• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can the hawkers at Tampines St 21 coffee shop survive after having their rent doubled?

Johnrambo

QBtOv6p.png

Vid at https://shrtcô.de/6Vaef

Of cos cannot survive,Don pity them hawkers ask for it ,serves them right ,fxxx them

ALL white clowns ate useless ,they supposed to being in money from outside watcthey doing now is leeching from sinkies,61% are really dumb ,sg is rich but when u have capable white clowns when they lost heavily ,they will make dumb dinkies pax fir it to cover ,one way now is to go vaccination, this world is ugly but 61% still lo es it,see the sers in ask u will know but many still dumb ,sg is so small one day out of usable land thus sets will continue,lol

Based an assumption of rent increase of 100 per cent, increasing cost of ingredients and utilities, and sale prices not increasing as much, it is logical to assume that unless their sales volume increase very significantly, any business operating under that scenario, IS UNLIKELY TO CONTINUE TO OPERATE FOR THE LONG TERM.

if they can , that means before rent increase ,they must be earning very well

Too high rents could result in vacant stalls for owners: Desmond Lee on multimillion-dollar coffee shop resale prices​

20220706_tenant_st.jpg

SINGAPORE - The Housing Board regularly monitors the resale market for HDB coffee shop transactions, as well as the prices of food, and "will not hesitate to review its policies to address affordability concerns", said National Development Minister Desmond Lee.

Mr Lee was replying via written response on Tuesday (July 5) to parliamentary questions on efforts to keep food prices affordable, after several multimillion-dollar transactions for coffee shops came under the spotlight in recent weeks.

The questions came from MPs Jamus Lim (Sengkang GRC), Sharael Taha (Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC), Shawn Huang (Jurong GRC), Foo Mee Har (West Coast GRC) and Murali Pillai (Bukit Batok), as well as non-constituency MP Hazel Poa.

The queries arose after news reports last month that a coffee shop in Tampines Street 21 was sold for a record $41.68 million, while a Yishun Street 81 coffee shop changed hands for $40 million.

Some tenants at the Tampines coffee shop told The Straits Times that rents there have surged since April.

Mr Lee said that there are currently more than 770 HDB coffee shops, of which 400 were sold by the statutory board in the 1990s to "encourage private-sector ownership in running these coffee shops".

HDB stopped selling coffee shops in 1998.

While the Tampines and Yishun coffee shops that were sold for record prices were privately owned, such transactions are a minority, Mr Lee said.

He added that 70 per cent of resale transactions of sold coffee shops since 2010 were below $10 million, with an average of 15 transactions yearly since 2010.

While Mr Murali had asked if the Government will introduce rent control measures for stallholders at eating houses in mature estates, which are where high-value sales "seem to be taking place", Mr Lee replied that such restrictions may result in unintended impacts.

"For example, by controlling rent, we could end up reducing the incentive for coffee shop owners to invest in improving their coffee shops to provide better services and facilities to customers," Mr Lee said in his written reply.

Instead, Mr Lee said, HDB currently ensures that people can easily access affordable and quality food within public housing estates through a good supply of coffee shops, and regulation of price-quality tenders for coffee shops run by HDB.

For example, the two coffee shops in Tampines and Yishun have five and seven other coffee shops, respectively, within a 400m radius.

Mr Lee also said the Bukit Batok Street 11 coffee shop that was sold for $31 million in 2015 has six other coffee shops within the vicinity.

He added that food prices at the coffee shop are only "marginally higher" by 10 to 20 cents, while a cup of coffee is the same price as that at other nearby coffee shops.

He revealed that HDB will complete another 30 coffee shops in the next four years, in addition to the 34 new ones in the past four years. This is in addition to more than 100 hawker centres here, with four more to start operations this year, and seven being planned or under construction.

Another way prices have been kept affordable is via the regulation of price-quality tenders, started in 2018 in HDB coffee shops.

Factors such as the availability of budget meals, good track record and community initiatives made up half of the points assigned to asses the quality of the operator.

Such operators typically provide budget food options at every stall, priced at around $3, said Mr Lee.

"We are mindful of the need to ensure that residents have access to affordable cooked food options, and of the potential impact of resale transactions," he said.

"Ultimately, consumers must be given the choice to go elsewhere. This applies to stallholders as well. If the rents set by coffee shop owners are too high, stallholders could move to other eating establishments, resulting in vacant stalls and holding costs for the owners."

This was a real kopitiam.

6096784288_9fe8a65387_b.jpg

The 'modern kopitiams' you see today are nothing more than non-aircon food courts, owned by a cartel of F&B cronies.
In a cuntry when 官商勾结 is prevalent and where they gaslight you by insisting there is absolutely no conflict of interest, this is to be expected. :cool:

This was a real kopitiam.

6096784288_9fe8a65387_b.jpg

The 'modern kopitiams' you see today are nothing more than non-aircon food courts, owned by a cartel of F&B cronies.
In a cuntry when 官商勾结 is prevalent and where they gaslight you by insisting there is absolutely no conflict of interest, this is to be expected. :cool:

I believe the national policy is very clear by now.

It's a rent seeking economy where the elites control the peasants. And the 2 types of job that will help promote this policy are hawkers and PHV drivers. The deliveroos are an accidental hybrid of the two types of job.

A "peasant culture" is now being inculcated into the minds of local peasantry through MediaCorp dramas actively promoting the culture of "uncles and aunties" because uncles and aunties form the core of hawkers and PHV drivers. Even handsome like Li Nanxing and Thomas Ong are now being labelled as "uncle", so they are definitely expanding the perimeters of this labelling to be as inclusive as possible.

When you accept labels like Pioneers and Merdekas, you will also accept hawkering and no-CPF driving as an acceptable way of life. If you are labeled as uncle, you will tend to label others as uncle; you end up as a hawker and PHV driver, you will tend to encourage others to be a hawker or PHV driver.

You pay exorbitant rentals to these cartels, and you labor the rest of your life accepting the Singaporean way of life, just like you accepted Singlish is unique to our culture. You are too busy with making a living, and you will forget about your rights as a citizen. To this expanding group of peasants, it's easy to appease you come general elections.