[h=2]Ex-Election Returning Officer: Current voting process unfair[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
June 2nd, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

vote-288x300.jpg
I’ve read some comments on this site with regard to whether our votes are indeed secret. I had been a Returning Officer in numerous GEs and can vouch that there is nothing for voters to worry – our votes are secret.
Notwithstanding, the current voting process is flawed in that it allows the ruling party to zoom-in and map out Voters’ support.
Example of Voting Process @ Polling Station:

• Residents living between blocks 1 and 10, assigned to lane A1, drop the voting slips in box marked A1;
  • Residents living between blocks 11 and 20, assigned to lane A2, drop the voting slips in box marked A2;
  • Residents living between blocks 21 and 30, assigned to lane A3, drop the voting slips in box marked A3.

These marked boxes were then sent to the counting center to be counted in the exact same arrangement, box by box. Observers from contesting parties in the counting center should then be able to gauge the voting pattern in the respective boxes and thereby indirectly know how each zone voted. Now the parity ends here.

Before next GE, the election commission shall be tasked by the PMO (which it reports to) to undertake a review of the electoral boundaries and mark out the constituencies. It is obvious then that statistics of voting patterns from the previous GE would likely be used as critical inputs to align electoral boundaries in accordance to voters support for the ruling party. Think about Serangoon Central being subsumed into Marine Parade GRC and part of Hougang into Ang Mo Kio GRC. Such gerrymandering of electoral boundaries prior to every GE serve an unfair advantage to the ruling party even before voting begins.
Voting should not only be secret but the process must be fair to all contesting parties. All voting slips should be mixed up prior to counting.
Dear fellow true bred Singaporeans, I urge you to please vote in confidence and ensure that we create history by voting in an alternate government who cares for Singapore and has the Singaporeans First agenda.
Let’s re-charge and take charge!
Caroline Charles
rw.loader.gif

This is the Kiasu PAP at work! Totally scandalous! They have no confidence in a truly secret vote.

OMG!!!!

TR and TOC must pick this up and expose the electoral leak!!!!!!

Effectively our votes are no longer secret as they can be vengeful and retaliate against the blocks that vote against them.

Now I understand why some HDB blocks are demolished while others remained untouched, in the name of development.

Sheeeesh.....Singapore politics is no different from Philipino politics, minus the guns.

This is open secret long again.
This is why some boundaries are so ridiculously drawn.

I presume she is referring to individual precints and these results are not released to the public but they are interestingly released to all contesting candidates. The candidates are require to sign a confidentiality clause for this. The PAP is not dumb. By making the opposition aware of this, no one can accuse it of subterfuge.

That data is highly valuable to not only for gerrymandering but to narrow down hotspots and target treatment. The opposition though privy to the results are not in a position to do much. But to some, it seems to be privilege to have some secrets entrusted to them, while others think that they have the means to do something meaingful about it.

The opposition should instead refuse to see it and demand that gathering results by precints should be disallowed.

since there are 3 boxes, let say i ignore the ED officials and put my ballot paper on the wrong box, will i be charged?

You won't be able to do that. I tried unsuccessfully in 2006. Was stopped by the official. Gave me a blank look when i asked him the reason for stopping me. But i chickened out and lan lan put it in the designated box.

i actually accept gerrymandering as the incumbent natural advantage in election. WP, SDP will also do gerrymandering if they are in power. well they are dumb if they don't do it.

No, shit for brains. If you are confident of your policy and rule with the people in mind, the people will keep voting you back. You don't need to gerrymander just to win. In the US, regardless of whether the Democrats or Republicans win, no party gerrymanders the elections boundaries when they are in power. Understand this simple fact or not?

OMG!!!!.....Singapore politics is no different from Philipino politics, minus the guns.

You are absolutely right - but may be worse than Philipino politics.

That's how they got LTK and his gang voted in SMC Hougang and Aljunied GRC.

With the proposed new highway, the land grab at Rochore it's going to cost the PAP them some votes, added to are those living in Bishan, Marymount,.....who will also lose their homes . I think the next GE is going to be very interesting ;)

The name sounds like an FT, then PAP totallly deserve this. They always think that FTs are better right?

Dear fellow true bred Singaporeans, I urge you to please vote in confidence and ensure that we create history by voting in an alternate government who cares for Singapore and has the Singaporeans First agenda.
Let’s re-charge and take charge!
Caroline Charles

No, shit for brains. If you are confident of your policy and rule with the people in mind, the people will keep voting you back. You don't need to gerrymander just to win. In the US, regardless of whether the Democrats or Republicans win, no party gerrymanders the elections boundaries when they are in power. Understand this simple fact or not?

the United States has a long history of gerrymandering. just google search. GCT probably learn the Marine Parade snake tactic from the US congressional districts.
will you say since both Democrat/Republican also do bipartisan gerrymandering, their redistricting is ok unlike the Singapore situation?

it's frustrating if one is on the receiving end of gerrymandering. but most political parties will gerrymander to achieve the desired electoral result if they can do so.

I presume she is referring to individual precints and these results are not released to the public but they are interestingly released to all contesting candidates. The candidates are require to sign a confidentiality clause for this. The PAP is not dumb. By making the opposition aware of this, no one can accuse it of subterfuge.
hahaha...what a relevation.....
how can the papee be not dumb if they use gahmen (PA) fund to arrange for transport and food parcels for ppl to attend papee rallies......lol.

the United States has a long history of gerrymandering. just google search. GCT probably learn the Marine Parade snake tactic from the US congressional districts.
will you say since both Democrat/Republican also do bipartisan gerrymandering, their redistricting is ok unlike the Singapore situation?

it's frustrating if one is on the receiving end of gerrymandering. but most political parties will gerrymander to achieve the desired electoral result if they can do so.

The last 50 years, any US party carried out gerrymandering or not? US citizens will not stand for it. In the last 50 years, PAP carry out gerrymandering how many times? I lost count. Gerrymandering is a political evil that the US has learned not to do. GCT could have taken the good points of the US political system and implemented it, instead he chose to implement the worse parts. Only Arsewipes like u will justify PAP gerrymandering by saying "look the US did it too".

the Democrat/Republican continued/proliferated gerrymandering for many decades till now. do google search.

i repeat for last time. i don’t begrudge the PAP for gerrymandering because everybody will do it. gerrymandering is of course an unfair electoral redistricting practice and rightfully condemned. but IMO, gerrymandering is necessary for the political party to protect it’s self interests. politics is realistic, not idealistic.

the Democrat/Republican continued/proliferated gerrymandering for many decades till now. do google search.

i repeat for last time. i don’t begrudge the PAP for gerrymandering because everybody will do it. gerrymandering is of course an unfair electoral redistricting practice and rightfully condemned. but IMO, gerrymandering is necessary for the political party to protect it’s self interests. politics is realistic, not idealistic.

Redrawing of electoral districts are common in politics all over the world. Any ruling party can do it. Only the ignorant complain.

Kinana said:
Redrawing of electoral districts are common in politics all over the world. Any ruling party can do it. Only the ignorant complain.

Miss, could you name us some examples and how do they redraw the boundaries?

hahaha.....i was waiting for someone to point this out......
u should know who is the RO.....don't think she knows what is a Returning Officer???