• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB Chief to Sinkies - Small Flat not Comfortable? Becos You Dun Know How to Use it

MarrickG

The construction of smaller flats does not necessarily compromise the quality of living, Housing Board (HDB) chief executive Cheong Koon Hean said yesterday.

Through the clever use of interior space, HDB flat dwellers can create a comfortable living environment, she said in response to media queries on feedback that the size of newer flats has affected their quality of life.

"(In) most of the global cities in the world...people do pay attention to how they do up the inside of the flat," she said.

"Optimise the use of furniture and storage, and it can be a very comfortable living environment."

Dr Cheong was speaking on the sidelines of the HDB Professional Forum, where experts discussed quality and design in construction.

The event was held at the HDB Hub in Toa Payoh. Winners of the HDB Awards 2011 - given out last week - shared their strategies for public housing projects with about 200 industry practitioners, including construction firms and contractors.

Dr Cheong told reporters that even though flats have become smaller, the amount of floor area per person has increased over the years.

"Our families are (becoming) smaller. In the old days, we had very large families living in flats. Today, the family (size) is two, three or four," she said. "If people take a bit of effort to do up the interior, it can be an excellent flat."

Dr Cheong added that Singaporeans can look forward to more sustainable living spaces not only in new towns like Punggol, but also in older estates. This can be achieved through the use of solar panels and tapping on renewable energy such as wind power, for example.

Dr Cheong announced yesterday a new business portal to be launched next month.

It will provide HDB's construction and design partners with access to technical specifications, conditions of contracts and schedules of rates online.

For more my paper stories click here.

Re: HDB Chief to Sinkies - Small Flat not Comfortable? Becos You Dun Know How to Use

Just one of the reasons why couples not having enough babies. HDB is one of the root problem yet using the problem that they create (smaller housing but more ex) to justify building even smaller and more sky rocket priced flats. Such idiots. Glad i dont have to tolerate this shit anymore. My children gonna thank me for living this shithole of a cuntry.

Re: HDB Chief to Sinkies - Small Flat not Comfortable? Becos You Dun Know How to Use

very good loh HDB...you build a large bomb shelter that is next to useless....n u count it as part of the room size...

another thing HDB - last time 4 room flat = 3 bedroom + 1 living room

5-room flat - 4 bedroom + 1 living room

why nowdays 4 & 5 room flat become 3 bedroom + 1 living room? Did I fail my maths or what?

... Through the clever use of interior space, HDB flat dwellers can create a comfortable living environment, she said in response to media queries on feedback that the size of newer flats has affected their quality of life ...
similar crap 2 dat smrt ceo comment on packed trains ... :rolleyes:

1. such specimen is both some running dog and bitch, all rolled into one!
2. what quality, what lifestyle, cooped up in some 4-grey walls in some pigeon-hole high up in the polluted sky.
3. did it not mention its escalating price that comes with such quality space.
4. children and grandchildren of sheep must prepare themselves living out in some cardboard or what in the near future.

stupid hdb ceo,

the reason there are lesser ppl staying in 1 flat now is because it is getting smaller.

1. such specimen is both some running dog and bitch, all rolled into one!

this sheep is a hermadrophite? :D:D:D

Of course.

585DC5BB4C140C432187044713D1A.jpg

Both women mah...women can never be wrong.

similar crap 2 dat smrt ceo comment on packed trains ... :rolleyes:

Of course.

Both women mah...women can never be wrong.

1. aiyoh!
2. equally ugly, equally heartless.
3. equally high-salaried!

Typical response from someone who is a Spore gov't employee. You will only see a change when these people are held accountable. Once Sporeans wise up & hold the gov't accountable things will change, whenever that happens :confused:

That will be 2026 :)

Maybe women knows best:(................. size don't matter to her.

She is trying to us "small one can still make you shiok, if you do it right":o

Maybe women knows best:(................. size don't matter to her.

She is trying to us "small one can still make you shiok, if you do it right":o

1. what the specimen requires is some cold hard cucumber to satisfy its urges mah!
2. yes, any size will do the job betterer.

It's true. These local losers are hopeless and useless and they want help in everything, including how to live in their own homes even.

We don't really hear of any foreign workers complaining and not knowing what to do in the flats they live in by contrast.

One only complains if they intend to stay on in Spore.
Don't think many foreignerst expect to stick around for that long :rolleyes: