CBD Eating Places Will Impose Peak Hour Surcharge to Disperse Lunch and Dinner Crowd! Huat ahhhh

BoonTiong

RETURN OF LUNCHTIME CROWD A BOON FOR FOOD BUSINESSES

The return of the hustle and bustle of the CBD was seen clearly during lunch hour with snaking queues at stalls at a number of food courts and hawker centres.

At the Clifford Centre’s food court, stall attendant Shandy Chua said that the place was much more crowded than last week.

“Last week there were queues but they were not as long. It definitely seems like more people have returned to work,” said Mdm Chua, who sells nyonya kueh and is in her 60s.

Ms Kaii Hashim, 30, a supervisor at Kipos Gourmet at One Raffles Place which serves salad bowls, said that her store was 10 per cent more crowded than last week.

“But it’s raining today so it might not be the most accurate representation," she said.

"But I do see a lot more people walking in and out compared to the last few months. There’s more crowd than usual so that is good for us.”

"We are considering to impose peak hour surcharge during lunch and dinner hours to disperse the crowd"

At Jewel Coffee in Tanjong Pagar Centre, a 24-year-old barista who only wanted to be known as Ms Hau said her outlet was busier compared to last Monday. She said that sales had also increased but declined to give details.

“Usually it’s quite empty except for lunch time but today there seems to be a lot more people walking about in the area,” she said.

Doco Donburi at International Plaza, which sells Japanese rice bowls, saw an increase of about 15 per cent in sales compared to the week before.

Part-time cashier Lukas Tan, 19, said: “There were many more orders today, both from people eating-in and those taking away. Over the last few weeks there have been office people around but not as many as today.”

With more workers back in the office, TODAY observed that many were on the lookout for a seat to have their lunch.

KNN erp for makan only works for the tam chia ter nao sinkies defintelee not my uncle KNN

Altogether now!!! HUAT AH!!!

Everyone ought to work from home. Those eating places so stuck-up, dare to impose surcharge?! Let them beat mosquito!

Now a plate of food easily priced above 15 dollars in CBD and it is not contributing to the society or economy at all because almost all the f and b workers are foreigners.

Kan stupid sinkies must always eat at hawker. Be dog then. I hope they may you wash dish next time

I’m more into this keto diet thing, plenty of tofu, kale, okra and brinjal; coupled with white meat like fish, chicken breasts, etc. Less carbo essentially.

Tofu may cause u to have stomach wind. Do u fart loudly ?

Yes! Plenty of gas build-up and thankfully most of the time they aren’t smelly. Must avoid broccoli and those sulphur-containing items.

You can video it and sell it to the fetish.