• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How did million $ ministers and top civil servants miss the loopholes in EC matter?

The growing feeling among Singaporeans that things are running on autopilot became more glaring with the admission by Khaw Boon Wan that developers had gamed the system and that the government has moved to fix the loopholes that lead to the abuse of the policy. He told Parliament yesterday that the government changed the EC rules as soon as it realised that some buyers were taking advantage of them to profit.

He quoted the example of the dual-key EC units, which have two private entrances to provide privacy - are meant to support multi-generational families but some people were buying them to get "immediate rental yield" instead. In other words, what he is saying is that there was no deep analysis of the various policies (including the size of the units) and he and his highly paid civil servants took wholesale whatever was proposed by developers.

We don't need to pay top dollars for people whose main responsbilities seem to be to "review and change" when exposed by the market place.

Recent fiascoes in various policies and situations (like prosecution witnesses turning into hostile ones) do not inspire confidence in the system, which appears to be running more and more on auto-pilot across the board.

What do you think?

Re: How did million $ ministers and top civil servants miss the loopholes in EC matte

any bros know of the EC Developer Name who Sabo Minsiter Khaw ? thanks

Re: How did million $ ministers and top civil servants miss the loopholes in EC matte

Yes I was wondering as though the ministeries were sleeping when Developer
built 4500sqft condo, they have to apply for permit thru the gahmen, and they should
know prevalent market prices..equate to $million dollar EC or they are sleeping...??

After all the happening than $8.00 minster step in and talk cock and bull story in ParLeeMent!

And now No More 4500sqft EC Pent house!!

So for those lucky EC buyers they got the limited edition of the EC, collector's item can't get anymore
hurray!!

Industry insiders say that the problem is due to the fact that the two main bodies in Khaw Boon Wan's involved in ECs do not talk to each other - so same $8 Heart is the boss, but eveything else below don't communicate.

complacency 101

1. aiyoh!
2. simple, there is no co-driver slap silly the sleeping driver mah:D
3. it is the result of kosong check & balance.
4. as well "both hands covering the sky thing":rolleyes:

Industry insiders say that the problem is due to the fact that the two main bodies in Khaw Boon Wan's involved in ECs do not talk to each other - so same $8 Heart is the boss, but eveything else below don't communicate.

Google and found this

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2012/12/34927/-2m-ec-unit-sold

$2m EC unit sold
Dec 31, 2012

By Romesh Navaratnarajah:

The highly-debated presidential suite at CityLife@Tampines executive condominium (EC) was sold for S$2.05 million just two hours after bookings began on Saturday morning, The Straits Times reported.

The 4,349 sq ft penthouse was bought by Ms C. Koh on behalf of her younger brother and his wife who are based in the US. The couple is set to return to Singapore next year. However, Koh’s 56-year old businessman father will pay for the bulk. “My son can't afford it, he's only a salaried employee,” he said.

Setting a record for an EC unit, the S$2.05 million sale price works out to around S$470 psf and rises to S$744 psf, if only liveable space is factored in.

Located on the 15th floor, the penthouse also comes with a 1,600 sq ft roof terrace. Ms Koh said that their seven-member family will live in the unit.

Developed by a consortium comprising Amara Holdings, Kay Lim Holdings and SingXpress Land, CityLife (pictured) comprises 514 units, including 16 penthouses and six skysuites with open terraces.

By noon on Saturday, all the skysuites and penthouses had been snapped up and 65 percent of the EC was sold by the end of the day. Most buyers were drawn to the project because of its ideal location in a mature estate and proximity to amenities.

Romesh Navaratnarajah, Senior Editor of PropertyGuru, wrote this story. To contact him about this or other stories email [email protected]

Tampines EC Pte Ltd owned by who ahh ???

Why No Action taken against these 3 jokers ???

Developed by a consortium comprising Amara Holdings, Kay Lim Holdings and SingXpress Land, CityLife (pictured) comprises 514 units, including 16 penthouses and six skysuites with open terraces.

... We don't need to pay top dollars for people whose main responsbilities seem to be to "review and change" when exposed by the market place.

Recent fiascoes in various policies and situations (like prosecution witnesses turning into hostile ones) do not inspire confidence in the system, which appears to be running more and more on auto-pilot across the board.

What do you think?
ze way how gahmen woks haf changed sins drastically sins early 90's ... it has gone ze loon way ... u get tis wen u haf a retard up there ...

dose fellas in gahmen taking obscene fat pay oni do tings 2 make demselves rook goot in front of their bosses ... u can even haf ppl who dun even understand their own proposals ... n worses dan dat, their bosses juz anyhow approve dem ...

dey r mor interested in planning their exotic french cooking corses ...

Too complacent sitting down masturbating daily and counting their salaries.

I have come across this, in my nature of work...URA, BCA, SCDF, NEA...they do not communicate & you don't know who is in charge of legislation, oh! I forgot, throw in MOM. But, towards the end of the calender year, towards Lunar New Year, the Muslim New Year & Indian Festival...they would know to come around & look for "trouble"..usually some fines.

Other than that, they do not communicate...oh yes! throw in JTC too..:rolleyes:

How did million $ ministers and top civil servants miss the loopholes in EC matter?

They conveniently missed the loopholes?

fulget amica dies

At the rate we are going, Singapore will soon become a Review Hub. Get the policies out without too much thinking, and then review when public complains about cock-ups and mistakes. Sometimes, conveniently mutter an insincere "sorry lah, we all humans".

Committee, you pay million dollars you get a cum with me people...you need 10 persons to fix a light bulb, for the 1 is too expensive to climb up the ladder, least fall down to fix..so they need 10 for comfort..

Why No Action taken against these 3 jokers

no law broken what! They only went thru the hole in the loop

But we pay $8..oops!, million dollars for a minister to create a loop that open up a hole, isn't that a very expensive mistake?? we certainly are paying everyday of our lives for EXPENSIVE MISTAKES..the latest resulted in a Bye-election.

Tampines EC Pte Ltd owned by who ahh ???

Most developers will reserve the best for their own siblings before they sell the rest of the units. Don't be surprised there is more than meet the eyes for this kind of deal. Someone in the ministries might be one of those beneficiaries too.