• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

High salaries may not bring work happiness

MarrickG

Money cannot buy work happiness, it seems, going by the results of a recent survey.

Even top earners who earn more than $10,000 a month were not the happiest employees around, the annual survey found.

Instead, those who earn between $8,000 and $8,999 a month in gross salary were found to be the happiest group.

This was revealed in the 2011 JobsCentral Work Happiness Indicator Survey, conducted by the job portal from August to September, which polled 2,385 respondents. The survey is in its third year.

"Workers at the top end of the wage range, (in jobs) that pay more than $10,000, tend to hold senior positions with large responsibilities. Often, these positions come with a great deal of stress and worries," said JobsCentral chief executive Lim Der Shing. "We are not surprised that this group of employees is not the happiest of the bunch," he added.

Those who earn less than $1,000 came in as the second- happiest group. These employees are typically part-time workers or those holding temporary jobs.

"Usually, this group of people are working for a period of time, before moving on to something else," said Mr Lim.

"They have less attachment to their jobs and are earning cash to (offset) their expenses, as opposed to trying to make a living," he added.

Generally, workers here are happier in their jobs, with an overall work-happiness score of 57.4 out of 100.

Last year, the score was 55.5, while in 2009, it was 56.4.

Mr Lim explained: "It is not surprising that Singapore workers are happier, because pay freezes (were halted) and bonuses were mostly restored this year, after Singapore recovered from the 2009 recession.

"Furthermore, the employment market has also been good, which means that we have fewer unhappy workers stuck in unsuitable jobs."

The survey revealed that having an encouraging and reasonable management could have more of an impact on work happiness, compared to hiring workers that can get along with one another.

The happiest workers by work experience are those who have worked for about 35 to 39 years, followed by those who have worked for 30 to 34 years.

The most unhappy group of workers are those who have worked for 25 to 29 years.

The survey also found that the happiest group of employees by job function are those in the risk-management line.

And public-relations professionals were found to be the unhappiest group for the second year running.

Public-relations executive Amanda Tan, 22, told my paper that her longest work week to date consisted of five consecutive work days that lasted more than 12 hours each.

She also constantly races against time to deliver information to journalists before their press deadlines.

"We have to rush from place to place, while getting things done all at once," said Ms Tan.

For more my paper stories click here.

win liao loh...so the leeport is implying our ministers / PM / president all not happy lah?

Good loh, like that pay them 9K max enuff liao loh...why pay president a few million a year & make him unhappy?

ya, man! ...

ah loon n his jin gang shud get oni 9k each! ... :mad: ... so dat dey r happy working ...

"They have less attachment to their jobs and are earning cash to (offset) their expenses, as opposed to trying to make a living," he added.

this part very hard to understand. earning cash to offset expenses is NOT = making a living?

tell them to swap my wages for their 10k wages lah.:mad:

Eh, at least we now know those rubbish clearing grumpy uncles and aunties or banglas, they are the second most happiest group of people.

phph7AxYr.jpg

Now you know my pain