• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chiobu AMDK need help from BBFA to go shopping...

k1976

tiktok_image_tourist_final.png

Hypocrite-The

As if kangaroo land is cheap

#trending: Tourist checking out MBS says shopping in Singapore only for the 'rich'; locals suggest alternatives
Ms Jessie Carr, an Australian tourist and digital content creator, explores Marina Bay Sands in a viral TikTok video posted on Aug 24, 2023.
Follow us on Instagram and Tiktok, and join our Telegram channel for the latest updates.
A recent TikTok video of an Australian tourist exploring Marina Bay Sands has gone viral
In the video, she claimed that shopping in Singapore is only for the “rich”
Many online users suggested more affordable alternatives to her away from the tourist resort
Other similar videos have gone viral before, with a now-deleted video featuring a travel content creator who claimed that Singaporeans were "rude"
SINGAPORE — A recent TikTok video of an Australian tourist exploring the Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands (MBS) and claiming that shopping in Singapore is only for the “rich” has gone viral, with people here suggesting more affordable alternatives in malls located within housing estates instead.

The video was first posted on Ms Jessie Carr’s TikTok account on Thursday (Aug 24).

Advertisement
“Don’t go to a shopping centre in Singapore unless you’re rich,” the 23-year-old digital content creator begins.

“Maybe it’s just this one that I’m looking at,” she quickly says, clarifying that she was at the mall that is part of the integrated resort.

“But everywhere I look is just designer.”

#trending: Expat shares what living in Sentosa is like; netizens make amusing comparisons to HDB estates
Ms Carr continues walking around the mall, naming various designer and luxury brands she “would not spend money” on, before arriving at what she describes as the “poor people’s” side of the mall, naming more “affordable” brands such as beauty products store Sephora and sports apparel chain Adidas.

At the end of the video, she clarified that while her comments may seem crude, she was genuinely impressed with the mall, pointing to the luxurious feel of the TWG Tea Garden's reflective pool, the unique architecture of the Apple store, and even the spacious toilet cubicles on the premises.

Advertisement
TikTok users were quick to point out her poor choice of location for affordable shopping.

One user wrote: “MBS is the most expensive mall in Singapore, I think.”

Another joked about the unaffordable nature of goods at the mall, writing: “I go there just for the toilet. I am broke like that.”

Others took to suggesting more affordable shopping locations for Ms Carr.

Advertisement
As of Monday afternoon, the original TikTok video has garnered more than 35,800 likes and 611 comments.

The video was also posted to online forum Reddit on Saturday, where users continued to suggest more budget-friendly options for Ms Carr.

One Redditor mused: “She’s at MBS, what does she expect? Could have taken a train down to Suntec City where the rest of us peasants hang out.”

Another wrote: “May I introduce you to Clementi Mall?”

As of Monday afternoon, the Reddit post featuring the video has amassed 566 upvotes and 233 comments.

#trending: Relaxed, 'lying flat' approach to life among China’s youth spreads to travel and leisure
Other tourists who visited Singapore lately have taken to the video platform to air their opinions about holidaying here.

On July 18, a viral video was posted by travel content creator Grace Cheng on her TikTok account.

The video starts off with Ms Cheng claiming to have travelled to 33 countries and that Singapore was “definitely not” on her list of favourite travel spots.

She begins by claiming that people here are “pretty rude”, citing an example of an unpleasant experience with a taxi driver when he did not greet her with a smile or offer to carry her bags.

She then laments about the price of her hotel room at MBS, saying that “everything here is so expensive”, while also saying that she did not feel like she was in Asia due to Singapore being “super westernised”.

Ms Cheng further asserts that she could not find any “decent” food options that were not overpriced, and “often had to resort to hawker centres”.

Although she ends the video by complimenting the green spaces in Singapore and inviting feedback from Singaporeans, her sweeping statements left many users disgruntled.

The Big Read in short: Can S'pore transform from a stopover to a 'one-stop destination' for tourists?
The video has since been taken down from her TikTok page but was shared on Reddit on July 20, and it has received some harsh comments from users.

Responding to her comment on eating at hawker centres, one Redditor questioned: “Is it really that bad to eat like a local? Why does it sound like a last resort?”

Another said: “She complained that Singapore isn't Asian enough but refuses to partake in the cultural stuff. Like what?”

Others focused on her comment generalising people here as “rude” from a single, controversially unpleasant interaction.

One Redditor, who claims to be from Indonesia, wrote that there were similar generalisations from other Indonesian tourists visiting Singapore.

“They probably expect every service worker to greet them with a protocol smile and compulsory 'good morning' as what it's usually like in Indonesia.

“But I like it here that many service persons and sellers are very direct with what they want to ask.”

Another Redditor wrote: “Singapore is a busy city and people can come across cold. But I would never say they are rude, actually some of the nicest people.”

As of Monday afternoon, the Reddit post of the now-deleted video has amassed more than 1,500 upvotes and 676 comments.

A Singaporean

No money don't come. You are not contributing to the economy only more congestion. Fuck off. We will send our monolingual Singlish speaking angmoh wannabe Sinkies to your cuntry to eat you.

millim6868

Lol, she is right ,only rich , Papigs can shop there, last time think is the MPs daughter shopping n post on FB their spending,lol