Get ready for dirt cheap flats....Cow Boon Wan wanna clean up Marlboro Tan's mess

cooleo

Minister to tackle housing concerns from clean slate

400moh_khawboonwan.jpg

As he steps to the plate at the National Development Ministry (MND), Minister Khaw Boon Wan is "driven by one thought".

Said the current Health Minister "I am determined to make housing and HDB Singaporeans' popular icon again."

"Housing is one of the greatest achievements of Singapore and our pride. It is very sad to see it being hammered left, right and centre in the lead up to and during the GE," he shared in a blog post on Friday.

Three years ago, Minister Khaw started the Ministry of Health (MOH) blog to engage Singaporeans over health issues. On Friday, he penned his last blog entry.

Titled "Goodbye, My Friends", Minister Khaw shared his feelings of "trepidation" as he moves from MOH to MND.

"I came to MOH during SARS with some trepidation, not quite sure what I was walking into," said Minister Khaw. "I will go to MND with even greater trepidation."

"First, it is red-hot with widespread unhappiness. Second, unlike MOH which is familiar territory, housing is a new frontier for me," he said.

Calling for Singaporeans to "bear with me" and extend support, he promised to "work triply hard to shorten the learning curve".

"I will listen intently to all suggestions and criticism. I will work humbly with the housing experts in MND and beyond," he stated.

Minister Khaw joined MOH in 2003 when SARS erupted. Since then, he has handled numerous tricky situations, such as the NKF and Ren Ci scandals, H1N1 and bed crunch.

He also embarked on MediShield reform, Eldershield, Medisave liberalisation and the launch of new hospitals.

"It was an eventful eight-year term at MOH. I think, to some degree, it has been productive too," he said.

But there is "unfinished business", he added, citing the transformation of the long-term care sector, ensuring nursing home affordability, Eldershield reform, expanding polyclinics and the establishment of the third medical school.

"I will trust this agenda to the next Health Minister," he said. He hopes incoming Health Minister Gan Kim Yong will find the blog useful too.

"As I bid goodbye to all my friends, I am leaving MOH with optimism that our healthcare system will continue to make progress. I am confident because of the quality of leadership at MOH and its many world class institutions," said Minister Khaw.

"We are not perfect, I know. But it is not bad. It certainly offers very good value for money," he said.

Separately, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said his appointment as the Minister coordinating economic and social policies signals a new phase in the government's commitment to inclusive growth, reported Channel NewsAsia.

He told reporters at a community event that there will be more listening before polices are formulated and there will be more discussions when refining ideas.

He said he wants to adopt an open mind and review everything without fear. This includes looking at trade-offs in areas such as foreign workers, housing supply and subsidies for broad groups of people.

He said his instincts are to do things in a more caring way, rather than to raise taxes in order to spend a lot more.

However, Minister Shanmugaratnam - who will be also promoted to Deputy Prime Minister - cautioned against falling flat without being able to deliver much and delivering change for popularity's sake.

no way flats will be much cheaper...............the real reason why new flats and hence resale flats are more and more expensive is to wipe out S'poreans' CPF accounts................

why ? becoz the CPF is an unsustainable blackhole of a ponzi-scheme...............and there's not enough money to pay out !

no way flats will be much cheaper...............the real reason why new flats and hence resale flats are more and more expensive is to wipe out S'poreans' CPF accounts................

why ? becoz the CPF is an unsustainable blackhole of a ponzi-scheme...............and there's not enough money to pay out !

they can subsidize young couples

also legalize euthanasia for the old useless Sinkie peasants to kill themselves, making way for the young