buffet smelted at the oriental....nahbeh

I brought my overseas friend to the SMELT at the orieetal hotel for what i thought was a great buffet. i had been to the SMELT before when it was called the GREEENHOUSE. the food was great.the oysters was greater.the indian side was superb.the japanese section was heavenly.the dessert was simply great.

this time i went. it was an utter disappointment. NO OYSTERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!wtf!!!!!!!!!nO OYSTERS!!!! i asked why, the waiter told me for health reason....food poisoning. if you want, you can order alacarte and pay for it!!!!!!!!!!! NO OYSRERS! WTF!!!!....

okay, the food was really bad. the bbq was black black bad. the satay was hard. the lamb cutlet was horrible and the meat was like leather. the seafood got lobster - not bad. but it was miserble compared to the past. the indian section was bad....no more lamb cutlets. the thai section was disappointing. the japan side was dismay. everything was not 5 star but 3 star standard.

the service staff mostly from india. the china prcs gone. some filipino staff remain - mainly the pretty waitresses . the waiters are almost all from india. the cooks from india. the bbq also india......no more china prcs...

so you pay and pay higher and higher.but the food standard goes down the longkang. i apologised to my friend and told him i will bring him to some kopitiam to taste the genuine singapore hawker fares - thanks to the brothers here who have posted the famous hawker food here...

the SMELT really gone case liao...gone gone gone gone liao....nahbeh....how can the hotel let such a place run as a 3star outlet.nahbeh!

Sorry to hear that. Went there for Christmas buffet last year, quality was still pretty good.

Also buffet at ritz Carlton is also called greenhouse. Did they move? They have the best quality in Singapore IMHO. been to the line at Shang 3 times.. All 3 times rush to toilet Once settle the bill.. Never again..

Same problem with Raffles hotel, The service staff all use to be from Singapore or Malaysia now they are all from Philippines.

Sorry to hear that. Went there for Christmas buffet last year, quality was still pretty good.

Also buffet at ritz Carlton is also called greenhouse. Did they move? They have the best quality in Singapore IMHO. been to the line at Shang 3 times.. All 3 times rush to toilet Once settle the bill.. Never again..

thanks for the clarification. i think the green house at the ritz is better. this smelt thing at oriental is reallly very disappointing...the line not too bad. but standard seems to drop leh.

this SMELT place cannot make it liao lah....really bad bad bad for the amount they charge...and NO OYSTERS!!!!!!!

Same problem with Raffles hotel, The service staff all use to be from Singapore or Malaysia now they are all from Philippines.

most of the staff from the golf and country clubs also from india now....everywhere i see india.

china prcs seem to gone out of favour. at least got some sweet little things to talk and tease and their charming smiles...now all india boys to serve you....drastic demographic changes taking place in singapore...service has dropped dropped dropped....

i would prefer the filipino girls as waitresses...follow by the china prcs...now that our malaysian girls have upgraded or disappeared...what happen to our malaysian girls? seem to disappear overnight....replaced by india...

What happened to our Malaysian girls? I ask the same question when I go Geylang as well. Now its filled with PRCs. I just hope they don't replace the PRCs with Indian boys.........hehehe:D

i think geylang no more malaysian girl, have to go petain rd. :D

To ts hope you checked yourself out for diseases like Hepatitis B for eg since indians are known to be very unhygenic.

It actually demand driven that they can't be borhered about quality. Notice everywhere you go there is.a queue. Even during lunch time, high end restaurants a ful. The population catchment is very high.

Highend no longer means quality, just that they in a good hotel, good location, expensive decor etc. Since food is secondary, staff is the cheapest.

One place that stood for quality all these years across where they are located is Robert Kuok's Shangrila. Notice they do not go for numbers as they do not hype anything.

Really sad that the country is sliding down real quick.