Gimme the hi hat, snare and tom tom

Any drummers here ? When a drummer play the fills in a song, is it following a musical notes or just suka suka can match can liao ?
For other instruments there are musical score to follow, I just unsure what about drums.

Drums follow notes as well. Sometimes fir the roll part you can fill in as you like as long as it completes on time for the next beat.

Drums control the tempo of the songs, the other members of the band will follow the drummer's tempo and beat.

Used to play a bit when young, but poor motor skills so sucked. Wanted to take drum lessons then but no money as a student. Now working adult but too many bills.

fills dont really follow anything other than that they have got to sound nice and sensible and fit into the measure. In a way you are 'composing' when you fill. Listen to a lot of music and see what the drummers do.

Any drummers here ? When a drummer play the fills in a song, is it following a musical notes or just suka suka can match can liao ?
For other instruments there are musical score to follow, I just unsure what about drums.

fills dont really follow anything other than that they have got to sound nice and sensible and fit into the measure. In a way you are 'composing' when you fill. Listen to a lot of music and see what the drummers do.

I have been trying to figure out by listening to pop music vs covers, but I cannot find the answer lor. In general they sounded alike . I even wonder when a original star drummer plays it 1 time, the 2nd time will it still be exactly the same or something different liao but of course need to be on beat count.

no bro....fills are played by feel......the first time and subsequent times will be slightly different. In a way its somewhat similar to lead guitar.....the solos they play would usually be different each time ....slight difference but still different. They ad lib along the way and the really good guys do it very well.

Similarly the drummers....the drum solos and fill-ins usually vary for the same song.....but always remember ....they have to sound sensible....meaning appropriate for the song and also be within the measure.

I have been trying to figure out by listening to pop music vs covers, but I cannot find the answer lor. In general they sounded alike . I even wonder when a original star drummer plays it 1 time, the 2nd time will it still be exactly the same or something different liao but of course need to be on beat count.

no bro....fills are played by feel......the first time and subsequent times will be slightly different. In a way its somewhat similar to lead guitar.....the solos they play would usually be different each time ....slight difference but still different. They ad lib along the way and the really good guys do it very well.

Similarly the drummers....the drum solos and fill-ins usually vary for the same song.....but always remember ....they have to sound sensible....meaning appropriate for the song and also be within the measure.

talk cock lah..

That was what I guessed too. I mean how can anyone remember exactly when to tong and when to qiang with so many tom toms and cymbals, unless there is a music score. But I have only seen drum music score for children songs and military music. :cool: