Cheapskate Singaporeans complain lack of good hawkers but refuse to pay more than $5

Watchman

Cheapskate Singaporeans complaint lack of good hawkers but refuse to pay more than $5

On Sunday Straits Times .

Make sure they all suffer and bleed and all have to eat at restaurants in future !

Re: Cheapskate Singaporeans complain lack of good hawkers but refuse to pay more than

If paying more means better quality and better hawkers, then I dont mind.

What's wrong with not paying more than $5? Even $4 I consider expensive for hawker fare. The idea is to eat the best food at the lowest price and there are still many places for that. Spend yr money in aircon food courts, and you are paying more for overheads to the landlords without remunerating the poor chap cooking the dishes and renting the stalls.

Re: Cheapskate Singaporeans complain lack of good hawkers but refuse to pay more than

True, I would not pay more than $4 for hawker food. A $3 price tag is what I think reasonable for hawker food in a hawker centre or kopi tiam.

If paying more means better quality and better hawkers, then I dont mind.

What's wrong with not paying more than $5? Even $4 I consider expensive for hawker fare. The idea is to eat the best food at the lowest price and there are still many places for that. Spend yr money in aircon food courts, and you are paying more for overheads to the landlords without remunerating the poor chap cooking the dishes and renting the stalls.

Probably, $1.50 to $2.00 goes towards the rental for a $5.00 food. Decent and reasonable hawker is still available. I have come across one stall, that sells fishball noodle for $2.00. These are a dying breed, as long as NEA do not come out with those funny ideas to upgrade (means higher rental) the hawker centre, will the food prices be reasonable.

Even $4 I consider expensive for hawker fare. The idea is to eat the best food at the lowest price and there are still many places for that.

Considering this . It will continue to be a dying trend since
rentals are sky rocketing . If you are not helping them .
Then dismal not if it were to disappear one day altogether .

Probably, $1.50 to $2.00 goes towards the rental for a $5.00 food. Decent and reasonable hawker is still available. I have come across one stall, that sells fishball noodle for $2.00. These are a dying breed, as long as NEA do not come out with those funny ideas to upgrade (means higher rental) the hawker centre, will the food prices be reasonable.

For $2.00 you dare to eat . Those tested it's ok .

For most will just downgrade the quality of ingredients and the type of fish used to compensate for the patron's reluctance to pay more .

If future if it ever gets worst, they will just use ikan billis

You really going to get what you pay for !

The article you quoted is about transmission of food culture and not really about sustaining the hawker industry or keeping them subsidised or alive per se.

So the suggestion is really to actually capture their essence, the chefs' skills, the secret recipes that have produced great memorable hawker food and pass them on to whoever wants to learn, not to become hawkers if they dont wanna be, but to be able to cook them at home or teach them to future generations thru the home. Hence the idea to start cooking classes based on hawker food.

True, these culinary "heroes" are a dying breed, and if there's a good way for them to exit their trade or business, why not give them a chance? E.g. the govt can offer them good money for their intellectual prop rights or for them to become master franchisees, and collect royalties like an annuity or retirement fund while tapping their brains, expertise and knowhow to keep our heritage alive.

Isnt that the way to help that is much better?

Considering this . It will continue to be a dying trend since
rentals are sky rocketing . If you are not helping them .
Then dismal not if it were to disappear one day altogether .

For $2.00 you dare to eat . Those tested it's ok .

For most will just downgrade the quality of ingredients and the type of fish used to compensate for the patron's reluctance to pay more .

If future if it ever gets worst, they will just use ikan billis

You really going to get what you pay for !

Yes, have tried it. Not too bad, of course, at S2.00, you don't expect lots of ingredients.

There is a lot of old folks patronising this stall as I have noted. Nevertheless, sometimes you have to respect these hawkers that keep their prices to a minimum.

The article you quoted is about transmission of food culture and not really about sustaining the hawker industry or keeping them subsidised or alive per se.

Then back to the old days of street side hawkers and string baskets .

It is really about sustaining oneself through street hawkering.

Through the merit of being affordable and tasty that the hawker get
constant support from patrons .

when singaporean kpkp , goverment say that it is complain , when foreigner kpkb they say it is feedback ...

South-Africa-WC-Stadium-L.jpg

3946925289_3b6cf4edc6.jpg

Talking abt sustenance, those old days, we also grew ubi kayu, banana trees, rear our own chickens and ducks and pigs, so we dont really need to be hawkers too.

The other issue, no less important, with itinerant hawking is really food hygiene and sanitation.

How do you ensure this? Not so simple.

There are externalities to consider.

Then back to the old days of street side hawkers and string baskets .

It is really about sustaining oneself through street hawkering.

Through the merit of being affordable and tasty that the hawker get
constant support from patrons .

i20love20junk20food.jpg

burger-king-drops-prices-in-israel.jpg

If it gets too expensive, just cook at home and bring to work

Why insist on eating outside

Sinkies are so spoiled :mad:

mcdonalds-angus.jpg

donut-cheese-bacon-burger.jpg

Fark macdonalds . Get it out of my face !

01.01.junkfood.gif