• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How come Father is Singapore Citizen, Wife is SPR, then the SON is SPR leh???

HorGauGan

:confused::confused: WAN HELP HIS SON SIAM NS IZZIT?????????? :mad:

www.transitioning.org/2012/02/22/ex...ting-manager-finding-it-tough-to-be-re-hired/

Dear Gilbert,

I have been following your site for the past 2 months and I must give praise to you for all you’ve done.

I’ve read alot of postings from other fellow Singaporeans who are finding it very difficult to get reasonable employment.

I am in that same predicament now.

I am 39+ years old and has a Diploma in Marketing Management from KAPLAN Singapore (2008). I am married with a 12 year old son. Both my wife and son are SPRs. As my wife does not speak any English, she works part time and earns about $1000 a month.

I have 18 years of working experience, and my last job was a Regional Sales & Marketing Manager for a small local telecommunication firm. Through my previous years of work, I had acquired extensive business experience in the Middle East, Asia and China.

In June last year, the boss decided to cut my salary from $3800 to $3100. It was a big impact on me, but the main reason I left was because the company was running out of money (The boss was making alot of money losing decisions) and I was under tremendous pressure to make the company turn around, which in my professional opinion was futile and to stay on was meaningless.

Since then, I had sent out many job applications. On the average, I would receive one call from the recruitment agent out of 20 applications sent. However, it will always end up with no further updates. Sigh…

I have already ran out of money and feeling depressed and desperate.

I am most willing to work and lower my salary expectations to $2500, but most job requirements I see need at least a degree. With or without a degree, I tried applying but of course there is always no reply.

I am also beginning to apply for other job positions that does not need a degree with no relevance to my work experience. I don’t know how this will turn out though.

I am beginning to feel that once you are over 35 years old, no Singapore employer will want to hire you. All they want are cheap and good labour. Pay less for workers but earn more profits for themselves!

Perhaps of my regional exposure to many countries I’ve visited, I have always wanted to teach or do social work to help others who are less fortunate. I feel it is important to help fellow human beings irregardless of their race or colour.

Even for a social worker position, they require a degree! Many times I wonder, why can’t an individual without a degree (but with experience) do the same job?? Isn’t that unfair?

Being bilingual, I have thought about taking a gamble and going to China to teach English, international business and marketing to workers in 2nd tier cities. Perhaps I could make a career there. Again, I hold back because what will happen to my wife and son here.

I am really at a loss of directions Gilbert. What should I do next? I have to get a job quickly so that I can take care of my family.

I have also attached my resume here for your perusal. Perhaps you could be kind enough to advise me how to make myself more employable?

Look forward to hearing from you and God bless your kindness.

With warm regards,

James

Editor’s Note: I will be meeting up with James soon for a discussion.

that guy still dun get it.
It is having a job that is the problem..
it is better to train yourself to be in business when you are a young adult or teenager.

when you get older and have a family, no job is going to care how much bills you are going to pay. It is all about market forces and competitions with younger employees who are technologically current.

Jobs are for youngster in their 20s. not for 30+ years old and above.

I asked this question in another thread, and a bro here gave a web link to read more. Just curious to confirm my understanding, can son born in spg, but take birth cert and apply for malaysian citizenship if one of the parent is spr malaysian citizen?

Really need the advice if you are in the know.

maybe son was born in malaysia?

Alamak. He can take taxi license for the time being what.At least he will got some income to help him through the difficult period until he can get a job.

I asked this question in another thread, and a bro here gave a web link to read more. Just curious to confirm my understanding, can son born in spg, but take birth cert and apply for malaysian citizenship if one of the parent is spr malaysian citizen?

Really need the advice if you are in the know.

if im not wrong, it is possible. i had a friend was born in Singapore but now ,is a Malaysian citizen.His mother was a Malaysian though.The best thing is he was able to escape NS.Damn..

1. Imo, take the article with a pinch of salt.

2. If he got extensive mkting experience in middle east, china and asia, should have wide network, and if got wide client network, should not be a problem in getting a job.

3. Furthermore, it is quite unheard of; for an experienced sales person to write to job agencies:p Either he has no friends to help recommend or he is a very jialat sales person.

4. Diploma or not, as long as one is good in sales and can sell, no problem one.:p

Thanks for your input bro.:)

if im not wrong, it is possible. i had a friend was born in Singapore but now ,is a Malaysian citizen.His mother was a Malaysian though.The best thing is he was able to escape NS.Damn..

Diploma
years of extensive business overseas experience
manager position
said the boss made wrong decisions
but he made the decision to resign and gt himself into a dire situation wif no plan B?:confused::eek:

Maybe his god told him to resign.:(

Diploma
years of extensive business overseas experience
manager position
said the boss made wrong decisions
but he made the decision to resign and gt himself into a dire situation wif no plan B?:confused::eek:

Alamak. He can take taxi license for the time being what.At least he will got some income to help him through the difficult period until he can get a job.
Or a security guard or cleaner or dishwasher....
Fucking sinkie jobless already still want to be choosy hiam east hiam west....
Ministars paid millions to create these jobs for sinkies like them

sad truth in singapore, age discrimination, in usa, when you hire someone , you are not allow to ask their age. their resume have no age.

1. Imo, take the article with a pinch of salt.

2. If he got extensive mkting experience in middle east, china and asia, should have wide network, and if got wide client network, should not be a problem in getting a job.

3. Furthermore, it is quite unheard of; for an experienced sales person to write to job agencies:p Either he has no friends to help recommend or he is a very jialat sales person.

4. Diploma or not, as long as one is good in sales and can sell, no problem one.:p

Typical Singaporean resume inflation. The last drawn salary in the article is a dead give away.

most probably father initially also another fake talent then family take up PR....

The writer James the Sinkie, never really cared about who was running his country, his indifference thru the years have at last resulted in consequences that really affected him and his family.

I say,

Serve the Sinkie , right!:D

budden i still catch no bola leh!!!! hw cum son not singapore citizen??????? y SPR???????

why to be a sinkie? i say they are smart not to pollute their kids to be a low life coward and bend down to a PAP dildo.