• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Can one have more than 1 religion?

sbfuncle

Sometimes when we fill in forms or survey etc we are being asked to tick our religion.
Why do they need to know this?

As you may aware, I knew this world is unnatural and that I believe there is a god existence.

We need to choose our preference.
Even I may not fully believes in any particular religion, I feel the need to choose one out of the many.

I like the teaching of Buddha.
But I see Buddhism as a moral education more than a religion.

Among all the other religious Gods, I prefer Christianity.
I rather pray to jesus rather than monkey god etc

In this case, can I tick both Christian and Buddhist?

Pls advise.

I rather pray to jesus rather than monkey god etc.
Why do you prefer Christianity ? Christian pastors CMI lah :

Screenshot_1.jpg

Sometimes when we fill in forms or survey etc we are being asked to tick our religion.
Why do they need to know this?

As you may aware, I knew this world is unnatural and that I believe there is a god existence.

We need to choose our preference.
Even I may not fully believes in any particular religion, I feel the need to choose one out of the many.

I like the teaching of Buddha.
But I see Buddhism as a moral education more than a religion.

I rather pray to jesus rather than monkey god etc

In this case, can I tick both Christian and Buddhist?

Pls advise.

This one only our resident theologian @metanoia can pontificate. :smile:
Even though I am a Christian, when I fill up man made forms, I will put either No Religion or Not Applicable.

I believe my faith is my own personal relationship with God. Attending church doesnt make me a better person. It's just a group of people gathering together to make noise and psycho each other.

I used to be a atheist, but same time along the way, I got much more assured that this world is not a natural world, through many experiences in life.
Since it is not natural, there MUST BE A GOD.

I didn't have time to study much about all other religion, Islam, taoism, Japanese gods etc

Time is running out for me.
I doesn't want to die without a religion.

So I decided to pray to jesus, even I dislike going to church. I pray in the comfort of my home.
And what makes me decided to go with it, is becos a pastor came to pray for me and miraculously I was healed (from something that didn't leecover after a long long time and I thought it was already hopeless). This event made me even more Lee assured that the world is unnatural.
But end of the day, I told the pastor I prefer to pray at home when he asked me to goto church.

KYM?

Even though I am a Christian, when I fill up man made forms, I will put either No Religion or Not Applicable.

I believe my faith is my own personal relationship with God. Attending church doesnt make me a better person. It's just a group of people gathering together to make noise and psycho each other.
Jialat liao :

Screenshot_2.jpg

Why do you prefer Christianity ? Christian pastors CMI lah :

View attachment 234629
So I decided to pray to jesus, even I dislike going to church. I pray in the comfort of my home.
And what makes me decided to go with it, is becos a pastor came to pray for me and miraculously I was healed (from something that didn't leecover after a long long time and I thought it was already hopeless). This event made me even more Lee assured that the world is unnatural.
But end of the day, I told the pastor I prefer to pray at home when he asked me to goto church

I think our beliefs is along the same line.

And I doesn't know what to tick.

But…

Later in the Gospels, Peter actually does deny Jesus before others. Not just once, not just twice, but three times. In the darkest and scariest moment of Jesus’ life, his friend denies him, without reservation or even hesitation, in order to save his own hide. It’s an act of pure selfishness transgressed against God himself.

But Jesus forgives him anyway.

So you see, God is always forgiving as long as you believe in him.

But…

Later in the Gospels, Peter actually does deny Jesus before others. Not just once, not just twice, but three times. In the darkest and scariest moment of Jesus’ life, his friend denies him, without reservation or even hesitation, in order to save his own hide. It’s an act of pure selfishness transgressed against God himself.

But Jesus forgives him anyway.

So you see, God is always forgiving as long as you believe in him.
That means you are entitled to 3 tries.

How many times you put "no religion" huh ?

Some more no rooster crows no pakeh. :biggrin:

@sbfuncle

I pray 2x everyday. When I wake up and when I go to sleep.

I ask God for :

1. Journey mercy ie. Keep me safe when I travel to work

2. Health mercy ie. Keep me healthy and fit

3. Guidance mercy ie. Guide me in everything I do today, be it making decisions in work, what to eat, etc etc.

4. Protect me from Evil and Evil spirits

At night when I pray to God, I just add another item of request, that is to let me have a good night sleep and let my body, mind and soul recover from the day's work, or exercise and mental stress.

That's about all in my prayers to God daily. I also know that he cannot answer all of them because he has his own plans and I have to accept what he wants to do with me in my life on earth. Sometimes grudgingly but ultimately I will still submit to his will...

Thank you for your input.
So we actually can don't tick.

@sbfuncle

I pray 2x everyday. When I wake up and when I go to sleep.

I ask God for :

1. Journey mercy ie. Keep me safe when I travel to work

2. Health mercy ie. Keep me healthy and fit

3. Guidance mercy ie. Guide me in everything I do today, be it making decisions in work, what to eat, etc etc.

4. Protect me from Evil and Evil spirits

At night when I pray to God, I just add another item of request, that is to let me have a good night sleep and let my body, mind and soul recover from the day's work, or exercise and mental stress.

That's about all in my prayers to God daily. I also know that he cannot answer all of them because he has his own plans and I have to accept what he wants to do with me in my life on earth. Sometimes grudgingly but ultimately I will still submit to his will...
I also started this ritual sometime back.
Once in the morning and once before bed.
I pray with all my hearts and sincerity and pray that he can change some of his plan regarding my loved ones after seeing my sincerity and care of my loved ones exceeding what many living human beings and his followers can or cannot do.

But same time I so have many doubts and disbelieves about Christianity after reading the bible.
I find the genesis a fairytale.
However I don't ask question to the pastors.
I stay within my own beliefs and comfort zone.

But same time I so have many doubts and disbelieves about Christianity after reading the bible.
I find the genesis a fairytale.
However I don't ask question to the pastors.
I stay within my own beliefs and comfort zone.
The Bible is only a book written by men. It has its flaws.