...do you think the government will be successful in recruiting singaporeans ? i think it will be very very difficult. in the end, the posts will be mostly filled by foreigners. many singaporeans are too old and too weak to do this type of healthcare job.the young would not like this type of job.

the hospitals and nursing homes are not places to work in unless you are really keen to be in the healthcare service. doctors and nurses are the biggest carriers of diseases and germs!!!...sangat kotor kotor lah!!!

when i go to the hospital to visit someone, i get sick easily myself!

its difficult to like this job unless you have some kind of calling or have a healthy amount of compassion.

Most sinkies dont even want to take up eldercare courses even though it would help them migrate to places like Oz.

So really i think the take up rate for this will be very low from among the locals.

To be very honest i dont think i could do this job too.

yes, in australia too, i think healthcare business is also a big thing....the eldercare there is definitely "better" than over here. we need to learn and we need to keep up with our services. soon, many of us will need eldercare . in fact, some of us are already there. just pray and hope we keep ourselves fit and healthy.

my friend fell and got a fracture!!! so easily. now warded and operated upon. soon will have to go to physio and then go through the system of rehab....very jialat man.

so back to your original post....1600 healthcare employees needed....i would hazard a guess that not even 10% will be singaporeans.

The bulk of them would be filipinas and PRCs. Many of the Filipinas provide healthcare services to places as far flung as Israel and Europe...

perhaps Canada too. So working here would be a good stepping stone for them...to boost their resume for when they want to go elsewhere.

What the sinkies dont want ...these guys will grab.

my friend fell and got a fracture!!! so easily. now warded and operated upon. soon will have to go to physio and then go through the system of rehab....very jialat man.

so back to your original post....1600 healthcare employees needed....i would hazard a guess that not even 10% will be singaporeans.

The bulk of them would be filipinas and PRCs. Many of the Filipinas provide healthcare services to places as far flung as Israel and Europe...

perhaps Canada too. So working here would be a good stepping stone for them...to boost their resume for when they want to go elsewhere.

What the sinkies dont want ...these guys will grab.

i totally agree. i think the moh knows about this. we are seeing healthcare workers from other countries as well -myanmar,india,cambodia,vietnam....a few malaysians......i personally prefer malaysians to look after our sick and elderly....anyway getting healthcare workers will be very difficult. nobody likes to work in such places.

betul la...in a way sinkiepoor is a victim of its own success.

i totally agree. i think the moh knows about this. we are seeing healthcare workers from other countries as well -myanmar,india,cambodia,vietnam....a few malaysians......i personally prefer malaysians to look after our sick and elderly....anyway getting healthcare workers will be very difficult. nobody likes to work in such places.

Try walking around JB streets & you will find their ads hanging on street lamps!

I think the only way is to keep ourselves as healthy as possible by being careful with our lifestyles. But then when age catches up with us, we will fall sick some how. The chronic degenerative diseases will come and we will have to seek medical treatment. And when we become a patient in the hospital, we will realise what is actually happening to our healthcare service.

If you are lucky, you get good treatment and survive.

If you are not so lucky, you get inappropriate management and end up with complications and even fatalities.

A big big problem...pray hard.