This day is about a patriot who see a fucked up government but can't do shit and jump river.
Today he should start an Arab Spring.
This day is about a patriot who see a fucked up government but can't do shit and jump river.
I never did find out why we are eating Dumplings, only knew, annually we have "tan yuan" , dumplings, moon cakes..
i bet half the ppl who eat bak jang today have no idea why today is eat bak jang day. then 50% of the half who know have no idea what the patriot name was. maybe only 10% know which era and which kingdom did this patriot die in.
Mooncake is another......they were used to pass secret messages to start a revolution.
We should all learn from this festivals and rise up against tyranny!
I recall Zhang Wuji telling his Ming sect members that they will use the cakes to hide secret messages, and since the moon was shining brightly where they were having their meeting, he decided to call them mooncakes.
I thought that it was Chang Er who made them for her lover The Cowherd & they ate them with tea while they are serenading each other on the moon..that was why they were called "MOONCAKES"? no wonder Neil was disappointed he couldn't buy any to take home.
Back in my time, the "moon cakes " wrappers always show Chang Er with her basket & scattering flowers across the milky way with The Cowherd on his water buffalo..riding along..
I recall Zhang Wuji telling his Ming sect members that they will use the cakes to hide secret messages, and since the moon was shining brightly where they were having their meeting, he decided to call them mooncakes.
I thought that it was Chang Er who made them for her lover The Cowherd & they ate them with tea while they are serenading each other on the moon..that was why they were called "MOONCAKES"? no wonder Neil was disappointed he couldn't buy any to take home.
Back in my time, the "moon cakes " wrappers always show Chang Er with her basket & scattering flowers across the milky way with The Cowherd on his water buffalo..riding along..
So...de world first encrypted message are frm tiong?![]()
uncle, u totally mix up liao. chang er had nothing to do with cowherd, it shd be the weaver. the festival also wrong, it chinese valentine day. a big festival in taiwan, fall on the 7th day of the 7th month on the lunar calendar.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qixi_Festival
chang er companion at the moon is the rabbit and her lover is houyi the archer.
Yesterday I have 4 small and 1 big vegetarian dumplings.
Me too. But its halal fm my Chinese relatives.:p
lianbeng knows of Malay Muslims actually eating bak chang but their halal version lah bao mutton instead of pork!all else same mah except they steam it Muslim way lor - all Muslim standards!