Do you think netizens should make anonymous postings?” - PM Lee

The large number of anonymous comments is a result the system of govt in place and actions that the govt has taken in the past. Where in the world do you find the most anonymous bloggers and netizens - in China, Russia and Burma. In N. Korea, the govt simply cut the citizens off the Internet to build a nation wide intranet where every user can be tracked and monitored so that it is hard to be anonymous...when you can do that the only get praises for Dear Leader and Brilliant Comrade. Countries and govts that cope well with the Internet are also those that have over time respected the rights of their citizens to speak freely. Govts and systems that depend on propaganda and information control to rule the people are the ones that find it hard to cope with the new media.

At the end of the day does anonymity really matters? Maybe for those in power to have the ability to extract apology and issue threats of defamation to frighten oppenents. But for the vast majority of netizens over time they know it doesn't matter. You don't go behind Wikipedia to find out who wrote the page you;re reading, you know it is not perfect but can be relied on most of the time. On the Internet, anyone can start a blog, a discussion group, a website put up his ideas openly for feedback and anyone can freely criique his ideas. The PAP seems to have problem with this whole concept because it cannot control the informaton, it cannot suppress the competing points of views - we keep hearing complaints from the PAP about the Internet. The same problems they have with democracy. They are running a system that works well only when information can be filtered and ideas flow top down for acceptance by the ordinary citizens....but times have changed and the PAP monopoly of ideas has been eroded by the Internet and they seem to have to great difficulty adjusting and competing....

- http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=54363#1

He wants transparency? He can start by revealing to the people the figures of the national reserves. Quid pro quo. Otherwise, it's no more than empty rhetoric. :rolleyes:

quite shapely figures the last time i saw.......38 24 38

He wants transparency? He can start by revealing to the people the figures of the national reserves. Quid pro quo. Otherwise, it's no more than empty rhetoric. :rolleyes:

Honesty is the issue NOT anonymity. For what is the relevance for someone who is known, to post words that are untruthful? :oIo:

What is the point if someone who is known, or isn't anonymous, continues to post irrelevant issues, disingenuously? :oIo:

Anonymity is not the issue, being truthful or sincere to one's thoughts and feelings is what is crucial. Anonymity is not the issue. Being paid the highest salaries in the world, many times over, one would think that the PAPzis will have better issues to counter. :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

After we make postng then got slamm again by his underling.

That is very true! As usual, head they win, tail we lose type of mentality the ministers have.

anonymous lah........if not fucktards like kopiuncle already kena blanket party and gangbang and his house kena burn down liao

From the man who claimed that raise GST can help the poor, he should be asking if politicians should make dishonest statements.

Ruler Loong must reveal the extent of his clan's wealth hoard before asking his detractors to reveal themselves.

He must repeal the evil Infernal Security Act.

Dismantle the Amakudari/Patronage system.

Put an end to Dynastic Succession.

Be less tardy in addressing the real concerns of suffering peasants.

Do away with the vile GRC system.

This is a farking Asiatic despotic regime where any dissenting views will be rewarded with undue harassment from the Infernal Security Dogs. Many who challenged the regime with the darnest facts about their vile statecraft relegated to baboons exiled overseas or are foisted with silly charges e.g. Horny Prof Teh.

I think Lions XII win FIFA world cup first before you see any of that happening.......

Ruler Loong must reveal the extent of his clan's wealth hoard before asking his detractors to reveal themselves.

He must repeal the evil Infernal Security Act.

Dismantle the Amakudari/Patronage system.

Put an end to Dynastic Succession.

Be less tardy in addressing the real concerns of suffering peasants.

Do away with the vile GRC system.

This is a farking Asiatic despotic regime where any dissenting views will be rewarded with undue harassment from the Infernal Security Dogs.

Only to reveal the reserves to the ppl?

What about disbanding his ISD, deport all his cronies and shoot himself in the foot? LOL

Even with real identity lies and truth can also be spoken.

What is the difference between anonymous and true identity?

It is just difference of individual perceptions and life experiences

can post under real name like me, but if some cowards cant take the truth, then they have the upper hand to just ban you...(among other things)nothing changes, its all about money.

Brave lady indeed. Too bad you share something in common with GMS.

nothing about being brave, im just fed up with scum using their money to abuse others
its something ive hated from the very beginning

can post under real name like me, but if some cowards cant take the truth, then they have the upper hand to just ban you...(among other things)nothing changes, its all about money.

Dear WendyChan,

Sometimes situations are created in one's life where one has no choice but to start using one's own name.

If for instance, some anonymous forummer's identity is revealed and he / she is taken to task and suffers loss of liberty, indignity or threat of defamation, what will happen to such a person. Is he or she going to remain anonymous? DEFINITELY NO..........

On the contrary, such a person will come out as a DIEHARD with a vengeance and will NOT HESITATE to go all out and rally supporters for a cause.

In so doing, He or She may become a hero / heroine of sorts, not only in the hearts, souls and minds of fellow Singaporeans, but also to the whole wide world.

These "victim of circumstances" may become a valuable asset to any opposition party/parties and from this new pedestal will soar even higher and may be able to rally the people to a national cause.

The very fact that this person was once upon a time a victim at the hands of those in power and wealth, will ensure his or her meteoric rise. There will be sympathy...

Look no far and you will see a good example in Daw Aung San Su Kyi and Anwar Ibrahim. There are many still.............

I am sure the government realises this and has to accept the Internet as a medium of communication.

It would however be good if the government can reach out to these people and treat them with utmost dignity and respect.

Such a situation can be created BUT the ball is in the Court of the PAP and it's members of parliament, CCMC's, RC's and other groups.