• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breakdown of liar medical price article from cna

rushifa666

Medicine in Malaysia a cost saving for some Singaporeans. Are they trading safety for price?​

The search for cheaper medication — and easier access to prescription drugs — has taken some Singaporeans across the Causeway. The programme Talking Point

JOHOR BAHRU: For almost a decade, estate agent and content creator Ryan Khoo has made videos comparing life on both sides of the Causeway, such as videos about all things cheaper in Malaysia.
Indeed, many Singaporeans travel to Johor for cheap groceries and fuel. For some, however, it is something else that is driving them there: prescription drugs.
“Lots of people don’t know that … prescription medicines are a lot cheaper as well,” said Khoo, who cited cholesterol medicine, blood pressure medication and “even the humble Panadol” as examples.
“And you can buy up to three months’ worth of medicines. … The pharmacists don’t require you to provide any form of prescription.”
He found this out after being asked to buy medicine in Johor Bahru for a friend’s father. “Later on, I realised quite a lot of people do it. Either they buy it for themselves or for their parents,” said Khoo.

WHICH MEDICINES AND HOW CHEAP?​

In Singapore, medicines that require a prescription or a pharmacist consultation include Lipitor for high cholesterol and Ozempic, a diabetic medicine that people also use to lose weight.
Most of the pharmacies Chia went to in Johor — from independent ones to large chains — were willing to sell him these and other medications, including painkillers, with no questions asked.
In Singapore, a steroid cream such as Elomet would ordinarily be sold one tube at a time to prevent side effects from overuse. But in Johor, there was no limit.
Chia’s shopping haul included five tubes of Elomet.
It was harder to get antibiotics without a prescription — for example Augmentin — but Chia got some in the end.
One pharmacist said most of the Singaporeans who come to her pharmacy are “searching for sleeping pills”, which would include Valium.
And one Singaporean whom Chia ran into at a pharmacy was stocking up on Twynsta, which is for hypertension. Back home, a box costs more than S$100, compared to RM66 (S$19) in Johor, said the customer.
“When I realised it, I was so agitated because that’s (a big) difference,” he added. “I stopped buying (the drug) from my clinic.”

There is a chance that some common drugs are still cheaper in Malaysia than their subsidised prices in Singapore’s hospitals, according to Nikki Ng, managing editor of MIMS Healthcare Data, which publishes medical and drug-related reports.
A box of 40-milligramme Micardis tablets, for high blood pressure, costs RM62 in Johor and about S$53 in Singapore, she cited. A box of 10-mg Lipitor tablets, meanwhile, costs RM108 and about S$76 respectively.
Asthma puffer Ventolin costs RM24 compared to S$21, while Elomet sells at RM29 compared to S$18. Essentially, the medications Ng cited were more than 50 per cent cheaper in Johor than in Singapore.
One of the main reasons for the lower prices, besides the exchange rate, is “stiff competition”.
“Sometimes in the same street, you’ll have at least three to four pharmacies,” said Ng. “They can be from the large chains (or) could be individual pharmacies.
“When there’s so much competition, the pharmacies would … drop the price just to make sure the customers come back.”

for price?​

BookmarkShare

CNA Insider

Medicine in Malaysia a cost saving for some Singaporeans. Are they trading safety for price?​

The search for cheaper medication — and easier access to prescription drugs — has taken some Singaporeans across the Causeway. The programme Talking Point finds out the risks involved and whether buyers are really getting what they need.
Medicine in Malaysia a cost saving for some Singaporeans. Are they trading safety for price?

Talking Point host Steven Chia bringing medicines from Malaysia to a laboratory to be tested for drug potency.
Listen to this article

8 min

This audio is generated by an AI tool.

Kenneth Lim
Derrick A Paulo
Derrick A Paulo & Kenneth Lim
12 Feb 2024 06:00AM (Updated: 12 Feb 2024 07:49AM)
BookmarkShare

JOHOR BAHRU: For almost a decade, estate agent and content creator Ryan Khoo has made videos comparing life on both sides of the Causeway, such as videos about all things cheaper in Malaysia.
Indeed, many Singaporeans travel to Johor for cheap groceries and fuel. For some, however, it is something else that is driving them there: prescription drugs.
“Lots of people don’t know that … prescription medicines are a lot cheaper as well,” said Khoo, who cited cholesterol medicine, blood pressure medication and “even the humble Panadol” as examples.
“And you can buy up to three months’ worth of medicines. … The pharmacists don’t require you to provide any form of prescription.”
He found this out after being asked to buy medicine in Johor Bahru for a friend’s father. “Later on, I realised quite a lot of people do it. Either they buy it for themselves or for their parents,” said Khoo.
picture1.jpg
Ryan Khoo (right) and Chia driving in Johor Bahru.
Talking Point viewers, too, wrote in saying they not only get cheaper medicines in Malaysia, but also can buy those that require a prescription without proffering a doctor’s note. There are risks, however, as host Steven Chia discovers.

WHICH MEDICINES AND HOW CHEAP?​

In Singapore, medicines that require a prescription or a pharmacist consultation include Lipitor for high cholesterol and Ozempic, a diabetic medicine that people also use to lose weight.
Most of the pharmacies Chia went to in Johor — from independent ones to large chains — were willing to sell him these and other medications, including painkillers, with no questions asked.
In Singapore, a steroid cream such as Elomet would ordinarily be sold one tube at a time to prevent side effects from overuse. But in Johor, there was no limit.
picture2.jpg
Chia’s shopping haul included five tubes of Elomet.
It was harder to get antibiotics without a prescription — for example Augmentin — but Chia got some in the end.
One pharmacist said most of the Singaporeans who come to her pharmacy are “searching for sleeping pills”, which would include Valium.
And one Singaporean whom Chia ran into at a pharmacy was stocking up on Twynsta, which is for hypertension. Back home, a box costs more than S$100, compared to RM66 (S$19) in Johor, said the customer.
“When I realised it, I was so agitated because that’s (a big) difference,” he added. “I stopped buying (the drug) from my clinic.”
WATCH: Is it safe to buy cheap medicine from Malaysia — without a prescription? (22:02)

There is a chance that some common drugs are still cheaper in Malaysia than their subsidised prices in Singapore’s hospitals, according to Nikki Ng, managing editor of MIMS Healthcare Data, which publishes medical and drug-related reports.
A box of 40-milligramme Micardis tablets, for high blood pressure, costs RM62 in Johor and about S$53 in Singapore, she cited. A box of 10-mg Lipitor tablets, meanwhile, costs RM108 and about S$76 respectively.
Asthma puffer Ventolin costs RM24 compared to S$21, while Elomet sells at RM29 compared to S$18. Essentially, the medications Ng cited were more than 50 per cent cheaper in Johor than in Singapore.
One of the main reasons for the lower prices, besides the exchange rate, is “stiff competition”.
“Sometimes in the same street, you’ll have at least three to four pharmacies,” said Ng. “They can be from the large chains (or) could be individual pharmacies.
“When there’s so much competition, the pharmacies would … drop the price just to make sure the customers come back.”
picture3.jpg
Nikki Ng leads a team publishing medical and drug-related reports for healthcare professionals and pharmaceutical companies.
Also, in a smaller market like Singapore, “pharma companies sometimes might decide to price (medication) higher”, she added, whereas selling to Malaysia’s larger population means economies of scale and thus lower prices.

GENERIC DRUGS​

Medicines can be even cheaper if they are generic drugs, which are produced after the patent on the original drug has expired. The brand Rotaqor, cited Ng, is equivalent to Lipitor but sells at RM13 per box, instead of RM108.
While medicines are often referred to by their brand name, what defines a drug is its active ingredient — the substance with an effect on the body. And generics are supposed to have the same active ingredients as branded drugs.
Paracetamol is an example of a generic medicine referred to by its active ingredient, instead of the famous brand name, Panadol. It is among hundreds of drugs produced by YSP Southeast Asia Holding, one of Malaysia’s largest manufacturers of generics.

rushifa666

Some problem with the post. Anyway

rushifa666

Competition is so stiff they are 30% cheaper than here??? Go through the entire article. Do they even ask how medicine here is always more expensive and there is no regulation against price gouging? Same bran same quantity

rushifa666

Retarded sinkie will even buy medicine by brand. Hence sinkie. But even same panadol is difference price. Panadol is not a Malaysian product. Any excuses?
While medicines are often referred to by their brand name, what defines a drug is its active ingredient — the substance with an effect on the body. And generics are supposed to have the same active ingredients as branded drugs.

Paracetamol is an example of a generic medicine referred to by its active ingredient, instead of the famous brand name, Panadol. It is among hundreds of drugs produced by YSP Southeast Asia Holding, one of Malaysia’s largest manufacturers of generics.

rushifa666

Low iq kenneth purposely orders a cold cream product. So that he can claim its not potent anymore. At this point I wonder if the reader is more retarded than he is.

One reason that it was less potent than expected and thus “less useful”, said Wang, might have been that it was not kept cool — between 2 and 8 degrees Celsius — “to maintain the stability of the medication”.

“This extends to other medications that require cold storage,” she added, citing insulin as another example of medication that would be less effective if not stored properly. “And that’s one of the risks with online shopping.”

Chia’s item arrived in a normal box, and it turned out that the website he found did have this disclaimer: “We do not offer cold chain delivery for this item.”

rushifa666

Lastly this. The very bad practice of not paying doctors fees for every medicine you buy. The fees usually are why you pay double for already stupid expensive medicine here. But of course snake lee must defend how they make you pay them for no reason whatsoever.

VERY BAD PRACTICE’​

Efficacy aside, the ease with which Singaporeans can get prescription drugs and medication controlled by dispensing pharmacists in Johor is “very bad practice”, said professor of health economics Kenneth Lee at Taylor’s University.
“Every single prescription medicine that a pharmacist dispenses will need to have an entry,” he said, showing Chia a prescription book containing the quantities supplied, the dates and patients’ details, countersigned by the pharmacist.
(This is) so that when the Ministry of Health people come over, they can check that we’re selling medicines according to the law.”
The laws in Malaysia and Singapore are similar, he said. But he was not surprised to see that Chia could buy medicines in Johor without a prescription or without leaving his particulars.
“These so-called illegal sales are very common,” Lee noted. “Because if you don’t sell the medicine to the patients, they’d simply (go) next door. So you lose business — you may not be able to survive.”

realDonaldTrump

Branded medication by major pharma are indeed much cheaper in Malaysia.

Please only buy from the reputable pharmacies in Malaysia.

A Singaporean

Very soon it would be illegal for Sinkies to buy medicine from mudland over 5 sgd. Just like petrol with the 3 quarter tank rule.

Sustanon

Cannot stop you, scare you lor. Cannot scare you confuse you lor. Oldest trick in the book mah..... Just take a look at the huge number of kum gong kias here in Singapore who went for the garbage zham voluntarily and still so proud about it you know liao lor..... stupidity have a baseline one... stupid until beyond redemption (most) by bringing their kids for the zham and tell their kids to show a V handsign for the propaganda is stupid beyond any words can describe.......

That Stephen guy probably belongs to the stupid low intelligence group judging by the number of shots he has taken lol.....

tobelightlight

If u need drug to continue living ur senior years, u better check and reflect on ur lifestyle. People who take good care of their health and having a whoelsome lifestyle will not need any drugs to keep living.