• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chinese national arrested after 14,550 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes worth more than $1.5m worth seized

Tragedeigh

Stupidman

Chinese national arrested after 14,550 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes worth more than $1.5m worth seized​

Chinese national arrested after 14,550 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes worth more than $1.5m worth seized

Duty-unpaid cigarettes worth more than $1.5 million were seized from two industrial units in the western part of Singapore.
PHOTO: Singapore Customs

PUBLISHED ONFebruary 23, 2026 11:30 AM

BYSean Ler

A 40-year-old Chinese national has been arrested for his alleged offences relating to duty-unpaid cigarettes amounting to more than $1.5 million.

Singapore Customs said in a media release on Monday (Feb 23) that its officers seized 14,550 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes following two operations on Feb 7 and Feb 11.

During the first operation on Feb 7, officers seized 7,306 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes which were found concealed inside three air cooler units in a unit within an industrial building at Jalan Buroh in Pioneer.

Through follow-up investigations, another operation was launched on Feb 11 at another industrial building at Tuas Bay Close, where they uncovered an additional 7,244 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes, also hidden within three air cooler units.

Investigations revealed that an unknown person had allegedly engaged the arrested man to retrieve the duty-unpaid cigarettes from the air coolers and pack them for local distributions.

Court proceedings against the suspect are ongoing.

Those found guilty of buying, selling, conveying, delivering, storing, keeping, possessing, or dealing in duty-unpaid goods can be fined up to 40 times the amount of duty and Goods and Services Tax evaded and/or jailed for up to six years.

Singapore Customs urged members of the public to report suspicious activities, adding that the operations reflect its resolve to detect and deter tax evasion.

[email protected]

The 14,550 cartons of cigarettes is just tip of the ice berg and can be considered as cost of doing business (sup sup sui). The amount that managed to go through is probably 100 times more than this lor. How much manpower you have at the checkpoints haaa.... go increase cigarette prices somemore lah... another 20% not enough.. go another 100% lah.... The demand for contraband cigarettes is overwhelming as compared previously. If Limpei have lobang, ish confirm support the contraband one ah.... KNN the garhmen is literally putting money into the syndicate's pockets trying to be follow stupid law implemented by Australia.... you see in Australia, most cigarettes are contraband one lor...

"Singapore Customs urged members of the public to report suspicious activities, adding that the operations reflect its resolve to detect and deter tax evasion."

KNN laugh die me sia.... encouraging a snitching society which leads to a more unsympathetic, distrust, anxiety in the society. You fucking no shame sibo want people to baotoh??? Even if I know, you wait long long ok really is long long you know for me to even call to report. In case one is wondering if baotoh got money take or not. The answer is NO.

For kum gong kias who calls to snitch hoping to get a pat of approval on the head by the authorities, ask yourself if the syndicate gets your details, will the authorities provide you with lifetime protection even if you travel into JB for leisure???

Chinese national arrested after 14,550 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes worth more than $1.5m worth seized​

Duty-unpaid cigarettes worth more than $1.5 million were seized from two industrial units in the western part of Singapore.
PHOTO: Singapore Customs

PUBLISHED ONFebruary 23, 2026 11:30 AM

BYSean Ler

A 40-year-old Chinese national has been arrested for his alleged offences relating to duty-unpaid cigarettes amounting to more than $1.5 million.

Singapore Customs said in a media release on Monday (Feb 23) that its officers seized 14,550 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes following two operations on Feb 7 and Feb 11.

During the first operation on Feb 7, officers seized 7,306 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes which were found concealed inside three air cooler units in a unit within an industrial building at Jalan Buroh in Pioneer.

Through follow-up investigations, another operation was launched on Feb 11 at another industrial building at Tuas Bay Close, where they uncovered an additional 7,244 cartons of duty-unpaid cigarettes, also hidden within three air cooler units.

Investigations revealed that an unknown person had allegedly engaged the arrested man to retrieve the duty-unpaid cigarettes from the air coolers and pack them for local distributions.

Court proceedings against the suspect are ongoing.

Those found guilty of buying, selling, conveying, delivering, storing, keeping, possessing, or dealing in duty-unpaid goods can be fined up to 40 times the amount of duty and Goods and Services Tax evaded and/or jailed for up to six years.

Singapore Customs urged members of the public to report suspicious activities, adding that the operations reflect its resolve to detect and deter tax evasion.

[email protected]

The 14,550 cartons of cigarettes is just tip of the ice berg and can be considered as cost of doing business (sup sup sui). The amount that managed to go through is probably 100 times more than this lor. How much manpower you have at the checkpoints haaa.... go increase cigarette prices somemore lah... another 20% not enough.. go another 100% lah.... The demand for contraband cigarettes is overwhelming as compared previously. If Limpei have lobang, ish confirm support the contraband one ah.... KNN the garhmen is literally putting money into the syndicate's pockets trying to be follow stupid law implemented by Australia.... you see in Australia, most cigarettes are contraband one lor...
Very big volume. This tiongkok kia jialat.

To them the volume and truck is just part of the cost in doing business and all priced in liao. Ah Tiong mentally prepared and paid to take the risk liao... most he goes in squat for a year or so....