GY meeting Taiwan's big shots

Perspective

Now what's going on. George Yeo is meeting all the big shots in Taiwan in his latest trip, including the President. Why are they granting him the audience.

If it's personal capacity, I don't recall George having built personal ties, I don't recall that he has ever been to Taiwan or at least not for a long time. It has to be the S'pore government who paved the way, but why are they doing that for a former minister who no longer holds office.

It's a massive publicity blitz for himself to maintain relevance for his EP bid. Slimy ass

Remember Pinky created an uproar when he sneaked into Taiwan just before his ascension to the throne.

It now seems that GY is the chosen one. Tony Tan is just a red-herring.

Now what's going on. George Yeo is meeting all the big shots in Taiwan in his latest trip, including the President. Why are they granting him the audience.

If it's personal capacity, I don't recall George having built personal ties, I don't recall that he has ever been to Taiwan or at least not for a long time. It has to be the S'pore government who paved the way, but why are they doing that for a former minister who no longer holds office.

Relax lah brudder. Maybe he is there to learn some ropes on how to be a President in case accidentally become one later. :D

Perhaps he is hoping to be President Ma's running mate for the 2012 presidential elections. :D

Or perhaps he always wanted to meet these guys to discuss politics, but was concerned about receiving e-mails from his buds Hu and Wen. :D

Or more likely, his main reason in going to Taiwan was to personally thank the organisation which provided bone marrow that saved his son, and since he was not a ministar anymore, took the chance to meet with friends whom he could not meet officially when he was in office. ;)

Perhaps he is hoping to be President Ma's running mate for the 2012 presidential elections. :D

Or perhaps he always wanted to meet these guys to discuss politics, but was concerned about receiving e-mails from his buds Hu and Wen. :D

Or more likely, his main reason in going to Taiwan was to personally thank the organisation which provided bone marrow that saved his son, and since he was not a ministar anymore, took the chance to meet with friends whom he could not meet officially when he was in office. ;)

Yeah man....Ma should be now actively looking for a new partner. Heard his current deputy Xiao Wan Chang is not going to partner him for 2012 presidential run. Any possible candidate you have in mind? GY is out of the question.

My recommendation would be Chiu Yi.
He would get some votes that Ma would otherwise have lost.
Of course, he may also lose some votes that Ma would otherwise have got. :D

My recommendation would be Chiu Yi.
He would get some votes that Ma would otherwise have lost.
Of course, he may also lose some votes that Ma would otherwise have got. :D

You mean that "Bao Liao King" Chiu Yi? No Way Mah is going to take him. Ma is downright a serious image conscious guy. He is non-confrontational and soft approach guy while Chiu Yi is straight no nonsense and comes hard. Different style. I like Chiu Yi for his guts and no fear. I like to listen to him speak, very good mandarin, logical, clear and direct.

Yeah. :D
And I know Mah won't have him, because he is too controversial. Chiu Yi went to jail when Ah Bian was the president, for driving a vehicle into a courthouse or something.
Then again, Chiu Yi is a CEC member of KMT, so he is obviously appreciated in some cases.
Like you, I admire his guts, fearless and always go for the jugular and the truth. Always prepared to fight for injustice whatever the consequences.
His spoken Taiwanese is very good too, he comes from Kaoshiung.

But I can't stand him personally. By his own self admission, he loves himself, is bald but wears a wig, appears on variety shows like Kang Xi to promote himself, is boastful, arrogant, loud, aggressive, etc. Yucks! :D

Dun play play...I was watching a documentary that covers his childhood days until he got into politics. His was very good in his studies. In Taiwan, if he is wimpy like Mah, he would not be able to do so many heroic stuff. Especially digging and exposing the unfair and corrupt officials. But he also dug wrongly also. I cannot imagine how many court cases they have to face every year. It must be like eating rice. :D

I don't deny that I admire him and he is indeed a brilliant man.
Just happens that he himself thinks so too. :D
Singapore actually needs people like him.