Civil service image of uncorruption is just a mirage.

enterprise2

Look beyond the nice comfortable office settings, u will find dirt. The AG report of lapses every year is just scratching the surface. Now the scale has increased so much that even senior officers kena caught. The level of sophistication of wrong doing is high...u look at the City Harvest Case where methods of 'round tripping' and u get the idea!! But no matter how sophisticated, symptoms will show up, rotting MRT infrastructure (especially when u pay top $ for it), non delivery of goods and services, fake invoices..etc. I would say the officers that caught out r the 'dumb' ones, they either never cover their tracks properly or they got caught 'showing off' with their new found wealth. The clever ones are the ones who are still around doing it or scooted away already with their loot. I still remember Tharma response to a US lawmaker about how difficult it is to a bill budget passed. Tharma thought it was $5b but was surprised when told it was only $50m. He used that case to illustrate how gridlock can grind things down. When I read the report, I had a different interpretation. If the US which has a trillion$ economy is careful about spending $50m,why are we so loose with our monies?? Are we so confident that we do not need all that scrutiny and controls because our people are upright and not corruptible?? Already we see how the government is so free to 'throw money' to solve problems, especially when they know they can pass any budgets without opposition when they are the majority in the house.
It's time we get opposition to take more than 1/3 of the seats so that they can hold our monies to account!!

LOL. You are such an ironical character.

... If the US which has a trillion$ economy is careful about spending $50m,why are we so loose with our monies?? Are we so confident that we do not need all that scrutiny and controls because our people are upright and not corruptible?? Already we see how the government is so free to 'throw money' to solve problems, especially when they know they can pass any budgets without opposition when they are the majority in the house ...
yog is n eg how moni can b thrown away ... iz peasants moni anyway, y scrimp? ...

in fact, in gahmen, proposals put up can dun even detail any info on costs involved ... n dey r approved ...

yog is n eg how moni can b thrown away ... iz peasants moni anyway, y scrimp? ...

in fact, in gahmen, proposals put up can dun even detail any info on costs involved ... n dey r approved ...

Yes YOG and all the other mega projects. The bigger they r, the more ways they can fudge things and hide from auditors. Also small things too got to check. I remember once I had dinner with a vendor who supplies furniture to a gahment body. He told me got good deal, big volume and still maintain price. He said he got a good relationship with the gahment officer!! I think the more they dig, the more stuff they r going to find!!

No corruption in Singapore?

[video=youtube;21VbKgOM0gg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21VbKgOM0gg[/video]

No corruption in Singapore?

[video=youtube;21VbKgOM0gg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21VbKgOM0gg[/video]

The Civil Service is just as corrupt as any other organisation in Singapore. There is nothing special about the Civil Service. It gets it's people from the same pool, it's policies and procedures no different from any company. In fact I would argue the controls are not as stringent as some top notch MNCs and this will allow rogue staff 'opportunities'. And of course it has no bottomline...after all people's monies only!!

we have the world's best civil governance
do not desecrate this wonderful stature
you will always have rotten apples in the box
no way can these misfits damage the whole system
singaporeans should be blessed and grateful
that we have one of the world's best civil governance
majulah singapura!!!