Dengue Outbreak In Tampines! Medical SWAT Team Where??

SINGAPORE: A total of 377 dengue cases were reported in the week ending Dec 26, the highest weekly number reported in 2015 so far, said Dr Amy Khor, Senior Minister of State for Environment and Water Resources and Health.

In a Facebook post on Tuesday (Dec 29), Dr Khor said this number was “unusually high for this time of year”.

“Getting infected with one dengue strain does not mean you are immune against the others. This change in the main circulating dengue virus may be an early indicator of a future dengue outbreak, unless measures are taken to suppress the Aedes mosquito population,” she wrote.

dengue-dec-data.png

The number of dengue cases per week. (Graph: NEA)

She also noted an increase in the number of dengue cases due to the DENV-2 serotype. It now accounts for more than half of all dengue cases in Singapore. The DENV-1 serotype had accounted for most of the dengue cases since March 2013.

As at Monday, there were 14 clusters classified as high-risk areas with 10 or more cases. The cluster at the top of the list is in Tampines, around Avenues 3 and 4 and Street 91, which saw 152 cases.The second-highest was at Joo Avenue and Sing Avenue, with 71 cases. The cluster around Pasir Ris Streets 11, 12, 21 and 51 saw 70 cases.

LARGEST DENGUE CLUSTER IN TAMPINES

In Tampines, most of the cases are located near the Downtown Line 3 construction site, said MP Masagos Zulkifli. Ten blocks in the area are also undergoing the Home Improvement Programme, which includes the upgrading of toilets and replacement of grilles at the flats' main entrance.

Mr Masagos said the affected Residents' Committee (RC) zones are: Tampines Polyview RC, Tampines Grove RC, Tampines Terrace RC and Tampines Palmspring RC. There are also a few dengue cases from Terrace RC, Grove RC and Palmspring RC.

tampines-construction-data.jpg

A construction site at Tampines 91 (Photo: Faris Mokhtar)

In response to media queries, Mr Masagos also said that a total of 70 mosquito breeding sites were found and destroyed in Tampines, of which 45 were found in homes, 18 were in common areas of the estate and one within the Downtown Line 3 construction site.

NEA has conducted multiple rounds of inspections in homes and outdoor areas, including common areas of the estate, he said. Members of the RC in the affected area in Tampines have been visiting residents to raise awareness of the situation, share preventive measures, and hand out mosquito repellents, Mr Masagos added.

As of Nov 30, the National Environment Agency has conducted more than 1.3 million inspections island-wide. It has also been raising awareness on dengue prevention. According to Dr Khor, NEA is also working with stakeholders to implement “source reduction” to bring down the number of breeding habits.

“We need to keep our environment clean of stagnant water, so as to deprive the mosquitoes of their breeding habitats,” said Dr Khor, who says the majority of breeding is still found in homes.
With the warmer-than-usual year-end weather due to the El Nino phenomenon, Aedes mosquitos may also breed and mature faster, she said.

Members of the public whom Channel NewsAsia spoke with said they would constantly check their potted plants to ensure that there is no stagnant water.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/close-to-400-dengue-cases/2384080.html

Dengue is synonymous with PAP. It is technically a disease caused by PAP. When PAP breeds, you bleed.

Construction sites are aedes breeding ground.once the construction is complete, dengue epidemic will disappear.

Used to have those aunties come knocking at my door to inspect my place for mosquitoes. Are they now called a SWAT team:confused:

Well they never found anything in my case & I suspect the dengue cases dropped in my area because they completed the construction in the area. However I expect to see the aunties again soon because there are planning to do more construction in the area:(

Used to have those aunties come knocking at my door to inspect my place for mosquitoes. Are they now called a SWAT team:confused:

Well they never found anything in my case & I suspect the dengue cases dropped in my area because they completed the construction in the area. However I expect to see the aunties again soon because there are planning to do more construction in the area:(

Yes they are. Wise minister Chee Hong called for the forming a medical elite SWAT team to deal with serious medical situations.

National-level 'SWAT team' could be set up for disease outbreaks: Chee Hong Tat
This was one of several measures mooted by a recently set-up taskforce to review the national response system to infectious disease outbreaks, Minister of State for Health Chee Hong Tat said.

By Liyana Othman

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/national-level-swat-team/2381118.html

Yes they are. Wise minister Chee Hong called for the forming a medical elite SWAT team to deal with serious medical situations.

National-level 'SWAT team' could be set up for disease outbreaks: Chee Hong Tat
This was one of several measures mooted by a recently set-up taskforce to review the national response system to infectious disease outbreaks, Minister of State for Health Chee Hong Tat said.

Never had a dengue problem until they started all the construction. Is it a coincidence?
I doubt it.

So I am against all the construction at least in my neighbourhood because it is noisy, dusty & potentially dangerous. All this so that the PAP can make some $$$.
This is something that the 70% voted for.

How do you get rid of small pools of water in a tropical country?

PAP wont rid the mosquitoes breeding ground,instead, they prefer them fester til clusters of dengue cases reaches alarming statistics,then wayang time,organise committe, media coverage on respective MPs (only PAP),swinging into action,setup more committees,activate NEA Swat team , closed tender for pest control companies with closed ties to town councils affected. then declare dengue free, credit to MPs,more media coverage.

Dengue outbreak just a false flag event!!

PAP Da BEST! They have prevented the extinction of mosquitoes!

Elite RC trained SWAT Teams armed with state-of-the-art fly swatters ready to break into your home if found to harbour dangerous Aedes mosquito breeding grounds. Give them no quarter.

dat time, ze burger in charge oredi told sinkies 2 control mosquitoes demselves ... he oso said in no uncertain terms dat if not n dengue occurs, iz sinkies who self-inflict it upon demselves ...

now dat tis happens, tis means dat sinkies haf not been doing their job as ordered by ze hi n mighty burger ...

sinkies cannot brame ze gahmen 4 tis as gahmen has oredi absolf itself of any brame ... sinkies can oni brame demselves 4 tis self-infliction ...

dat time, ze burger in charge oredi told sinkies 2 control mosquitoes demselves ... he oso said in no uncertain terms dat if not n dengue occurs, iz sinkies who self-inflict it upon demselves ...

now dat tis happens, tis means dat sinkies haf not been doing their job as ordered by ze hi n mighty burger ...

sinkies cannot brame ze gahmen 4 tis as gahmen has oredi absolf itself of any brame ... sinkies can oni brame demselves 4 tis self-infliction ...

When I was at the hospital I heard that a PAP member was being treated for dengue:D

PAP may want to tai chi the problem but the "hard truth" of dengue is that mosquitoes aren't fussy who they bite. They can't tell the difference between "lesser mortals" or natural aristocrats.

So expect the PAP to take the problem seriously as their own welfare is at stake.

Again another issue of lack of accountability-no matter how bad the situation(even when death occurs), nobody is held accountable.

Neither the health ministers, officials working in his ministry or stat boards or the household/construction sites found to breed mosquitoes have been held responsible for these outbreaks. If indeed households are the main sites of mosquitoes breeding, the owners should be charged in court-as this can and have caused severe health problems and death.

This is worse than littering and yet litterers are routinely charged in court but not house owners whose premises breed mosquitoes.