Escalator caught FIRE at Toa Payoh MRT Station

[h=2]SCDF: An escalator caught FIRE at Toa Payoh MRT station this morning[/h]Posted by temasektimes on April 10, 2012
An escalator in Toa Payoh MRT station caught FIRE this morning at around 9 a.m causing anxious commuters to disperse promptly.
The Temasek Times has earlier reported that ‘smoke’ was seen coming out from a side escalator at Toa Payoh MRT station emanating a pungent smell at the same time.
According to a tip-off we received from a netizen Daniel Lim:
“We could smell something burning and all of sudden, thick black smoke can be seen emanating from the escalator.”
Jeffrey Wong added:
“Saw it this morning when I m going to take train at Toa payoh mrt station. I am thinking is it the train that caught fire!”
Noel Kwang posted on Facebook that he saw the place cordoned off with SCDF and the MRT police personnel standing guard there. Another netizen added he heard an announcement by SMRT over the PA system apologizing for the inconvenience caused by the situation.
In a statement released to the media, SCDF confirmed the incident.
“The SCDF received a call at 9.13am today, informing us of an escalator that had caught fire at Toa Payoh MRT station. One fire engine, one red rhino, two fire bikes and three support vehicles arrived at the scene eight minutes later. When SCDF personnel reached the scene, the fire had already been put out by the station staff.”
There were no reported injuries and SCDF has launched an investigation to determine the cause of the fire.
As usual, there are no statements from SMRT on the latest ‘unavoidable’ disruption which has made a mockery of Singapore’s supposedly ‘First World’ public transport statement.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________​

It is an honest mistake, to pay you buggers millions.

I was at the Toa Payoh station & saw plenty of service personnel, about 10 to 20:confused: I thought it was some kind of training going on:)

Nowadays if you see so many service people around an MRT station, it's usually a problem;)

Expect $Million FAP minister to say that fire breaking out in MRT stations is 'unavoidable'?

Me and many I know voting opposition till we can no longer vote, is unavoidable, unless 50% of PAP, including LKY, is removed.

For stations like Toa Payoh walking down is not too bad, but there are some stations which are deep, deep down like the Buono Vista & Commonwealth connection, Little India(Mckenzie entrance),..... if the escalator ever breakdown pity anyone who's using these stations. Murphy's law applies especially to Spore, whatever will go wrong will go wrong in Spore :D

I was at the Toa Payoh station & saw plenty of service personnel, about 10 to 20:confused: I thought it was some kind of training going on:)

Nowadays if you see so many service people around an MRT station, it's usually a problem;)

There was a track fault on the north red line yesterday at around 6pm. I was in the train when the annoucement came.

bro, i think i've found the cause to all of Ass MRT's problem.

You Lah!!

seems like everytime you're on/near a train, the farking thing breaks down. :D:D

Another MRT disruption :eek: It's becoming a daily affair ;)

The Toa Payoh incident had to do with the fire incident. The service personnel I saw were in red jackets & crowded around the escalators. They had taken apart the escalators. It was only later that I found out it was a problem with fire. So maybe next time we will see incidents of both track disruptions & escalator problems. With the heavy use, I guess breakdowns will become more common in Spore. Especially since there's no redundancy built into the system.

bro, i think i've found the cause to all of Ass MRT's problem.

You Lah!!

seems like everytime you're on/near a train, the farking thing breaks down. :D:D

Ok lah, next time I take a bus lor :D

The SCDF received a call at 9.13am today, informing us of an escalator that had caught fire at Toa Payoh MRT station. One fire engine, one red rhino, two fire bikes and three support vehicles arrived at the scene eight minutes later. When SCDF personnel reached the scene, the fire had already been put out by the station staff.”

What a bunch of sinkie dumbfucks!!!