Dear DPM Teo, why doesn't the govt allow ERP-free car-pooling while this mess is on?

Dear Mr Teo,

It is all well and good for the temporary "solutions" offered by our much revered tranport minister about slower trains, fewer trains, longer waits etc.

But we notice with regret that he and the government does not seem to practise what you preach - this IS an emergency situation (wait till schools start in two weeks' time!).

Why are our multi-million dollar ministers (not a squeak from any of them) on how we can solve the problem.

Here is contribution - ALL CARS WITH THREE AND MORE PASSENGERS AND MOTOR CYLES WITH ONE PASSENGER BE ALLOWED TO PASS ALL ERP GANTRIES UNTIL THINGS GO BACK TO THE 'NEW NORMAL'.

THIS IS BETTER THAN SLAPPING HEFTY FINES ON SMRT (unless paid for by CEO & Board members; otherwise it is shareholders who are bearing the burden).

Any "loss" of revenue should be more than made up for with minimal loss of productivity, encourage nation building (I will ask my new neighbour to join my car pool) and show that Singaporeans Care.

Re: Dear DPM Teo, why doesn't the govt allow ERP-free car-pooling while this mess is

Sorry hor, but how does the antennae at the ERP gantries differentiate whether the vehicle is ferrying 3 or 1 person inside?

Re: Dear DPM Teo, why doesn't the govt allow ERP-free car-pooling while this mess is

This question too technical la. I never work at DFS before you know.

Sorry hor, but how does the antennae at the ERP gantries differentiate whether the vehicle is ferrying 3 or 1 person inside?

Aiyah, think outside the book little bit lah. Do it the old fashion way lah - post Cisco guards at Gantry.

Like that must print ALS coupons again. Very tedious leh. And somemore now with so many ERP gantries compared to the old fashion way, CISCO may not have enough manpower suddenly.

Sometime really hate PAP/gov. Since there is COE, road tax, fuel tax and high car tax. Why need ERP?
Control traffic is just to fool peasant. People who willing to buy car,pay road tax, insurance, fuel, parking..............
ERP just a small fraction cost of the car ownership. Just tax away ERP the traffic will move faster.
I see many or almost 90% motorist slow down when near ERP. Those driver really stupid. Thing made worst when is on the last minute before ERP turn off. Vehicle move like snail.