CEOs say Singaporeans are not confident

PAPno1

Young Singaporeans lack drive, confidence: CEOs

http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/news/928912/Young_Singaporeans_lack_drive_say_CEOs.html

SINGAPORE - Young Singaporeans lack drive and the confidence to venture out of their comfort zones.

This was the feedback Education Minister Heng Swee Keat received when he had a meeting with a group of group of chief executive officers earlier this week.

Mr Heng was surprised by the assessment and expressed his concern on Tuesday to 300 students at a forum at the Singapore Management University (SMU), reported The Straits Times.

Mr Heng recounted his response to the CEOs: 'I said, how can that be? Our students work very hard,' he added. He had a long discussion with them, which did not throw up any solutions.

He recounted how one CEO had told him about the difference in responses between a Singaporean worker and a European one.

When the CEO told worker in Europe to try out a new role with new responsibilities, the staff asked 'what sort of training will I get, what sort of training will I get, how will you help me succeed, what will I do, and so on'.

But when told the same thing, the Singaporean worker said, 'what if I fail? Do I still have a job? Is there a support system, and do I get retrenchment benefits?'

Besides possessing drive, Mr Heng stressed that the young need to be hungrier, and cultivate two other qualities to achieve a meaningful career - the ability to adapt in a changing environment, and the ability to collaborate across cultures.

And I wonder whose fault it is? Singaporeans in their 80s, 70s and 60s were confident enough in their younger days to be leaders in the political, business and other fields. What changed? Look back to our political system from 1959.....

... Young Singaporeans lack drive and the confidence to venture out of their comfort zones ...
gahmen say if u cunt u-turn, u cannot u-turn 1 ... :mad:

so, evryting, peasants cannot anyhow do 1 ... muz seek gahmen advice, muz seek gahmen permission 1st ... if not, gahmen wil punish u ...

gahmen got ze bestest talens ... dey r paid multi-million $ salaries 1 ... oni dey noe bestest wat 2 do ... peasants r silly 2 do anyting on their own ...

wif such a gahmen dat is filled wif oni talens, peasants, who haf sh*t-talens, dun nid 2 haf drive n confidence ... :rolleyes:

... Young Singaporeans lack ... confidence ...
u look @ dat biggest talen in sg ... (he paid himself multi-million $ salary, making himself bestest paid by miles among his peers, so he muz b ze biggest talen la :rolleyes:) ... dat loon burger stil dun haf confidens 2 run tings on his own leh ...

how do u xpect peasants, who r considered as non-talens, 2 haf confidens? ... :rolleyes: ... u muz b daft! ... :mad:

wif such a gahmen dat is filled wif oni talens, peasants, who haf sh*t-talens, dun nid 2 haf drive n confidence ... :rolleyes:

Dun eberyting oso blame garment...wat he say ish quite true...dun believe?...jus look at all de ypap members...knn long zhong ng jia lan...bootlick suck cock lumbar 1...y lidat leh?...becoz no confident mah...y no confident leh?...becoz no talent mah...i say 60% of de population n 100% ypap all lidat...haizz :(:D:D