Homegrown sportsmen & women win gold..

myo539

Asian Games: Singapore bowlers win Gold in women's trios event
Asian Games: S'pore sailors score 8 medals, including 2 golds

Home-grown Singapore sportsmen and women gold medals in Asian Game - why no claps?

When foreign-born sportsmen and women win gold, some sceptical and cynical Sporeans and PRs Kow Pei Pow Boo that are not our originals.

Now home-grown Sporeans - they could be your little brothers or sisters, or uncles and aunties, or neighbours - win medals, there are so few claps in this forum?

Little wonder then that it is left to the Straits Times and Media Corp people to work extra hard to encourage and praise these people who have made Singapore and Singaporeans proud.

Tiny Singapore has done it again!
Singapore....... 4G 6S 6B........... (Population : 5M)

Indonesia......... 4G 6S 10B.......... (Population : 238M)
Malaysia.......... 3G 7S 7B............. (Population : 28M)
India............... 2G 10S 12B......... (Population : 1,190M)
(To date: 21Nov 2010)

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sportsnews/view/1094597/1/.html
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sportsnews/view/1094585/1/.html

Well done, Singaporeans!

Home-grown Singapore sportsmen and women gold medals in Asian Game - why no claps?

When foreign-born sportsmen and women win gold, some sceptical and cynical Sporeans and PRs Kow Pei Pow Boo that are not our originals.

Now home-grown Sporeans - they could be your little brothers or sisters, or uncles and aunties, or neighbours - win medals, there are so few claps in this forum?

Little wonder then that it is left to the Straits Times and Media Corp people to work extra hard to encourage and praise these people who have made Singapore and Singaporeans proud.

Tiny Singapore has done it again!

(To date: 21Nov 2010)

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sportsnews/view/1094597/1/.html
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sportsnews/view/1094585/1/.html

Well done, Singaporeans!

That is not a fair comparison, as usual from the local media, trying to por lumpar and justifying the policies. As with all things, we should look at the money spent/budget per medal. That will really put PAP to shame.

Im sure the entire money spent for SG sports people will be more than China's who has the most medals. In that way, PAP's investment considered a failure. If want to compare population, then also lau kwui, countries like slovenia and uruguay are smaller than SG but made it to WC. As always, the media suka suka use any factor to justify what the PAP has achieved.

just my 2c..

That is not a fair comparison, as usual from the local media, trying to por lumpar and justifying the policies. As with all things, we should look at the money spent/budget per medal.... Im sure the entire money spent for SG sports people will be more than China's who has the most medals.... just my 2c..

Haha, I knew someone will change their ground rules to justify their reluctance to accept reality and to remain cynical of whatever that is done. It's a disease, a syndrome.

If your son or daughter, or sister or brother wins a medal for your country, and you say it's "por lum par" and they are not doing the family proud, surely it must be a new disease.

Your comparison is fraud, you can't compare money spent in China to groom sports people. Your 2-cents is worth many times more in China monetarily, but in terms of nationalism, it is worth not even a grain of sand to the Chinese. The Chinese are proud of their country .... do you dare to say you have the same? With this type of mentality, no wonder even the FTs or Bangladeshi do not think highly of such S'poreans.

Probably you will fly to where people will pay you more - the grass appears forever green over the fence. Nevermind that when you look into the mirror, you are not ashamed that the reflection doesn't look like yours. Nevermind that you will become the very FTs that you detest in your home ground.

I think our local - bred Singaporeans deserve to be congratulated for their achievements!!! Clap! clap!! clap!!!!

I'm not too passionate about FTs winning the medals for us.I have no feelings at all.Maybe some disgust perhaps.....sorrie.

In yest news, Tao Li said she will go back china for long holiday.

See lah... china at heart, Sg is just a job opportunity. :cool:

Of course I am proud of them. I applaud them!! Just that I am so busy trying to put three meals on the table for my family, I don't have the time to follow our sporting achievements. Finance and economy, my gahmen thought me to only focus on these.

... Tiny Singapore has done it again!

(To date: 21Nov 2010) ...
update tis final medal tally of selected cuntries, which u have specially picked urself, 4 u ...

India ... 14G 17S 33B ...
Malaysia ... 9G 18S 14B ...
Indonesia ... 4G 9S 13B ...

Singapore ... 4G 7S 6B ...

sg came out last in ze list! ... :eek:

In yest news, Tao Li said she will go back china for long holiday.

See lah... china at heart, Sg is just a job opportunity. :cool:

Tao Li and all foreign athletes are Sporting Mercenaries to win Medals for Singapore.

no need to ask if she has SG or China at heart.

So? Olympic or World Championship gold, meh? Liao Lui lah. Oni this then worldclass. The rest is crap. This is meritocracy hor.

Asian Games 2010 Medals Tally
Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
China 189 110 95 394
R.O. Korea 72 61 89 222
Japan 45 72 91 208
Iran 20 12 24 56
Kazakhstan 17 20 37 74
Chinese Taipei 13 16 36 65
India 12 15 32 59
Uzbekistan 11 20 22 53
Thailand 10 8 32 50
Malaysia 9 18 13 40
Hong Kong 8 15 17 40
DPR Korea 6 10 19 35
Indonesia 4 9 13 26
Singapore 4 7 6 17
Athletes from Kuwait 4 6 1 11
Qatar 4 4 6 14
Behrain 4 0 3 7
Philippines 3 3 9 15
Saudi Arabia 3 3 5 11
Pakistan 3 2 3 8
Jordan 2 2 2 6
Vietnam 0 17 14 32
Mongolia 1 4 9 14
Kyrgyzstan 1 2 2 5
Macao 1 1 4 6
Bangladesh 1 1 1 3
Tajikistan 1 0 3 4
Myanmar 0 5 3 8
UAE 0 4 1 5
Afghanistan 0 2 1 3

malaysia, thailand n indonesia used home grown sportsmen.
bahrain and qatar used athletes from ethiopia n kenya.