• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Finally, 35 years later, HDB puts solar panels on roof, PAP is so innovative....not

[h=1]New BTO flats to have rooftops designed for solar panels: HDB[/h]
SINGAPORE - Installing solar panels on new Housing Board blocks will soon be a faster and cheaper affair. Since May (2017), new Build-to-Order flats with sufficient rooftop space have been designed to be solar-ready, said the HDB in a statement on Friday (Sept 1).
This means that essential block services like water tanks are placed in a way to optimise available rooftop space, while support structures and electrical infrastructure for the panels are catered for. That way, there is a reduced need for rewiring and hacking works down the line, saving time and costs.
Such rooftops cut down the time taken for panels to be installed, from 40 days to 25. The cost of installation is also about 40 per cent cheaper.

The energy generated through the panels can then be used to power common services for the block, such as lifts.

The move is HDB’s latest measure to develop its solar capabilities for more sustainable living — a project that began in 2008.
The agency is installing the bulk of solar photovoltaic systems here. It has committed to fulfil over 60 per cent of the nationwide target of 350 megawatt peak (MWp) - the maximum amount of solar power that can be generated under optimum conditions - by 2020. This will fuel about 5 per cent of energy demands here.

To do so, the HDB is targeting to install solar panels across 5,500 blocks within the same timeframe.
This would generate clean energy to power about 55,000 four-room flats every year. Carbon emissions, projected to hit 77.2 million tonnes in 2020, will be reduced by 132,500 tonnes a year.
As of July (2017), 944 HDB blocks have solar panels fitted on their roofs, which fully power common services for the estates, like lifts and water pumps. This makes up about 45 per cent of Singapore's current total solar installations.
Using solar power helps to mitigate rising electricity costs.
As a result, on average, all 944 HDB blocks are able to achieve net-zero energy consumption, where the total amount of energy used by the building is roughly equal to the amount of renewable energy created on-site.
Excess solar energy is channelled back to the national electrical grid, and currently, there is enough to power about 10,000 four-room flats each year.
Solar-ready roofs were first rolled out to six blocks at the Punggol Edge development and later extended to 27 blocks at Punggol Northshore in April last year (2016).
In its statement, the HDB said that all new public housing blocks with at least 400 sqm of open roof space will be designed with solar-ready roofs where feasible.
It will also review projects that are currently under construction to see if solar-ready roofs can be incorporated into their design.
As of last month (August), a total of 18 HDB projects have been designed with solar-ready roofs, including ongoing BTO projects in Sengkang, Bidadari and Bukit Batok.
The HDB told The Straits Times that despite the new feature, however, not all BTOs will be handed over to town councils with solar panels installed.
“For better economies of scale, HDB will need to first aggregate sufficient demand before calling a solar-leasing tender. As such, it would not always be feasible to install solar panels on the roofs of HDB blocks from the onset,” a spokesman said.
But where feasible, she added, the HDB will try to do so. For example, projects such as Treelodge@Punggol, SkyVille@Dawson and SkyTerrace@Dawson came with solar panels installed.

Re: Finally, 35 years later, HDB puts solar panels on roof, PAP is so innovative....n

Get those fucking lifts in order first... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Re: Finally, 35 years later, HDB puts solar panels on roof, PAP is so innovative....n

No so fast, amigo!...those solar panels is not going to make your lives cheaper or beneficial....it will benefit HDB & all their related companies...they will plug that energy into the grid & sell that to you or sell the energy to power whatever to the TC at a "discount price" & TC will charge you in their TC Fees or incorporated into the TC fees, their "already discounted price"...that is HDB sells at 5 cents to TC...TC will say...the price was 15 cents , they discount 5 cents & charge the residents 10 cents.

It will not benefit you & me...it is another of their shows, to show that they use renewable energy....that renewable energy is to power their wallets at your expenses...only the 70% are NODDY who believes..

Only when they are 100% sure they copy.

Next will ownself praised ownself become hub centre for solar.

How lian leow.

Market now techonlogy is perpetual free electricity. See utube show u how to DIY.

The air that we breathe , the water we drink, the ground we walk, the flat we live in do not belong to us, there is no mention of licence to be be paid..I am sure there is some regulation in this https://www.ema.gov.sg/Solar_Photovoltaic_Systems.aspx

There was one, sometime ago in the news, installed a water recycling collection system in his landed property & was told by Water Authority ( PUB) to remove it for it contravene some rules & regulations, we never dive into.

Nothing is free here...as long as it as PAY & PAY...

kkbutterfly

what happened if Indo decided to be generous and donates some haze to Sg?
the panels still works or not?

bobby

All potential solar panel suppliers must join PAP grassroots now.....

borom

When fuel cost goes down , they say non-fuel cost (the cost of generating and delivering electricity to homes) goes up and vice versa- so prices always on an upward trend.

In how many country can a company just pass on ALL its cost to consumers and make money NO MATTER what conditions prevail.
However when they venture overseas, they kena properly .
Just one example will do-
'' Sembcorp Industries chief Neil McGregor said .... Sembcorp Gayatri Power,.. yet to secure long-term power purchase agreements, we continue to rely on short-term contracts. As a result of very weak spot and short-term power tariffs, the plant incurred losses in first half 2017.”
.......posted $55 million in losses. To add on to the woes, conditions are expected to last. McGregor said: “We expect spot and short-term tariffs to remain weak over the next 2 to 3 years ''

Nothing very surprising here-train breakdowns, lifts not working, long hospital waiting time, deaths in hospitals due to negligence, -the list goes on BUT nobody resign and ministers salary still highest in the world.

Peter Lim to Huat?
He invested in solar power big time some time back

Solar power technology is a bad idea.

It's expensive and the payback period could be 5 to 10 years to break even. Plus, with the amount of R&D going on now guarantees any major project becomes obsolete as soon as it's implemented. That's why take up is so slow even in 1st world countries.

But I guess the scholars at HDB have out thought everyone again

BIG DEAL!!!

About 12 years ago, the rooftops of Yunnan's public housing were already covered in their entirety with solar panels.

Now HDB doing it only when they can "make money" out of the scheme.

All this talk about "green" philosophy by the PAP is just BS.

Agree. The same setup is about 2,5 times cheaper in UK and OZ. In Singapore there is also the challenge for roof space. You need to install 20 solar panels to hit close to 50% savings. Because plot size is too small, houses make do by building upwards 2 to 3 stories but end up with smaller space and end up with 8 panels and 10% savings.

Solar power technology is a bad idea.

It's expensive and the payback period could be 5 to 10 years to break even. Plus, with the amount of R&D going on now guarantees any major project becomes obsolete as soon as it's implemented. That's why take up is so slow even in 1st world countries.

But I guess the scholars at HDB have out thought everyone again

Agree. The same setup is about 2,5 times cheaper in UK and OZ. In Singapore there is also the challenge for roof space.

how about cloud covers?

The air that we breathe , the water we drink, the ground we walk, the flat we live in do not belong to us, there is no mention of licence to be be paid..I am sure there is some regulation in this https://www.ema.gov.sg/Solar_Photovoltaic_Systems.aspx

There was one, sometime ago in the news, installed a water recycling collection system in his landed property & was told by Water Authority ( PUB) to remove it for it contravene some rules & regulations, we never dive into.

Nothing is free here...as long as it as PAY & PAY...

I recalled many years ago, a smart flat dweller installed a grey water recovery system in his HDB pigeonhole. He routed shower water to toilet cistern and used that grey water to flush his shit. If the HDB installed such a system, millions of gallons could have been saved. But PUB almost must make money in those days mah. So a fantastic idea was killed off.

Agree. The same setup is about 2,5 times cheaper in UK and OZ. In Singapore there is also the challenge for roof space. You need to install 20 solar panels to hit close to 50% savings. Because plot size is too small, houses make do by building upwards 2 to 3 stories but end up with smaller space and end up with 8 panels and 10% savings.

Talk cock lah Simi lancheow challenge for roof space? Solar panels are so efficient now. A small one can power a smart parking meter that uses remote credit card payments, have a print machine that generates a ticket, etc. these sort of smart parking meters are power intensive, but a small panel has no problem powering it. U put solar panels not only on HDB roofs, also in army camps, campus and factory roof tops, etc. U can also float them on the reservoirs that we have. If the PAP had half a brain and 10% of the will, they can easily cut 20% usage off the grid thru solar power. But of course, as usual, lets not let the facts get in the way or your fantasy narrative. Dumb ass.

solar-powered-parking-meter-picture-id521454644

7614c7205535b2a4b9ab128ac69aeb.jpg

When fuel cost goes down , they say non-fuel cost (the cost of generating and delivering electricity to homes) goes up and vice versa- so prices always on an upward trend.

In how many country can a company just pass on ALL its cost to consumers and make money NO MATTER what conditions prevail.
However when they venture overseas, they kena properly .
Just one example will do-
'' Sembcorp Industries chief Neil McGregor said .... Sembcorp Gayatri Power,.. yet to secure long-term power purchase agreements, we continue to rely on short-term contracts. As a result of very weak spot and short-term power tariffs, the plant incurred losses in first half 2017.”
.......posted $55 million in losses. To add on to the woes, conditions are expected to last. McGregor said: “We expect spot and short-term tariffs to remain weak over the next 2 to 3 years ''

Nothing very surprising here-train breakdowns, lifts not working, long hospital waiting time, deaths in hospitals due to negligence, -the list goes on BUT nobody resign and ministers salary still highest in the world.

The fact is that the PAP has absolutely no incentive to reduce the power cost and usage to the peasants. In fact, quite the contrary. When SIngpower and what not are all GLC, the more money they make off the back of the peasants, the more flows into the coffers of Stomachsick and Whore Jinx. Why would they kill the golden goose? If it was a real competitive system, we might get a lower price. Sinkies are really stupid. This is the govt that they voted for.

sg is way behind. engineers are looking less at the roof of skyscrapers for solar panel placement. they are now looking at every window of highrises for optimal placement.

IMG_0144.JPG

the first highrise with solar panels on the entire side of the building.

IMG_0145.JPG