Experts: Singapore can do with a lower level of immigration + WHERE IS OUR MONEY?

[h=2]Experts: Singapore can do with a lower level of immigration[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
February 13th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

Singapore-crowds-300x200.jpg

The replacement fertility rate of 2.1 is a highly “artificial number”, according to Professor Wolfgang Lutz, founding director at Wittgenstein Centre for Demography and Global Human Capital.

Prof Lutz opined, “2.1 is often taken as a benchmark, but it doesn’t really deserve the status. It’s a highly artificial number.”

He said that the figure does not take into account of education levels, migration and mortality rates, which are all constantly changing. With better education, the younger generation is expected to be more productive in their work. They also stay longer in the workforce.

=> But the FAP Traitors are eager to expire SGs when they reach their 40s. This then explains their need for Ponzi Population to prop up the CPF piggy bank milked dry by the Familee of Gamblers!

He said, “Once you factor this in, then actually a fertility (rate) of around 1.7 may be best. Because then you have somewhat fewer children, but you can invest more per child and that will more than compensate for the smaller size of the cohort.”

Prof Lutz was speaking at a seminar organised by the NUS Department of Sociology.

Another speaker, Professor Chua Beng Huat, NUS Head of the Sociology Department, said, “Precisely because we’re investing so much in education, that the quality of the population will be improving consistently, that we do not have to work on 2.1 as the replacement rate. We can actually take a lower rate and we’ll still be economically healthy.”

This means Singapore can do with a lower level of immigration.

He said, “If we can tolerate a lower – when you say we can tolerate less than 2.1 (fertility rate), it also means that the total population calculation numbers will come down. Which also means the number of immigrants you take in will also be less than what’s currently projected.”

Experts also think that there may be a need to rethink and adjust the old-age dependency ratio, which is currently defined by the number of people aged 65 years and older, divided by the number of working age adults.

So, rather than looking at the numbers, experts say the focus should be on education.

The government recently released a White Paper addressing Singapore’s low birth rate and ageing population.

Minister Vivian Balakrishnan wrote on his Facebook, “We are facing the crisis of our lifetime. Our citizen population will halve every two generations.”
“The real emergency is not babies, but ageing… By 2030, the number of senior citizens older than 65 years will triple to 900,000. Who will look after us? Today, we have almost six working-age citizens for every senior. In 2030, we will only have two.”

=> More pressing question - WHERE IS OUR MONEY?

Vivian then talked about “topping up” Singapore with foreign workers in the next 2 decades.
He said, “Hence, we will need some kind of ‘top up’ over the next two decades – foreigners to work with us, care for us, pay taxes and to help create opportunities.”

“Actually even 1M extra foreigners will still mean far less young people supporting seniors than today.”
He said the Govt focus is on the welfare of the current 3.2 million Singapore citizens and future Singaporean children.
He added, “Everyone and everything else is secondary.”
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

Our PAP government is the most expensive government in the world. Now, they also claim to be the best of the bestest. So, when they speak, 60 percent of sinkees listen. The rest of us just curse, swear and wish the worst befall the ministers. Back to the topic, how dare this expert questions the PAP government?

One solution to lower levels of immigration: raise the retirement age from 62 to 67, CPF age from 55 to 60.

Please don't make the lesser educated older folk suffer.. those who do odd jobs or part-time work may not be able to do the hard labour when in their late 50s.

There's got to be better solutions and ideas.

2.1 an artificial humber? 1.7 leh? Even worst isn't it?
This Chua fella is one well known liberal that speaks with an accent and parrots western liberal for decades.
The west is in trouble now. And they want to teach us what to do?

BTW, are we even at 1.7?

Won't 1.7 mean there will be even more foreigners to singkies by ratio?
You see how these liberals alwasy end up contradicting themselves?

Ki-siao wants to challenge the experts' opinions? What qualifications do you have?
What papers have you written?
The Chinese invented gunpowder.. but guess who made cannons and explosives?
Chinese saying goes, take the good and use it to cover the bad.

Don't waste our time with your nonsense, Ki-siao.

Ki-siao wants to challenge the experts' opinions?

You want to start calling names or debate decently? Do that one more time and you will end up on my banned list again. Try it.

What qualifications do you have?
What papers have you written?
The Chinese invented gunpowder.. but guess who made cannons and explosives?
Chinese saying goes, take the good and use it to cover the bad.

Don't waste our time with your nonsense, Ki-siao.

Who is to say who is an expert? Has this so called expert ran a country like our govt or any govt?
Logically, how can we maintain out population with a fertility of 1.7?

And the still unanswered question that none of you dare to answer is, are we even at 1.7?

Who is to say who is an expert? Has this so called expert ran a country?
Logically, how can we maintain out population with a fertility of 1.7?

We don't need a larger population. The PAP increased the population, flooding the tiny dot with aliens, most of them were not suitable. They were allowed it only because they were willing to work for pennies.

And the still unanswered question that none of you dare to answer is, are we even at 1.7?

Our population can increase if there is work-life balance, if incomes are higher for the heartlanders etc. It is the PAP policies that got us into this mess in the first place.

We don't need a larger population. The PAP increased the population, flooding the tiny dot with aliens, most of them were not suitable. They were allowed it only because they were willing to work for pennies.
We don't need a higher fertility and immigrants if we have oil or minerals from the ground.
Do we have oil or minerals from the ground?
Why you so silly my fren? Some idiot who never ran anything but sit in his academy say something illogical n you believe him?

Our population can increase if there is work-life balance, if incomes are higher for the heartlanders etc. It is the PAP policies that got us into this mess in the first place.

Our incomes can increase if our economy grows.

We don't need a higher fertility and immigrants if we have oil or minerals from the ground.
Do we have oil or minerals from the ground?
Why you so silly my fren? Some idiot who never ran anything but sit in his academy say something illogical n you believe him?

Non-renewable resource is just a one-time advantage. Look at Malaysia as an example.
The population will replace itself when people have work-life balance. And that can only come about if the policies allow for that. Do you know how expensive it is to raise a kid in sinkapore? And the stress associated with trying to give the kid a good chance to succeed is so high. That's why sinkees don't want to make too many babies. How to tahan the cost and the stress? PAP policies, as you are fully aware, contributed to the two factors.

Our incomes can increase if our economy grows.

Agree. We don't need to grow an economy by increasing the population.

we had long been a welfare state for papees n cronies where they first claim that
they should be paid XXX amount of $$$ if not, they would be better off in private sector or in biz themselves.

By "default", since we do not have enough opposition to veto all these "claims", these leeches at the first split second
when they are elected or "elected" thru walkovers, commit FUNDAMENTAL BREACH of what they claim.

They hold tonnes of appointments, directorships and/or in biz themselves.

Having more than one appointment does not give one more than 24hrs per calendar day...

Question remains: WHO did they neglect?

Shareholders of public listed companies?

(Public) Stakeholders of GLC or statutory boards?

or???

We had long been providing WELFARE STATE facilities for PAPees n CRONIES....

MY FELLOW SINGAPOREANS PLEASE...

REMEMBER to

VOTE papees OUT

do yrself, yr forefathers and yr generations to come, a favor, a service and a long-awaited justice

;););):D:D:D;););)

You want to start calling names or debate decently? Do that one more time and you will end up on my banned list again. Try it.

KNN those fucker don't know Honey's prowess and want to call her names. The most they could call is limited to 'cock sucker' more than that they are asking for trouble....don't believe... try lah...and at your own risk....I had ended up in her bed half my life.

Ki-siao is behaving like a kid.. and also "a pot calling the kettle black"
check ur own posts to see who starts calling who names.
decent debate? u never stick to facts and always veer off-topic.. why would I want to waste time to DEBATE with you?

And, experts on certain fields HAVE been roped in by governments to help with running the country. It has happened in the past.. and it will continue to happen now and into the future. Or else why would there be think-tanks around?

Our PAPpies PE candidate is a "asshole" surgeon.. an expert in his field.. even he is running for candidacy in parliament.. so.. are the lines any clearer?

And.. I didn't call him an expert first.. the newspapers referred to Prof Lutz as such.. You mean the media is lying?
Then I dare you to write it down.

Leaders need the support of very many people (from all types of background and profession) to help them run a country.
And experts in their own fields are free to offer their own opinions to the government, people, or to the world.. for if they are wrong.. many other experts in that field would have pointed it out very quickly.

So which field of expertise are you in, Ki-siao?

Wow cannot debate issues need to start name calling n cursing already. Ahahahahahahah..........................

Ki-siao can't even stick to the posts.. where's the cursing?

sigh.. ki-siao is ki-siao.. no hope.. no salvation.. and.. no pity from me for this person.

When faced with facts, this ki-siao resort to taunting and also name calling.. to distract and distort.

So, here I am.. refusing to fall into the trap, but rather put up points, and also facts to let others decide who is putting up "food for thought", and who is just rambling nonsense.

work-life balance, swiss standard of living. People take what they want from the west and forgot the rest. Forgot it is just as stressful in Taiwan, HK and Japan. But PAP is to blame. Not the kiasu asian culture. In Europe, shops close at office hours, dun open on weekends - that's the other side of the swiss standard of living. But whole of asia is different.