Cheapo sinkies say JB Oulets "Not good enough"!

hurley

Not many bargains at Johor Premium Outlets

Friday's heavy rain did not stop hundreds of Singaporeans from taking an hour's drive to Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) to look for designer goods at lower prices, said The Straits Times.

However, shoppers at the 16,258 sq m mall were rather disappointed and each went home with only a bag or two of purchases.

The mall noted that the discounts were not as big as those at Premium Outlets in the US and Europe, even though there were discounts of up to 70 percent on selected products. For instance, a Zegna tie that cost S$290 at the Takashimaya boutique was about 55 percent cheaper at S$130 (RM315), while high heels from Salvatore Ferragamo, which usually sell for S$790 in Singapore, cost around S$430 (RM1,040).

"If we wait for things to go on sale in Singapore, they are about the same price," said shopper Y.L. Tan.

"Compared with prices in Singapore, they are definitely lower but American brands like Coach are much cheaper in the US," noted Ginny Chu, who spent around RM700 (S$289) on a pair of sunglasses, a watch and a handbag.

The report noted that JPO retailers sell leftover stock from past seasons while some items were exclusively made by the brands for their outlet stores. Store managers said that because theirs are outlet shops, some signature products are not available.

Meanwhile, some stores like Tommy Hilfiger, Versace, Polo Ralph Lauren and Brooks Brothers are expected to open only on 11 December, when the mall holds its grand opening. Related Stories: Johor Premium Outlet opens doors today Prime retail rents in HK among highest in region Courts plans S$70m expansion boost in region

this is a budget store, wat more can one expect from it?

stinkaporeans really CMI. wan cheap wan green wan tua liap ni.

You think as a BIG NAME retailer i will want to sell their stuff cheaper in Johor ? Wake up............We are not in America. It so close to Singapore. If everything sell cheap cheap there, how is the luxurious store in Orchard Road going to survive ? The store will have to close down and set up shop in JB.

If i am the big name retailer, i see no advantage in selling my stuff cheap cheap ......Use your brain, think from the point of the big businessman

Damn Bodok ....

Has anyone been there :confused:

I noticed that the official opening is on the 11 dec.

If I visit this week will I see a lot of construction, unopened stores or are ALL the store already completed?

Has anyone been there :confused:

I noticed that the official opening is on the 11 dec.

If I visit this week will I see a lot of construction, unopened stores or are ALL the store already completed?

I think you should wait awhile. I'll feed you with the info once I go there myself because I live in JB. KSL city still got alot of vacant stores and it is near SG.
Although I dont go for branded stuff, I still like to busy body check out new places.

Not satisfied the goods and services there? They can always take a flight to Woodsburry or Woodsborough(4gotten the name as it's 4 years ago liao) in NY....sure cheaper and more stores to visit! Hahaha..

I think you should wait awhile. I'll feed you with the info once I go there myself because I live in JB. KSL city still got alot of vacant stores and it is near SG.
Although I dont go for branded stuff, I still like to busy body check out new places.

I'm in no hurry, just thought I'd go to JB & jalan, jalan. Need the exercise.

I just thought I'd go somewhere different to window shop. Got so many other places I haven't visited yet in JB

I can attest that the COACH ladies handbags are not cheap. In Oct 2011, we were at the Woodbury's outlet in New York and my wife bought a leather bag for S$200 (after conversion). Last Sunday, at the JPO, we saw those cloth types (not even leather) are selling for RM700+.

However, the ESPRIT T-shirts are worth considering as they are roughly the same price as those in Woodbury, New York.

Not satisfied the goods and services there? They can always take a flight to Woodsburry or Woodsborough(4gotten the name as it's 4 years ago liao) in NY....sure cheaper and more stores to visit! Hahaha..

I don't normally get excited when I shop, but really enjoy the bargains in the "Shopping outlets" in the US which is usually located in ulu places. You have to drive to these shopping outlets because these outlets are located in the middle of nowhere, so as not to spoil the local market. I've been to the "Shopping Outlets" in California, Niagara, Texas & Vegas

I think the JPO is related to the ones you find in the US, but of course the ones in the US are better.

Sigh! Sinkees.

If cheap, they complain low class and no standard.
If expensive, they complain kena chopped carrot cake, might as well buy in Sinkie land.

Hard to please Sinkee!

I don't normally get excited when I shop, but really enjoy the bargains in the "Shopping outlets" in the US which is usually located in ulu places. You have to drive to these shopping outlets because these outlets are located in the middle of nowhere, so as not to spoil the local market. I've been to the "Shopping Outlets" in California, Niagara, Texas & Vegas

I think the JPO is related to the ones you find in the US, but of course the ones in the US are better.
Yah, brojohnny, shopping is more of a woman thingy! The Las Vegas outlet is situated in an acrid desert area, I got discounted Polo Ralph collared shirts for a song while the wife was happily running around like a kid in a candy store! The outlet stores are quite well stocked-up especially sport stores like Nike and Adidas...bloody huge like ntuc supermarts. SF one also nice, 4 to 5 storeys high of Nike merchandise!

Where is JPO?
Useless sinkie. If not happy then dont go.

It is at Iskandar where sinkee govt had a hand in. Do you really expect it to be chip chip?