• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

High SES Pastry Shop in Joo Jiat UpLorry!

Pinkieslut

Useless Sinkies can only pay for low SES curry pok!​

Popular Tigerlily Patisserie By Ex-Les Amis Chef Closing Due To ‘Exponentially Increasing Cost Of Operations’​

Popular Tigerlily Patisserie By Ex-Les Amis Chef Closing Due To ‘Exponentially Increasing Cost Of Operations’

Follow TODAY on WhatsApp

Listen to this article

4 min

This audio is generated by an AI tool.
BY

GWYN LIM

Published April 7, 2024
Updated April 8, 2024
WhatsAppTelegramFacebookTwitterEmailLinkedIn
After three years of being a fixture in the Joo Chiat neighbourhood, Tigerlily Patisserie announced that it will be closing its doors on 30 April 2024. The popular bakery-cafe is known for its elegant mod French pastries. It first started out as an online bakery in 2020, before upgrading to a pretty botanical-themed space on Joo Chiat Road in 2021.
No part of this story or photos can be reproduced without permission from 8days.sg.

tigerlily_owner.jpg

It’s co-owned by pastry chef Maxine Ngooi, 32, who boasts an impressive CV - the World Gourmet Awards Pastry Chef Of The Year (2022) trained at three-Michelin-starred restaurant Les Amis, worked at Joel Robuchon Restaurant at RWS for two years, then became head pastry chef at the now-defunct one-Michelin-starred French restaurant Vianney Massot. After she left Vianney Massot in 2020, the Ebb & Flow group, which used to own the restaurant, invited her to start Tigerlily Patisserie. Maxine was also in charge of the menu at retro kaya toast bakery-cafe Chin Mee Chin when Ebb & Flow invested in the heritage brand.

What’s next for award-winning chef Maxine?

In Tigerlily’s official announcement on Instagram, Maxine simply states that “the world has evolved since we started and I feel that it’s time to retire Tigerlily to personally reset and explore new culinary adventures”. She also confirms that it is a “permanent closure”.
ADVERTISEMENT

Speaking to 8days.sg, Maxine says “it was very sad news to share”, adding that “the two main reasons [for the closure] are the exponentially increasing costs of operations, and that our rental lease [expiry] is coming up”.
A friend who frequents the Joo Chiat neighbourhood tells 8days.sg that the patisserie was “usually quite quiet” in recent months.
tigerlily_decor.jpg

ADVERTISEMENT

So, what’s next for the chef? Maxine shares that “for now [she] plans on taking a break for a while, with no future plans with Ebb & Flow Group at the moment”. She confirms that once Tigerlily has ceased operations, she’ll no longer be part of the Ebb & Flow Group.
Before opening Tigerlily, Maxine told 8days.sg she had initially wanted to travel and stage at restaurants around the world, but couldn’t do so due to the pandemic. She now tells 8days.sg that “it’s definitely something I’ll be looking into in future”.
tigerlily_food.jpg

Stuff to try

If you’re planning to head down to Tigerlily for a final visit before its closure, here’s what to order.
tigerlily_easter.jpg

ADVERTISEMENT

The patisserie’s swansong seasonal bakes for the month include this Easter Surprise ($24.80), which features two entremets - a golden egg, made with salted popcorn mousse and pecan praline, and a rice pudding-filled white rabbit.
The Sweet & Savoury Box ($28.50) for the month also features an assortment of signature bakes, including the Matcha Flan puff pastry, kimchi and bacon-stuffed Kimchi Cheese Croissant, Chocolate Hazelnut Croissant and Otah Sampan, made with homemade coconut frangipane and mackerel otah.
tigerlily_choc_hazelnut.jpg
On our previous visit to the patisserie, 8days.sg enjoyed the Chocolate Hazelnut Tart ($15), rich Piedmont hazelnut praline and Valrhona dark choc ganache topped with whipped chocolate cream and crispy cocoa nib tuile.
tigerlily_pear_guava.jpg

Also good: the Pink Guava and Pear ($13), which features a guava and elderflower mousse, filled with cubed fresh pears and guava jelly.
Tigerlily Patisserie will operate till 30 April 2024 at 350 Joo Chiat Rd, S427598. Tel: 8887 0988. More info via their website and Instagram.

k1976

OMG....satik chiobu chef tio "leetrench"...meaning she need to go for AI Course in skillfuture?

Can teach AI to make cake mah

all these sexpensive sexclusive sexquisite diabetic promotion joints need to go kaput.

congo9

Knn if you want to open cafe.
Go Johor and open cafe.
You have plentiful of staff,cheap location to rent. Big kitchen so that you can do a lot of stuff.. plus you can sell the stuff in pricing in worth in value of sgd.

Why come to this pigeon hole ?

Knn if you want to open cafe.
Go Johor and open cafe.
You have plentiful of staff,cheap location to rent. Big kitchen so that you can do a lot of stuff.. plus you can sell the stuff in pricing in worth in value of sgd.

Why come to this pigeon hole ?
can call it 69% cafe with slogan “fill up your sinkie gian png tank for less”.

Anyone who gives interview time to the local propagandists to pimp their food business should suffer the same fate. Take heed, all you 'Gen Z' hawkers selling overpriced 'atas' food at hawker centres and have a cute stall signboard. :cool:

realDonaldTrump

Still got a lot of cafes going strong
many local cafes and pastries' business model, pricing and overheads are not sustainable; they just try to churn their revenues by having more outlets and many founders are just waiting for people to buy over them.

Given Ms Ngooi's talent, many top-notch hotels will still want to hire her.

oliverlee

poor gal. I hope she took someone else's money to do her Michelin apprenticeship. Did she make back a cent? or it's just $200k down the drain? This happens when the country is crawling with roaches. They cunt even pronounce Michelin

A Singaporean

If you go into business to cater to low ses coolie gene Sinkies in hdb you will surely go bankrupt. They expect to get foc.

Balls2U

Useless Sinkies can only pay for low SES curry pok!​

Popular Tigerlily Patisserie By Ex-Les Amis Chef Closing Due To ‘Exponentially Increasing Cost Of Operations’​

Popular Tigerlily Patisserie By Ex-Les Amis Chef Closing Due To ‘Exponentially Increasing Cost Of Operations’

Follow TODAY on WhatsApp

Listen to this article

4 min

This audio is generated by an AI tool.
BY

GWYN LIM

Published April 7, 2024
Updated April 8, 2024
WhatsAppTelegramFacebookTwitterEmailLinkedIn
After three years of being a fixture in the Joo Chiat neighbourhood, Tigerlily Patisserie announced that it will be closing its doors on 30 April 2024. The popular bakery-cafe is known for its elegant mod French pastries. It first started out as an online bakery in 2020, before upgrading to a pretty botanical-themed space on Joo Chiat Road in 2021.
No part of this story or photos can be reproduced without permission from 8days.sg.

tigerlily_owner.jpg

It’s co-owned by pastry chef Maxine Ngooi, 32, who boasts an impressive CV - the World Gourmet Awards Pastry Chef Of The Year (2022) trained at three-Michelin-starred restaurant Les Amis, worked at Joel Robuchon Restaurant at RWS for two years, then became head pastry chef at the now-defunct one-Michelin-starred French restaurant Vianney Massot. After she left Vianney Massot in 2020, the Ebb & Flow group, which used to own the restaurant, invited her to start Tigerlily Patisserie. Maxine was also in charge of the menu at retro kaya toast bakery-cafe Chin Mee Chin when Ebb & Flow invested in the heritage brand.

What’s next for award-winning chef Maxine?

In Tigerlily’s official announcement on Instagram, Maxine simply states that “the world has evolved since we started and I feel that it’s time to retire Tigerlily to personally reset and explore new culinary adventures”. She also confirms that it is a “permanent closure”.
ADVERTISEMENT

Speaking to 8days.sg, Maxine says “it was very sad news to share”, adding that “the two main reasons [for the closure] are the exponentially increasing costs of operations, and that our rental lease [expiry] is coming up”.
A friend who frequents the Joo Chiat neighbourhood tells 8days.sg that the patisserie was “usually quite quiet” in recent months.
tigerlily_decor.jpg

ADVERTISEMENT

So, what’s next for the chef? Maxine shares that “for now [she] plans on taking a break for a while, with no future plans with Ebb & Flow Group at the moment”. She confirms that once Tigerlily has ceased operations, she’ll no longer be part of the Ebb & Flow Group.
Before opening Tigerlily, Maxine told 8days.sg she had initially wanted to travel and stage at restaurants around the world, but couldn’t do so due to the pandemic. She now tells 8days.sg that “it’s definitely something I’ll be looking into in future”.
tigerlily_food.jpg

Stuff to try

If you’re planning to head down to Tigerlily for a final visit before its closure, here’s what to order.
tigerlily_easter.jpg

ADVERTISEMENT

The patisserie’s swansong seasonal bakes for the month include this Easter Surprise ($24.80), which features two entremets - a golden egg, made with salted popcorn mousse and pecan praline, and a rice pudding-filled white rabbit.
The Sweet & Savoury Box ($28.50) for the month also features an assortment of signature bakes, including the Matcha Flan puff pastry, kimchi and bacon-stuffed Kimchi Cheese Croissant, Chocolate Hazelnut Croissant and Otah Sampan, made with homemade coconut frangipane and mackerel otah.
tigerlily_choc_hazelnut.jpg
On our previous visit to the patisserie, 8days.sg enjoyed the Chocolate Hazelnut Tart ($15), rich Piedmont hazelnut praline and Valrhona dark choc ganache topped with whipped chocolate cream and crispy cocoa nib tuile.
tigerlily_pear_guava.jpg

Also good: the Pink Guava and Pear ($13), which features a guava and elderflower mousse, filled with cubed fresh pears and guava jelly.
Tigerlily Patisserie will operate till 30 April 2024 at 350 Joo Chiat Rd, S427598. Tel: 8887 0988. More info via their website and Instagram.

The surname "Ngooi" is 魏 is it? Malaysian?

congo9

many local cafes and pastries' business model, pricing and overheads are not sustainable; they just try to churn their revenues by having more outlets and many founders are just waiting for people to buy over them.

Given Ms Ngooi's talent, many top-notch hotels will still want to hire her.
I visited a cafe at taman Mount Austin johor. Lady boss rented a cafe place at around 5,000 ringgit, The place is beautiful Done up.

The place is huge and with high roof. I'm sure with a cup of coffee at ice 690 ringgit serving Hong Kong style food prepared by their own chef. Your business will flourish.